Database List: P


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Num All
Pacific Northwest Sheet Music Collection
A collection of over 1,000 pieces of public domain sheet music from and about Washington State and the Pacific Northwest, selected from the University of Washington Music Library's Ashford Sheet Music Collection.
PAIS International
Restricted Resource PAIS indexes a wide range of literature on politics worldwide, public affairs, current events, international relations, public administration, marine policy, law and related topics.
PapersFirst
Restricted Resource PapersFirst is a multidisciplinary index to papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia.
Past Masters
Restricted Resource Past Masters provides search, browse and read access to scholarly editions of the works of great Western philosophers, including Plato, Hegel, Peirce and others. The service offers both an original language edition and an English translation of every work in the collection. A searchable edition of the Oxford Duden German Dictionary is provided at the site.
Patriotic Melodies
Resource contains audio Patriotic Melodies, by the Library of Congress, tells the stories behind many of the most well known patriotic songs of the United States. The site includes descriptions of each song along with selected sheet music and audio recordings.
Peeters Online Bibliographies
Restricted Resource Launched in 1997, this database covers all fields of philosophy in nearly 30 languages and is designed as a complement to other bibliographical tools, focusing on the history of philosophy and continental philosophy. It is updated four times a year and includes references to books, edited volumes, journal articles, contributions, and reviews.
Pennsylvania Gazette
Restricted Resource Some full text available Published in Philadelphia from 1728 through 1800, The Pennsylvania Gazette is considered The New York Times of the 18th century. It provides the reader with a first hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods.

Thousands of articles, editorials, letters, news items and advertisements cover the Western Hemisphere, from the Canadian Maritime Provinces, through the West Indies and North and South America, giving a detailed glimpse of issues and lifestyles of the times.

Also included is the full-text of such important writings such as: the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, Letters from a Farmer, Thomas Paynes Common Sense, The Federalist Papers, etc. These include: Folio I - (1728 - 1750) Benjamin Franklins Newspaper, Folio II - (1751 - 1765) The French & Indian War, Folio III - (1766 - 1783) The American Revolution, Folio IV - (1784 - 1800) The New Republic
Perdita Manuscripts: Women Writers, 1500-1700
Restricted Resource Some full text available Compiled by the Perdita Project, Perdita Manuscripts is a collection of digital facsimilies of the manuscripts of early modern women authors.
Performing Arts Encyclopedia
Resource contains audio The Performing Arts Encyclopedia is a guide to performing arts resources at the Library of Congress. The Encyclopedia provides access to digitized scores, sheet music, audio reordings, films, photographs, and other materials.
Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection, University of Texas
The Perry-Castaeda Library Map Collection, University of Texas Web site provides a well-organized collection of historical and current maps worldwide. All maps available on this server are in the public domain, and may be freely downloaded and copied.
Personal Justice Denied: Public Hearings of the Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment, 1981
Restricted Resource This digital collection consists of testimony and documents from more than 750 witnesses: Japanese Americans and Aleuts who had lived through the events of WWII, former government officials who ran the internment program, public figures, internees, organizations such as the Japanese American Citizens League, interested citizens, historians, and other professionals.
Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001) (ProQuest)
Restricted Resource The Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Philosopher's Index
Restricted Resource The Philosopher's Index indexes and abstracts books and journals covering philosophy and related fields.
PhilPapers : Philosophical Research Online
Restricted Resource PhilPapers is a comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles. PhilPapers offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums. 
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection
Restricted Resource The Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection includes hundreds of thousands of articles updated daily from nearly 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. Users will discover proven treatment techniques, examine experimental research theses, find unique applications for specific sports (everything from baseball and bowling to tennis and yachting) and more.

Journals and magazines covered include: American Journal of Sports Medicine, Baseball Research Journal, IDEA Fitness Journal, Joe Weider's Muscle & Fitness, Journal of Sport Behavior, Physical Educator, Physical Therapy, Research Quarterly for Exercise and Sport, Women in Sport & Physical Activity Journal, and more.
Piano Bench Digital Collection
Auburn University's Piano Bench Digital Collection is comprised of sheet music published prior to 1923, much of it found in the benches of second-hand pianos purchased by the family of former Auburn University librarian Fred Edminston.
Pidgeon Digital
Restricted Resource Resource contains images Resource contains audio Online version of The Pidgeon Audiovisual collection of illustrated talks by architects and related designers. This continuing archive, to which new talks are being added regularly, is a unique library of contemporary attitudes.
PILOTS
Restricted Resource The PILOTS bibliographic database covers the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs, its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage.
Pivot
Restricted Resource Some full text available COS Funding Opportunities is a database of currently available grants, prizes, awards and other funding opportunities for researchers and scholars.
Plant Science
Restricted Resource Plant Science provides citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science, focusing on all plant scientific aspects, especially pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques and environmental biology.
Play Index (H.W. Wilson)
Restricted Resource Play Index enables users to search some 44,000 plays published individually or in collections from 1949 to the present. The database covers a wide range of plays written or translated into English, including one-act plays, pageants, radio and television plays, and classic drama.
Political Risk Yearbook
Restricted Resource Political Risk Yearbook forecasts the risk of doing business in 100 countries. Each includes comments and analysis on recent events, profiles of key political players, and wide-ranging forecast scenarios, as well as basic historical and political background and data on the government, political entities, the environment, and the economy, including key sectors.
Polling The Nations
Restricted Resource The ultimate resource for polling information is Polling the Nations with more than 400,000 questions including the work of 700 polling organizations. Each question in international, state, local and special polls is listed under one of 4,500 topics.

