Database List By Subject: Latin American & Caribbean Studies


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Num All Free
Access World News
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
Americas Barometer
The Americas Barometer is a survey of democratic public opinion and behavior that covers the Americas. It is an effort by LAPOP to measure democratic values and behaviors in the Americas using national probability samples of voting-age adults.
Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonio Iberoamericano
From the Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonio Iberoamericano, this collection of over 20,000 historical recordings highlights the rich musical heritage of Latin America.
Biblioteca Digital Nacional de Cuba
Note: Debido a problemas tecnicos, el acceso a la misma lento y a veces erratico. Si no puede comunicarse enseguida, trate mas tarde. Due to technical issues, access may occasionally be slow, or cause erratic browser messages. If communication is not readily available, please try later.
La Biblioteca Digital Nacional de Cuba, producida por la Biblioteca Nacional Jose Marti esta tratando de preservar por este medio los valiosos fondos que existen en ella. The Digital National Library of Cuba produced by the Jose Marti National Library is trying to preserve its valuable materials.
Biblioteca Virtual de Prensa Historica, Spain
The Virtual Library of Historical Newspapers is one of the main digitization projects being carried out in Spain. The database includes almost 2000 headlines from 45 libraries, with 3,906,000 pages from 140 places where newspapers were printed.
Caribbean Literature
Caribbean Literature is a searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Among the titles selected by are works written in English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages.
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876
The Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 database is the largest collection of fully searchable 18th- and 19th-century Caribbean newspapers in this region. Created in partnership with the American Antiquarian Society, this collection showcases the evolution of the region across two centuries chronicled within more than 140 titles from 22 islands and will prove essential for research on colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and related topics
Dialnet
Note: Individual users are required to register.
Spanish periodical index created by Universidad de Rioja. Covers the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
e-Libro
Provides e-book collections in Spanish and Portuguese.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) is a comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages and more than 834,000 articles in Spanish, Ethnic NewsWatch provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics easily accessed using free text and fielded searching. Extensive indexing, including unique fields such as Article Type and Ethnic Group.
Foreign Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States 1930-1944
Organized by country, Foreign Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States covers a wide range of viewpoints on political, social and economic issues including the foreign relations interactions between Central American and South American countries -- with coverage of the Caribbean, Cuba, Haiti and the Dominican Republic. Foreign Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States includes memoranda, cables, correspondence, reports and analyzes, and treaties.
Foreign Relations Between the U.S. and Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944
This digital collection contains historical documents relating to the foreign relations between the U.S. and Latin America and the Caribbean States within the years, 1930-1944. 

During the 1930s, U.S. relations with Latin America and the Caribbean Growing war clouds in Europe and Asia predicated the need for securing resources and allies in the Western Hemisphere. Giving up unpopular military intervention, the U.S. shifted to other methods to maintain its influence in Latin America: Pan-Americanism, support for strong local leaders, the training of national guards, economic and cultural penetration, Export-Import Bank loans, financial supervision, and political persuasion.
Gale OneFile: Informe Académico
Meet the research needs of Spanish-speaking users with a wide range of full-text Spanish and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America. Gale OneFile: Informe Académico provides quality reference material on an interface configured for Spanish speakers, allowing researchers to analyze topics and conduct research in Spanish.
Handbook of Latin America Studies
The multidisciplinary Handbook, edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, is a bibliography of writings in the social sciences and humanities on Latin America selected and annotated by scholars.

Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose between 2,000-3,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. The Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities (e.g., humanities are covered in 1990, social sciences in 1991).Over 60% of records contain evaluative annotations. The online version contains preliminary editions of  volumes 57-60 that have not yet been published in print.
HathiTrust
Note: Login at Hathi Trust site to download and build collections. From login tab, select University of Miami as the HathiTrust Partner Insititution and login with CaneID username/password.
UM users have full-text access to over 6.4 million public domain works within the HathiTrust.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 is a compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index
The HAPI database indexes information about Latin America and Hispanic Americans in the United States.
Historizar el pasado vivo en America Latina
Includes studies of political violence and social memory about the recent histories of Argentina, Chile, Peru and other countries. It constitutes a unique collection in Spanish scholarship and includes short summaries and other features in English. Se trata de estudios sobre violencia politica y memoria social de la historia reciente de Argentina, Chile, Peru y otros. Su contenido resulta un caudal unico de investigacion acerca de estos temas en lengua espanola.
Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers
Consisting of over 1000 titles from Mexico's pre-independence, independence, and revolutionary periods (1807-1929), the Independent and Revolutionary Mexican Newspapers collection documents the dramatic events of this era, including partisan politics, social and political satire, and news from the local to international levels.
LADB (Latin America Digital Beat)
Note: As of 2018, LADB is archival only and no longer producing new content.
LADB at the University of New Mexico offers access to a variety of resources for Latin American researchers.

