Database List: S


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Num All
S & P Global Market Intelligence
Note: Users must create a personal login for access.  Supported browsers include Internet Explorer 9 and higher, and Mozilla Firefox (most recent version).
Restricted Resource Some full text available S & P Global Market Intelligence provides media and communications business intelligence including data, news, and analysis on US and global markets for radio, television, motion pictures, and emerging technologies. The data includes financials, advertising, and consumer information.
Sabin Americana Digital Archive (1500-1926)
Restricted Resource Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's.

Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
Safari Books Online
Restricted Resource Provides electronic access to IT resources published by several leading publishers: O'Reilly & Associate, The Pearson Technology Group, QUE, Microsoft Press, SAMS, Adobe Press, and Addison Wesley. The ebooks are searchable on their own and may also be searched across the board. The ebooks are in complete full text and include all images/graphics, charts, full table of contents, and indexes.

Note: The Richter Library has created a custom library consisting of 100 titles. To browse the title selections, click on the Bookshelf option in the toolbar. The Richter Library's custom title list includes subject areas such as: C++, Dynamic HTML, JAVA, Web authoring tools (e.g., Dreamweaver), XML, PERL, SQL, Visual Basic, Web Servers, Linux, Web Administration.
SAGE Publications
Restricted Resource Provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals. SAGE Publications publishes over 460 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
SAGE Research Methods
Restricted Resource Resource contains video Some full text available SAGE Research Methods is an online tool for research designed to guide users through every step of the research process. It includes more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, while the Methods Map is meant to help find the best research technique, with answers that range from a quick answer found in a dictionary to case studies, teaching datasets, and full-text titles.
SAGE Research Methods Cases
Restricted Resource Some full text available SAGE Research Methods Cases are a collection of case studies written by the researches themselves that show the realities of doing research; they explain how the methods use were chosen, how problems in research were overcome, and what might have been done differently with hindsight. All of the cases are peer-reviewed and include tools for further learning and investigation that allow  them to be used both as a teaching tool and as inspiration for other research projects.
SAGE Research Methods Datasets
Restricted Resource Some full text available SAGE Research Methods Datasets is a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that are indexed by method and data type and optimized to be used for practicing analysis and analytical decisions as a way to improve as a researcher.
Samuel Beckett Digital Manuscript Project
Restricted Resource Some full text available A collaboration between the Centre for Manuscript Genetics (University of Antwerp), the Beckett International Foundation (University of Reading) and the Harry Ransom Humanities Research Center (University of Texas at Austin). Consists of a digital archive of Samuel Beckett's manuscripts organized in 26 modules, and a series of 26 volumes analyzing the genesis of the texts contained in the corresponding modules.
Sanborn Maps (United States)
Restricted Resource Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provides digital access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. The resource is useful for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods.

The Sanborn Maps are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures. This includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Seven or eight different editions represent some areas.
Sanborn Maps Geo Edition
Restricted Resource Geocoded Sanborn Maps (1867-1970) provides digital access to over 12,000 large-scale maps of U.S. cities and towns, searchable by address and GPS coordinates.
Scholarly Repository
Some full text available The Scholarly Repository features selected research and scholarly works prepared by faculty, students, and staff at the University of Miami.
Schubert, Franz: Werke (IMSLP)
Resource contains audio Franz Peter Schuberts Werke is the late 19th-century edition of Schubert's complete works, originally published by Breitkopf & Hartel and digitized by the International Music Score Library Project. Some listings include other digitized public domain scores, digitized and audio files (MIDI or recorded performances).
Schumann, Robert: Complete Works
The complete works of Robert Schumann, originally published by Breitkopf & Hartel in the late 1800s and digitized by the Munich Digitization Center of the Bavarian State Library
SciELO
SciELO is a free database containing the full text of selected scientific and social sciences journal articles from Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Spain and Venezuela. Articles are available in one of three languages: English, Portuguese, or Spanish. Although it has a few journals in the social sciences, it is primarily a source for the biological, environmental, & physical sciences.
Science Citation Index Expanded
Restricted Resource Science Citation Index Expanded is accessed through the Web of Knowledge Citation Databases services.
Science Direct
Restricted Resource Science Direct is a full text database offering journals and books from the leading scholarly publisher Elsevier. It has particular strengths in medicine and mathmatics, but its nine million articles cover a wide range of scientific topics. The collection stretches back to 1823 and includes prominent publications including The Lancet, Cell and Tetrahedron.