Polling the Nations is the most comprehensive collection of public opinion, with information from not only in the United States but also more than 90 countries around the world. The database includes the full text of the questions and responses covering a broad range of issues. 

Polling the Nations began in 1981 as a database of American Public Opinion Index. Over the years the database expanded to include surveys from more than 90 other countries in Europe, Canada, Mexico, Africa, and Asia in an electronic format.  Polling the Nations has collected more than 500,000 questions from an amazing array of sources.  There are 5000 topics in the Polling the Nations database. No other source even approaches this number. The subjects cover myriad issues such as gun control, abortion, government, women, race relations, the economy and children. In addition to these recurring themes, episodic events such as the Clinton impeachment, the 2000 vote count in Florida and the September 11 attacks are added in a timely fashion.
Pollution Abstracts
Restricted Resource Pollution Abstracts indexes scientific research and policy literature covering all areas of pollution and its effects on people and animals.

This database is a subfile of the Environmental Science and Pollution Management Database.
POPLINE
A population/demography studies database of primarily English language research in journals, monographs, technical reports, and unpublished works.
Popular Magazines
Restricted Resource Some full text available Popular Magazines provides access to the most searched magazines across the InfoTrac products. All of the titles are selected based on actual publication searches performed by library patrons and the database includes many titles recommended by Bowker's "Magazines for Libraries".
Presidential Campaign Songs
The Library of Congress's collection of Presidential Campaign Songs presents a selection of sheet music composed for presidential candidates from the 1870s to the 1920s.
Price Control in the Courts: The U.S. Emergency Court of Appeals, 1941-1961
Restricted Resource This collection provides a look into the creation and activities of the temporary Emergency Court of Appeals, staffed by judges from the district and appellate courts, with exclusive jurisdiction to determine the validity of price control regulations.
Primary Search
Restricted Resource Full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.
Proceedings First
Restricted Resource Proceedings First is a multidisciplinary index of published meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia worldwide.

Individual papers are indexed in the companion database: PapersFirst.
Professional Development Collection
Restricted Resource Professional Development Collection selectivity indexes full-text articles from nearly 250 journals covering education and related areas such as library science.
Project Gutenberg Online Catalog
A catalog of over 57,000 free eBooks that can be read online or downloaded in both EPUB and Kindle formats.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection
Restricted Resource Project Muse provides access to the full-text of over 40 of the Johns Hopkins University Press's scholarly journals. Dates of coverage vary.

In general, Literary Theory & American Studies journals begin with the 1995 volume, while most others start with 1996. New issues of these journals are placed online in advance of the print version.

Readers may search the full-text of individual journals to find a specific author, subject or title, and/or search the full-text of all journals in the collection. Among Muse features are hypertext links in the tables of contents, endnotes, author biographies, illustrations and, the option to create online reference 'shelves' or electronic syllabi.
ProQuest Biology Journals
Restricted Resource ProQuest Biology Journals provides access to a wide range of biology topics. The database includes just under 400 titles, with more than 325 available in full text.
ProQuest Business Market Research Collection
Restricted Resource Company, industry, economic and geopolitical market research from sources including Hoover's Company Profiles, OxResearch from Oxford Analystica, and Snapshots.
ProQuest Civil War Era
Restricted Resource Some full text available Complete runs of regional newspapers, as well as pamphlets covering a wide range of topics. Set of primary sources, with documents original articles and page images from Manifest Destiny through the end of the Civil War.
ProQuest Congressional
Restricted Resource Provides indexing and selected full-text access to current and historical legislative information from the United States Congress including hearings, bills, laws, reports and other publications.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDTGlobal)
Restricted Resource The world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
ProQuest Ebook Central
Note: Users are required to authenticate both on campus and off campus.
Restricted Resource Provides access to a growing collection of academic titles across many disciplines. Users will be prompted to authenticate both on campus and off campus. Books may be viewed online using the EBook Central reader. Many titles are also available to download for reading offline. Windows and Mac users will use Adobe Digital Editions to view the downloaded titles (freely available at "http://www.adobe.com/products/digitaleditions/#download"). iPad users will use the Bluefire Reader app to view the downloaded titles.
ProQuest Health Management
Restricted Resource Some full text available ProQuest Health Management is a comprehensive full-text database covering a wide range of health topics, including global public health, health administration, healthcare workers, hospitals, statistics, policy, finance and more.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Baltimore Afro-American, The (1893-1988)
Restricted Resource The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
Restricted Resource This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Jerusalem Post (1932-2008)
Restricted Resource This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
Restricted Resource ProQuest Historical Newspapers New York Amsterdam News: 1922-1993 offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times, The (1851-2013)
Restricted Resource Cover-to-cover, digitally scanned full page access to backfiles of the New York Times Newspaper 1851 - 2014.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Tribune (1841-1922)
Restricted Resource ProQuest Historical Newspapers - The New York Tribune is a full image archive. The database delivers every page of every available issue from cover to cover, with full page and article images in downloadable PDF from 1841 to 1922.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
Restricted Resource The Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal, The (1889-1999)
Restricted Resource Cover-to-cover, digitally scanned full page access to the Wall Street Journal 1889 - 1999.
ProQuest Latin American Newsstream
Restricted Resource Some full text available A selection of full-text Latin-American newspapers and newswires covering international and Latin-American regional topics.