Resources include: an online searchable archive of over 24,000 news articles on politics, economics, human rights, the environment, drugs, guerillas, military and other stories; --- back issues of Latin American economic journals in Spanish;  --- access to three weekly electronic news bulletins about Mexico (SourceMex), Central America and the Caribbean including Cuba (NotiCen) and South America (NotiSur). The back issues of the journals make up the database.
Latin America in Video
Latin America in Video offers quality original language documentaries from some of the most important producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America. The films were produced in Latin America, by Latin Americans, about Latin American issues, such as cultural identity, political history, human rights, popular culture, agribusiness, education, religion, and much more. It brings a comprehensive, exclusive and unique perspective on the region to any library.
Latin American Network Information Center
LANIC facilitates access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America. LANIC's editorially reviewed directories contain over 12,000 unique URLs, one of the largest guides for Latin American content on the Internet.
Latin American Newspapers Series 1
The Latin American Newspapers Series 1 provides more than 35 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere. Latin American Newspapers offers unprecedented coverage of the people, issues, and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922.
Latin American Newspapers Series 2
The newest module, Latin American Newspapers Series 2 deepens coverage of important countries such as Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, and Mexico; and extend the reach of World Newspaper Archive into countries not represented in Latin American Newspapers Series I such as Bolivia, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica and Belize.
Latin American Newsstream (ProQuest)
A selection of full-text Latin-American newspapers and newswires covering international and Latin-American regional topics. Includes over 35 Latin American newspaper in Spanish and Portuguese, with some additional content in English. Leading newspapers include: Mural (Mexico), El Norte and Reforma (Mexico), O Globo and Folha de Sao Paulo (Brazil), La Nacin (Argentina), El Pais (Uruguay), El Nuevo Dia (Puerto Rico).
Latin American Social Medicine Database: A Resource For Epidemiology
This public health informatics case study describes the key features of a unique information resource intended to improve access to LASM literature and to augment understanding about the social determinants of health. This case study includes both quantitative and qualitative evaluation data. The LASM database uses Spanish, Portuguese, and English language trilingual, structured abstracts to summarize classic and contemporary works.
Latin Americanist Research Resources Pilot Project
The Latin Americanist Research Resources Project database indexes articles in over 400 social science and humanities journals published in south and central America. The full-text of articles is available via interlibrary loan. The service also includes a Digital Collection of Mexican and Argentine Presidential Messages.
Latin Trade
The one-stop source for market intelligence on Latin America's business and technology.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History
Updated monthly, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History provides substantive, peer-reviewed articles on a wide range of Latin American historical topics from 1492 to the current day.
Readex AllSearch
A streamlined platform for searching across Readex collections including America's Historical Imprints and America's Historical Newspapers.
Red AL y C (Network of Latin American, Caribbean, and Portuguese Journals)
A database put together by faculty members at the National Autonomous University of Mexico of full text articles from 123 Latin American and Caribbean journals in the social sciences and humanities.
Revistas UNAM
Full-text of selected journals published by the National Autonomous University of Mexico.
SciELO
SciELO is a free database containing the full text of selected scientific and social sciences journal articles from Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Spain and Venezuela. Articles are available in one of three languages: English, Portuguese, or Spanish. Although it has a few journals in the social sciences, it is primarily a source for the biological, environmental, & physical sciences.
World Scholar: Latin America And The Caribbean
World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean breaks new ground in the publishing world by bringing together in a single place a rich collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news-feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video; and much more. World Scholar covers topics such as politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science, and technology. The topics are presented on a country and continent level, offering deep contextualization of the subjects under discussion.
LinkedIn Learning
LinkedIn Learning

Tutorials just a click away. We offer access to LinkedIn Learning's 5,000 video tutorials covering business, creative, and technology topics.

Powered by SubjectsPlus