ScienceDirect hosts over 2,500 journals and more than 33,000 books—over 13 million peer-reviewed publications (including Open Access journals) in science, technical information, and health. Note Nursing journals in Column 3 Health Sciences.
ScienceDirect
Restricted Resource Science Direct is a full text database offering journals and books from the leading scholarly publisher Elsevier. It has particular strengths in medicine and mathmatics, but its nine million articles cover a wide range of scientific topics. The collection stretches back to 1823 and includes prominent publications including The Lancet, Cell and Tetrahedron.

ScienceDirect hosts over 2,500 journals and more than 33,000 books—over 13 million peer-reviewed publications (including Open Access journals) in science, technical information, and health. Note Nursing journals in Column 3 Health Sciences.
Scientific American Archive Online
Restricted Resource Some full text available Full text of Scientific American from 1993-present
Scientific Electronic Library Online
SciELO is a free database containing the full text of selected scientific and social sciences journal articles from Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Spain and Venezuela. Articles are available in one of three languages: English, Portuguese, or Spanish. Although it has a few journals in the social sciences, it is primarily a source for the biological, environmental, & physical sciences.
SciFinder
Note: Users must create an individual SciFinder account before using this resource. Click here to create an individual account. Users must accept and follow all SciFinder Terms and Conditions.
Restricted Resource Web-based verision of the print Chemical Abstracts. Search by chemical structure, biological sequence, substructure or reaction, research topic, author, company or substance name.
Scitation
Restricted Resource Formerly called OJPS (Online Journal Publishing Service), the Scitation database provides the full-text of selected research journals in physics, engineering and mathematics. You may search the full-text the current issues, or all issues of an individual journal.
SciVal Experts
Restricted Resource University of Miami Research Profiles (formerly SciVal Experts) is a tool that allows researchers to pinpoint UM biomedical faculty by their area of proficiency.
SCOPUS
Restricted Resource Covering the life, physical, health, and social sciences, Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources.

Scopus covers:  Over 15,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 international publishers, including coverage of:  500 Open Access journals, 700 Conference Proceedings, 600 Trade Publications, 125 Book Series. More than 60% of titles are from countries other than the US Abstracts go back to 1966. References go back to 1996. 80% of content is indexed with controlled vocabularies. 100% coverage of Medline, including unique Medline journals. 28 million abstract records. 245 million references added to all abstracts. Scopus also covers 250 million quality web sources, including 13 million patents. Web sources are searched via Scirus, and include author homepages, university sites and resources such as the preprint servers CogPrints and ArXiv.org, and OAI compliant resources.
SEPM (Society for Sedimentary Geology) Publications
Restricted Resource Special Publications, Concepts in Sedimentology, Short Course Notes and Core Workshops are included. SEPM Publications is provided via a sponsorship by Marta Weeks.
Serials Directory
Restricted Resource The Serials Directory provides current, searchable, accurate bibliographic information and pricing for over 178,500 U.S. and international periodicals, indexing and abstracting services, and newspapers.

Searchable fields include: subject, editor, frequency, International Standard Serials Number (ISSN), name, journal language, LC classification, coverage by an indexing / abstracting service, sources, publisher, peer reviewed, source, status, publishers, serial type, media type.
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Collection Newspapers
Restricted Resource The 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection includes newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). The present digital collection, totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles.
Shaw Shoemaker Collection
Restricted Resource Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 provides a comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century. Based on the noted “American Bibliography, 1801-1819” by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker, this collection contains more than four million pages from over 36,000 items—including 1,000 catalogued new items unavailable in previous microform editions.