ProQuest Latin American Newsstand provides all the news from over 35 full-text Latin-American newspaper titles in Spanish and Portuguese, with some additional content in English. All of the titles are leading news sources in their native countries, allowing quality research from sources you can trust.

Newspapers span 12 Latin-American countries and include eight Brazilian newspapers and seven Mexican newspapers. Additionally, newspapers from Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Peru, Puerto Rico, Venezuela, and other Latin-American countries give added coverage and perspective. To provide a broader perspective, Latin-American Newsstand also contains regional magazines and wire services including Noticias Financieras financial newswire, focusing on finance, technology, market analysis, and regional economic trends.

Leading newspapers covered in ProQuest Latin-American Newsstand include: Mural (Mexico), El Norte and Reforma (Mexico), O Globo and Folha de Sao Paulo (Brazil), La Nacin (Argentina), El Pais (Uruguay), El Nuevo Dia (Puerto Rico).
ProQuest Literature Online
Restricted Resource Good coverage of literary criticism. Cross-search the MLA Bibliography and ABELL, with articles from full-text journals.
ProQuest Newsstand
Restricted Resource Global Newsstream covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, and El Pais.
ProQuest Research Library
Restricted Resource ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
ProQuest STEM Database
Restricted Resource Comprised of more than 500 scholarly journals and popular science magazines, these publications support research and instruction in science, technology, engineering, and math.
PsycARTICLES
Restricted Resource Some full text available A source for full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
PsycBOOKS
Restricted Resource Some full text available Database of over 24,000 chapters in PDF format from over 1,500 books published by APA and other publishers. Includes over 800 classic books of historical impact in psychology.
PsycCRITIQUES 1956-2017 (via Portico)
Restricted Resource Some full text available Full-text book reviews featuring current scholarly and professional books in psychology. Includes reviews from a psychological perspective of popular films and trade books from 1956 through 2017.
PsycEXTRA
Restricted Resource Some full text available A bibliographic and full-text companion to the scholarly PsycINFO database. Document types include technical, annual and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, consumer brochures, etc.
PsychiatryOnline
Restricted Resource Includes Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM)-5
Psychology Collection
Restricted Resource The Psychology Collection provides students, psychologists, counselors, counselees, behavioral scientists, and other researchers with relevant information in the field of Psychology from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in over 3.1 million articles. Bringing together information found in nearly 300 journals, with a strong emphasis on full-text titles cited in PsycINFO, the collection covers nearly all topics related to psychology--abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology.
PsycINFO
Restricted Resource Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. Citations and summaries date back to early 1800s; journal coverage from 1887 to present. From the American Psychological Association.
PubChem
PubChem is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative and provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. The resource includes substance information, compound structures, and BioActivity data that are organized into three linked databases: PCSubstance, PCCompound, and PCBioAssay.

PCSubstance contains more than 180 million records. PCCompound contains more than 63 million unique structures. PCBioAssay contains more than 1 million BioAssays. Each BioAssay contains a various number of data points. The Substance/Compound database, where possible, provides links to BioAssay description, literature, references, and assay data points. The BioAssay database also includes links back to the Substance/Compound database. Integrated with Entrez, NCBI's primary search engine. PubChem also provides a fast chemical similarity search tool and allows searching by other features such as compound neighboring, sub/superstructure, similarity structure, bioactivity data, and more.
Public Administration Abstracts
Restricted Resource Includes 60,000 bibliographic records covering areas related to public administration, including public administration theory, and other areas of relevance to the discipline.
Public Documents Masterfile
Restricted Resource A guide to federal, state, local and international public documents.
PubMed - US National Library of Medicine, NIH
Provides access to citations for biomedical articles from Medline and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles.
Lynda.com
Lynda.com

Tutorials just a click away. We offer access to lynda's 95,000+ "how-to" videos on a wide range of software applications.

Powered by SubjectsPlus