Database List: L


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Num All
L'annee philologique
Restricted Resource This valuable resource indexes books, book reviews, articles, Festschriften, and other collections dealing with the ancient Greek and Roman world, from the second millennium BCE to approximately 800 CE.

The APh indexes more than 1500 scholarly journals, plus essay collections and conference proceedings.  Please note that the resource covers worldwide scholarly publishing, in many languages, and the Richter Library will only have some of the items referenced. Please consult the UML catalog for local holdings.
LADB (Latin America Digital Beat)
Restricted Resource Some full text available LADB at the University of New Mexico offers access to a variety of resources for Latin American researchers.

Resources include: an online searchable archive of over 24,000 news articles on politics, economics, human rights, the environment, drugs, guerillas, military and other stories; --- back issues of Latin American economic journals in Spanish;  --- access to three weekly electronic news bulletins about Mexico (SourceMex), Central America and the Caribbean including Cuba (NotiCen) and South America (NotiSur). The back issues of the journals make up the database.
LandScan Global Population Database
Restricted Resource

Global population datasets dating back to the year 2000.


LANIC
LANIC facilitates access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America. LANIC's editorially reviewed directories contain over 12,000 unique URLs, one of the largest guides for Latin American content on the Internet.
Latin America Digital Beat
Restricted Resource Some full text available LADB at the University of New Mexico offers access to a variety of resources for Latin American researchers.

Resources include: an online searchable archive of over 24,000 news articles on politics, economics, human rights, the environment, drugs, guerillas, military and other stories; --- back issues of Latin American economic journals in Spanish;  --- access to three weekly electronic news bulletins about Mexico (SourceMex), Central America and the Caribbean including Cuba (NotiCen) and South America (NotiSur). The back issues of the journals make up the database.
Latin America in Video
Restricted Resource Latin America in Video offers quality original language documentaries from some of the most important producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America. The films were produced in Latin America, by Latin Americans, about Latin American issues, such as cultural identity, political history, human rights, popular culture, agribusiness, education, religion, and much more. It brings a comprehensive, exclusive and unique perspective on the region to any library.
Latin American Network Information Center
LANIC facilitates access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America. LANIC's editorially reviewed directories contain over 12,000 unique URLs, one of the largest guides for Latin American content on the Internet.
Latin American Newspapers Series 1
Restricted Resource Some full text available The Latin American Newspapers Series 1 provides more than 35 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere. Latin American Newspapers offers unprecedented coverage of the people, issues, and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922.
Latin American Newspapers Series 2
Restricted Resource Some full text available The newest module, Latin American Newspapers Series 2 deepens coverage of important countries such as Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, and Mexico; and extend the reach of World Newspaper Archive into countries not represented in Latin American Newspapers Series I such as Bolivia, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica and Belize.
Latin American Newsstream (ProQuest)
Restricted Resource Some full text available A selection of full-text Latin-American newspapers and newswires covering international and Latin-American regional topics.

ProQuest Latin American Newsstand provides all the news from over 35 full-text Latin-American newspaper titles in Spanish and Portuguese, with some additional content in English. All of the titles are leading news sources in their native countries, allowing quality research from sources you can trust.

Newspapers span 12 Latin-American countries and include eight Brazilian newspapers and seven Mexican newspapers. Additionally, newspapers from Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Peru, Puerto Rico, Venezuela, and other Latin-American countries give added coverage and perspective. To provide a broader perspective, Latin-American Newsstand also contains regional magazines and wire services including Noticias Financieras financial newswire, focusing on finance, technology, market analysis, and regional economic trends.

Leading newspapers covered in ProQuest Latin-American Newsstand include: Mural (Mexico), El Norte and Reforma (Mexico), O Globo and Folha de Sao Paulo (Brazil), La Nacin (Argentina), El Pais (Uruguay), El Nuevo Dia (Puerto Rico).
Latin American Public Opinion Project
Restricted Resource Some full text available The Americas Barometer is a survey of democratic public opinion and behavior that covers the Americas. It is an effort by LAPOP to measure democratic values and behaviors in the Americas using national probability samples of voting-age adults.
Latin American Social Medicine Database: A Resource For Epidemiology
Some full text available This public health informatics case study describes the key features of a unique information resource intended to improve access to LASM literature and to augment understanding about the social determinants of health. This case study includes both quantitative and qualitative evaluation data. The LASM database uses Spanish, Portuguese, and English language trilingual, structured abstracts to summarize classic and contemporary works.
Latin Americanist Research Resources Pilot Project
The Latin Americanist Research Resources Project database indexes articles in over 400 social science and humanities journals published in south and central America. The full-text of articles is available via interlibrary loan. The service also includes a Digital Collection of Mexican and Argentine Presidential Messages.
Latin Business Chronicle
Restricted Resource Some full text available The one-stop source for market intelligence on Latin America's business and technology.
Latin Trade
Restricted Resource Some full text available The one-stop source for market intelligence on Latin America's business and technology.
Law Library Microform Consortium Digital
Restricted Resource Some full text available Law Library Microform Consortium (LLMC) is a non-profit cooperative serving the needs of legal researchers and historians.  Over a ten year period, LLMC plans to digitize over 200,000 volumes of U.S. and international law literature.

The LLMC digital collection will provide current as well as retrospective coverage of active titles. The first installment covers many of the earliest decisions of U.S. Federal agencies and departments, such as Administrative Decision under the Immigration Laws, volumes 1-19.