Through Early American Imprints, Series II, students and scholars can extensively research westward expansion, the development of American arts (literature, music, painting, etc.), the progression of American political thought and much more. In addition to books, broadsides and pamphlets, the collection includes published reports and the works of many European authors reprinted for the American public. Additionally, a large number of state papers and early government materials—including presidential letters and congressional, state and territorial resolutions—chronicle the political and geographic growth of the developing American nation.
Sheet Music Collections, York University Libraries
A selections of digitized sheet music from York University Libraries' Clara Thomas Archives and Special Collections.
Sheet Music Consortium
The Sheet Music Consortium, hosted by the UCLA Digital Library Program, is a cooperative project to build an open collection of digitized sheet music through harvesting metadata from collections around the world.
Sheet Music from Canada's Past
Resource contains audio Sheet Music from Canada's Past, a project by Library and Archives Canada, provides digital access to a selection of sheet music published in Canada before 1921. Selected titles also include audio examples.
Sheldon Harris Sheet Music Collection
The University of Mississippi Libraries' Sheldon Harris Sheet Music Collection provides digital access to popular sheet music of the late 19th and early 20th centuries, including jazz, blues, and minstrel songs. Note: please read collection disclaimer.
SIAM Journals Online
Restricted Resource SIAM is a searchable database of full-text journals in applied and computational mathematics published by the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics.
Sibley Music Library Music Scores
The digitized collection of music scores from Eastman School of Music's Sibley Music Library includes over 14,000 digitized manuscripts and scores in the public domain, many of which are unique to Sibley's collection.
SimplyAnalytics
Note: To access, select "Sign in as a Guest", but to save your work, you must create an account.
Restricted Resource SimplyAnalytics is an Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables.
Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Restricted Resource Some full text available Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive Part I contains more than 7,000 books and pamphlets, 80 newspaper and periodical titles, and a dozen major manuscript collections.
Slavery Collections Online
Restricted Resource Some full text available Includes 12,000 pages of source materials documenting the history of slavery in the United States, the Atlantic slave trade and the abolitionist movement.
Small Business Resource Center
Restricted Resource Small Business Resource Center covers all major areas of starting and operating a business: financing, management, marketing, human resources, franchising, accounting, taxes and more. Startup and established businesses alike can find answers from an easy-to-use interface that includes a "How To" menu that tackles the most frequently asked new business questions -- including "How to start a small business."
SNAC
Restricted Resource Resource contains images

SNAC takes on the task of separating the description of persons, families, and organizations—including their socio-historical contexts—from the description of the historical resources that are the primary evidence of their lives and work. A key objective is to provide researchers with convenient, integrated access to historical collections held by multiple private and public archives and libraries around the world while also setting the stage for a cooperative program for maintaining information about the people documented in the collections.

SNAC allows archivists, librarians, and scholars to jointly maintain information about the people documented in archival collections. It will also improve the economy and quality of archival processing and description, and address the challenge of discovering, locating, and using distributed historical records.


SNL Kagan
Note: Users must create a personal login for access.  Supported browsers include Internet Explorer 9 and higher, and Mozilla Firefox (most recent version).
Restricted Resource Some full text available S & P Global Market Intelligence provides media and communications business intelligence including data, news, and analysis on US and global markets for radio, television, motion pictures, and emerging technologies. The data includes financials, advertising, and consumer information.
Social Explorer
Restricted Resource Social Explorer provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change. In addition to its comprehensive data resources, Social Explorer offers features and tools to meet the needs of demography experts and novices alike.
Social Networks and Archival Context
Restricted Resource Resource contains images

SNAC takes on the task of separating the description of persons, families, and organizations—including their socio-historical contexts—from the description of the historical resources that are the primary evidence of their lives and work. A key objective is to provide researchers with convenient, integrated access to historical collections held by multiple private and public archives and libraries around the world while also setting the stage for a cooperative program for maintaining information about the people documented in the collections.

SNAC allows archivists, librarians, and scholars to jointly maintain information about the people documented in archival collections. It will also improve the economy and quality of archival processing and description, and address the challenge of discovering, locating, and using distributed historical records.


Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
Restricted Resource Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a world wide collaborative of leading scholars that is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research. The Abstract Database contains information on over 66,400 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers.
Social Sciences Citation Index
Restricted Resource Social Sciences Citation Index provides international, cover-to-cover indexing of the most cited journals in social sciences. The databases is searched via the Web of Knowledge Citation Databases service. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Restricted Resource Some full text available Wilson Social Sciences Full Text indexes a wide range of social sciences journals.Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in January 1994; full-text coverage begins in January 1995.
Social Services Abstracts
Restricted Resource Bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas including social welfare, social policy and community development.
Society for Sedimentary Geology Publications
Restricted Resource Special Publications, Concepts in Sedimentology, Short Course Notes and Core Workshops are included. SEPM Publications is provided via a sponsorship by Marta Weeks.
Sociological Abstracts
Restricted Resource Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts research literature published worldwide in journals and other serial publications.

Social Planning/Policy Development (SOPODA) is included as a subfile, providing additional literature on policy issues addressing violence, abuse, housing, the environment and other social issues.
Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts
Restricted Resource This service indexes journals and conference proceedings worldwide covering the theory, production, and application of solid state materials and devices - as well as the new high- and low-temperature superconductivity technology.
Sousa, John Philip: The March King: John Philip Sousa
Resource contains audio The March King: John Philip Sousa presents selected music manuscripts, photographs, printed music, sound recordings, and more from the Sousa Collection at the Library of Congress
Southern Literary Messenger: Literature of the Old South
Restricted Resource This collection comprises, in its entirety, the Primary Source Media microfilm collection entitled Southern Literary Messenger.
Southern Mosaic: The John and Ruby Lomax 1939 Southern States Recording Trip
Resource contains audio Southern Mosaic, by the Library of Congress, is an ethnographic field collection containing nearly 700 sound recordings and other materials documenting a 1939 trip through the southern United States. Recordings include ballas, blues, folk songs, spirituals, and work songs.
Southern Negro Youth Congress and the Communist Party: Papers of James and Esther Cooper
Restricted Resource Contains: Papers of James and Esther Cooper; correspondences; speeches and writings; internal documents and printed ephemera pertaining to the Southern Negro Youth Congress and to Freedomways; legal and other materials pertaining to the Smith Act indictments of Jackson and other communists; Communist Party internal documents; and memorabilia and other biographical materials.
Spanish Women's Magazines Digital Collection
Spanish Women's Magazines Digital Collection reflects the history of Spain through periodicals and newspapers dating from the 18th-20th centuries. The collection includes historical stories, poems, good advice for both men and women about the proper behavior of ladies at any age, beautiful colored and engraved images with the latest news of Paris fashion, music sheets of polkas and other music specifically composed for the magazines, and patterns for needlework.
SPEC kits
Restricted Resource Some full text available SPEC surveys gather information from ARL member institutions on current research library practices and policies. SPEC Kits combine the survey results and documentation from ARL member institutions to guide libraries as they address the ever-changing challenges facing libraries. These guides help libraries learn about current practice in research libraries, implement new practices and technologies, manage change, and improve performance.
SPIE Digital Library
Restricted Resource SPIE Digital Library includes resource on optics and photonics, providing access to more than 260,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1990 to the present. More than 17,000 new research papers are added annually.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Restricted Resource Some full text available Indexes international literature of sports medicine, exercise physiology, sports psychology, training, nutrition, coaching, sociology of sports, and related topics. Also covers recreation, games, play, and dance.
SRDS
Restricted Resource Provides information on more than 100,000 national and international media properties. Includes acess to Business Publication Advertising Source; Consumer Magazine Advertising Source; Direct Marketing List Source; Newspaper Advertising Source; Radio Advertising Source; Out-of-Home Advertising Source; Interactive Advertising Source; TV and Cable Source
SSRN
Restricted Resource Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is a world wide collaborative of leading scholars that is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research. The Abstract Database contains information on over 66,400 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers.
Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage
Restricted Resource Some full text available Broad spectrum of industry, company and investment analysis. Industry data sets (see Markets tab in menu) include key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, financial metrics, etc. by sub-industry or geography. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private companies and 97% of worldwide publicly traded market capitalization. Historical stock price charting and screening tools also provided.

 


Standard Rate & Data Service
Restricted Resource Provides information on more than 100,000 national and international media properties. Includes acess to Business Publication Advertising Source; Consumer Magazine Advertising Source; Direct Marketing List Source; Newspaper Advertising Source; Radio Advertising Source; Out-of-Home Advertising Source; Interactive Advertising Source; TV and Cable Source
Standards and Engineering Digital Library
Restricted Resource Some full text available ASTM Compass is a collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
State Papers Online: Early Modern Government in Britain and Europe, 1509-1782
Restricted Resource Some full text available Part I: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Domestic; Part II: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Foreign, Scotland, Borders, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council; Part III: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Domestic; Part IV: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Foreign, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council; Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part I: State Papers Domestic, Military, Naval and Registers of the Privy Council.
Stateman's Yearbook (SYBWorld)
Restricted Resource Some full text available Provides up-to-date information on global affairs with comprehensive coverage of government, politics, geography, history, economics, and social policy for 192 nations.

The country profiles cover important areas: Political parties and leaders; Population; Economics; Climate; Natural resources; Military capabilities; Education and Legal Systems; Cutural and Communications; Health and Environment; International Affairs. The service also provides expanded coverage of world events, biographies of key world figures, and special profiles of regions, states, and cities. The In World Today feature provides insight into current world events, and all accessible through an interactive map-based interface.
Statista
Restricted Resource Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.
Statistica
Restricted Resource Statistica is a quarterly journal founded by Paolo Fortunati. The publication accepts original papers dealing with methodological and technical aspects of statistics and statistical analyses in the various scientific fields. It also publishes book reviews and announcements. Full texts are available since 2002.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Some full text available Statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Statistics Canada E-STAT
Restricted Resource E-STAT is Statistics Canada's interactive learning tool designed with the needs and interests of the education community in mind. The database offers reliable and timely statistics about Canada and its ever-changing people. Data in E-STAT is complemented by text. Users can access selected articles from Statistics Canada publications such as Canadian Social Trends, Health Reports, Human Activity and the Environment, Juristat and many others.
STEM Database (ProQuest)
Restricted Resource Comprised of more than 500 scholarly journals and popular science magazines, these publications support research and instruction in science, technology, engineering, and math.
Sunday Times Digital Archive 1822-2006
Restricted Resource The Sunday Times Digital Archive is one of Gale's historical newspapers that enables users to search, retrieve and share The Sunday Times archive articles easily online. In close to 600,000 pages, The Sunday Times Digital Archive is a gateway to the greatest crimes, careers and culture of the last 180 years.
SUR Online
Restricted Resource Important Spanish language literary magazine. Revista Sur, founded and directed by Victoria Ocampo, became one of the most important journals in the international literary community during its 60 years of publication, 1931-1992, in Buenos Aires. It enjoyed the collaboration with and the publications from very influential authors in the Spanish and Hispanic literary worlds, including Jorge Luis Borges, Jos Ortega y Gasset, Alfonso Reyes, Adolfo Bioy Casares, Pedro Henrquez Urea, Octavio Paz, Jules Supervielle, Silvina Ocampo, Ramn Gmez de la Serna, Eduardo Mallea, among others.
Swank Digital Campus
Restricted Resource Resource contains video Streaming videos requested by faculty and selected by Course Reserves.
Synthesis
Restricted Resource Synthesis is an information service for the research, development and educational communities in engineering and computer science. The basic component of the library is a 50 to 100 page electronic book that synthesizes a research or development topic, authored by a contributor to the field. Synthesis is organized by series, each managed by a consulting editor. The series editor oversees lecture topic and author selection as well as peer review to assure quality.
Lynda.com
Lynda.com

Tutorials just a click away. We offer access to lynda's 95,000+ "how-to" videos on a wide range of software applications.

Powered by SubjectsPlus