It is the hope that the entire Federal Collection will be online by the end of 2004, including executive materials (official departmental materials, public papers of the Presidents), judicial materials (official Federal Court decisions), and legislative materials (statutes at large, U.S. Treaties).
Le Corbusier Plans Online
Note: To access database, individual user registration is needed. To do so, follow the steps listed below:
1) Using a web browser, click on miami.echelle-1.net and Sign In.
2) Click on the "New User Registration" link.
3) Enter your University of Miami email address and preferred nickname.
4) An email will be sent to your email address. Follow the instructions detailed in this email to complete the process.
Restricted Resource Resource contains images Includes thumbnails and titles of almost 38,000 images from Le Corbusiers 325 projects with full search capability.
 
Legal Treatises, 1800-1926
Restricted Resource The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages provides researchers access to critical legal history.
Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music
The Johns Hopkins University's Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music contains over 29,000 pieces of American popular music from 1780 to 1980.
Lexis Nexis Academic
Restricted Resource Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
LGBT Life with Full Text
Restricted Resource Some full text available A database of literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. LGBT Life with Full Text contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs.

The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms. Full text content available in LGBT Life with Full Text includes The Advocate, Gay Parent Magazine, Girlfriends, GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian & Gay Studies, James White Review, ISNA News, Ladder, Lesbian Tide, New York Blade, ONE, Tangents, Washington Blade, and many more.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Restricted Resource Some full text available Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts,(LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings.
Life and Times of Jorge Luis Borges
Restricted Resource Some full text available World's largest collection of materials related to Borges' life and works. Includes full text of Borges' early contributions to serial publications.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Restricted Resource This service indexes and abstracts literature worldwide on linguistics and language behavior for researchers and practitioners in psychology, communication, education, language studies and related areas.
LISTA
Restricted Resource Some full text available Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts,(LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings.
Liszt, Franz: Complete Works
The complete works of Franz Liszt, originally published in Leipzig from 1870-1923 and digitized by the Munich Digitization Center of the Bavarian State Library.
Liszt, Franz: Klavierwerke (IMSLP)
Resource contains audio Franz Liszt: Klavierwerke is a collection of Franz Liszt's piano works, published by Edition Peters in 1913-1917 and digitized by the International Music Score Library Project. Some listings include other digitized public domain scores, digitized and audio files (MIDI or recorded performances).
Liszt, Franz: Musikalische Werke (IMSLP)
Resource contains audio Franz Liszt: Musikalische Werke is the early 20th-century edition of Franz Liszt's complete works, originally published by Breitkopf & Hartel and digitized by the International Music Score Library Project. Some listings include other digitized public domain scores, digitized and audio files (MIDI or recorded performances).
Literary Encyclopedia
Restricted Resource The Literary Encyclopedia is a collection of specially commissioned articles written by scholars in their fields. It addresses literary works, writers, cultural movements and historical events around the world.
Literary Index
Author/title index to Gale reference publications including Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography. It combines and cross-references more than 137,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and more than 173,000 titles into one source.
Literature Criticism Online
Restricted Resource Some full text available A database of ten encyclopedias of literary criticism. Centuries of analysis of scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.
Literature Online
Restricted Resource Good coverage of literary criticism. Cross-search the MLA Bibliography and ABELL, with articles from full-text journals.
Literature Resource Center
Restricted Resource Literature Resource Center is a current, comprehensive, and reliable online resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. What you'll find in Literature Resource Center is: Full-text scholarly articles from more than 300 academic journals and literary magazinesthe majority peer-reviewedas well as excerpts from scholarly monographs, literary correspondence and diaries. Reviews of books of all sorts, from children's literature to adult fiction, from popular non-fiction to scholarly studies. Substantive biographical essays on more than 130,000 authors, providing insights into life and times, works, and critical reception. Full text of thousands of poems and short stories published in contemporary journals and magazines. Overview essays on thousands of books and literary topics. Links to editorially selected websites on authors and their works, as well as pictures of well-known authors. New and updated material is added daily.
Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers' Project
Restricted Resource This collection comprises, in its entirety, the Primary Source Media microfilm collection Archives of the Federal Writers Project: Printed and Mimeographed Publications in the Surviving Federal Writers Project Files, 1933-1943.
LitFinder
Restricted Resource Some full text available LitFinder contains full text poems, plays, short stories, essays, and speeches.
Loeb Classical Library
Restricted Resource The mission of the Loeb Classical Library has always been to make Greek and Latin literature accessible to the broadest range of readers. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations.

More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.
Los Angeles Times
Restricted Resource

Comprehensive coverage back to 1985 is available for one of the leading sources of national and international news. The complete text of recent articles is provided in the ASCII format.

Each issue is indexed thoroughly for access to not only top news stories, but also detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture.


Louisiana State Museum Digital Library Jazz Collection
Resource contains audio The Lousiana State Museum Digital Library Jazz Collection provides online access to photographs and audio recordings related to New Orleans Jazz.
Lully, Jean-Baptiste: The Jean-Baptiste Lully Collection
The Jean-Baptiste Lully Collection is a digital collection of rare 17th and 18th-century scores of operas, ballets, and other works by Jean-Baptiste Lully and his sons, from the holdings of the University of North Texas Music Library. The collection also includes some manuscript copies, as well as libretti prints and collections of stage works by Lully's collaborators.
Lynda.com
Note: Users must create a free, individual account in order to access content.
Restricted Resource Resource contains video Offers over 42,000 how-to videos on a wide-range of software applications, from Microsoft Word and Adobe Photoshop to Final Cut Studio.
Lynda.com
Lynda.com

Tutorials just a click away. We offer access to lynda's 95,000+ "how-to" videos on a wide range of software applications.

Powered by SubjectsPlus