Database List: M


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Num All
MacEdward Leach and the Songs of Atlantic Canada
Resource contains audio Songs and dance tunes from Newfoundland and Cape Breton, collected between 1949-51 by MacEdward Leach. Streaming audio and some notation available.
Mafia in Florida and Cuba: FBI Surveillance of Meyer Lansky and Santo Trafficante, Jr.
Restricted Resource This collection comprises materials on Santo Trafficante, Jr., Meyer Lansky, and Lucky Luciano, including FBI surveillance and informant reports and correspondence from a variety of offices including, Miami, Tampa, Jacksonville, New York City, New Orleans, Atlanta, New Haven, New York City, Philadelphia, and Chicago; Justice Department memoranda, correspondence, and analyses; Newsclippings and articles; Domestic Intelligence Section reports; Transcriptions of wiretaps, typewriter tapes, and coded messages; Memoranda of conversations.
Maine Music Box
The Maine Music Box, a project of the University of Maine's Raymond H. Fogler Library provides access to approximately 22,600 digitized works (manuscript scores and sheet music) held at the Bagaduce Music Lending Library and the Bangor Public Library. The Maine Music Box includes items such as vocal and popular sheet music, music for two pianos, and music by Maine composers or about Maine.
Making of America Journals (Cornell)
Making of America (MOA) sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection currently contains approximately 6,600 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
Making of America Journals (Michigan)
Making of America (MOA) sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection currently contains approximately 6,600 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926
Restricted Resource The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages provides researchers access to critical legal history.
Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978
Restricted Resource Some full text available U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978, features a fully searchable database of approximately 11 million pages, consisting of a century and a half of Supreme Court history in a comprehensive full-text collection.
Making of the Modern World
Restricted Resource Instant access to the theories, practices, and consequences of economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century.

The Making of the Modern World offers researchers new ways of understanding the emergence of modern economics and other social sciences. It's the most comprehensive collection in existence for researching the literature of economics from this period. This unrivalled online library offers instant access to the theories, practices, and consequences of economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century. It combines the strengths of two pre-eminent collections: the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London Library and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School, along with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University and from the libraries of Yale University.
Mango Languages
Restricted Resource Resource contains audio A comprehensive suite of courses covering the most popular languages in the world.
Manuscript Collections Relating to Slavery
Restricted Resource Some full text available Includes 12,000 pages of source materials documenting the history of slavery in the United States, the Atlantic slave trade and the abolitionist movement.
Marcive WebDocs: Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Restricted Resource Marcive Web Docs provides access to the Catalog of Government Printing Office Documents.The catalog provides information on all types documents issued by the federal government.
MarketResearch.com Academic
Restricted Resource Some full text available MarketResearch.com Academic provides access to detailed market research from leading sources such as Kalorama Information, Packaged Facts, and Specialists in Business Information.

Studies contain charts, tables, and graphs and are between 200 and 400 pages in length.  Full studies are available on  MarketResearch.com Academic  with twelve (12) months of being made available to corporate clients.   MarketLooks reports are also available and provide easy-to-read summaries of full-length reports.  The reports are available within the same month of publication.
Mary Ann Liebert Online
Restricted Resource Mary Ann Liebert Online has a portfolio of peer-reviewed journals, trade magazines, books, and newsletters that delivers critical, trusted information across the fields of science, technology, engineering, and medicine.
MAS Ultra - School Edition
Restricted Resource Some full text available MAS Ultra - School Edition provides full text from over 490 periodicals covering general reference, health, science, and other areas.

In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 554 magazines. This database also includes over 3,000 charts, tables and graphs converted to ASCII text; 5,000 full text Magill Book Reviews; full text of 149 Macmillan books; over 540 health and science-related pamphlets in full text; coverage of the CIA World Factbook; and Essential Documents in American History.
MathSciNet
Restricted Resource Access to the Mathematical Reviews Database and Current Mathematical Publications,including literature reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information.
MediaMark MRI
Note: All users must first register using their University of Miami email address and the registration code NN7N3VTA.  You must register with the new code each January and each July.
Restricted Resource Mediamark Research offers comprehensive demographic, lifestyle, product usage and exposure to all forms of advertising media. 
medici.tv
Restricted Resource Resource contains video The world's leading classical music channel, medici.tv broadcasts more than 100 live events are each year, in partnership with the world's most prestigious venues, opera houses, festivals and competitions. Medici.tv's library features over 1,800 programs (3,000 original works), including: concerts and archived historical concerts; operas; ballets; documentaries, artist portraits and educational programs; and master classes.
 
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Restricted Resource Comprehensive index to the international literature of biomedicine including clinical practice, psychosocial issues, health care administration, medical research, nursing, and more.
MEDLINE (OVID)
Restricted Resource Some full text available Comprehensive index to the international literature of biomedicine including clinical practice, psychosocial issues, health care administration, medical research, nursing, and more.
MEDLINE (ProQuest)
Restricted Resource Comprehensive index to the international literature of biomedicine including clinical practice, psychosocial issues, health care administration, medical research, nursing, and more.
MEDLINE (Web of Knowledge)
Restricted Resource Comprehensive index to the international literature of biomedicine including clinical practice, psychosocial issues, health care administration, medical research, nursing, and more.

In addition to medical research and practice, subject coverage includes allied health, the biological and physical sciences, psychology, sociology, the humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population and reproductive biology. It includes more than 9.5 million records. More than 4,300 journals worldwide are indexed. About 52% of current cited articles are published in the U.S.; nearly 86% are published in English; about 76% have English abstracts written by authors of the articles. Abstracts are included for about 67% of the records.
MedlinePlus
Some full text available Extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 750 diseases and conditions.
Mendeley
Note: For full access, register using your University of Miami email address.
Restricted Resource Mendeley is a reference and pdf manager with collaboration tools and an online social network that allows you to discover and share research. It has both online and desktop components.
Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, Felix: Werke
The complete works of Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, originally published in the late 1800s by Breitkopf & Hartel and digitized by the Munich Digitization Center of the Bavarian State Library.
Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, Felix: Werke (IMSLP)
Resource contains audio Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdys Werke is the late 19th-century edition of Mendelssohn's complete works, originally published by Breitkopf & Hartel and digitized by the International Music Score Library Project. Some listings include other digitized public domain scores, digitized and audio files (MIDI or recorded performances).
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Restricted Resource Some full text available Comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for novice test consumers to experienced professionals. Contains information for a complete evaluation of test products in psychology, education, business, and leadership.
Mergent Archives
Restricted Resource Some full text available An online database providing access to a vast, indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents.
Mergent Online
Restricted Resource Provides Mergent business and industry reports.
Mergent WebReports
Restricted Resource Some full text available An online database providing access to a vast, indexed collection of corporate and industry related documents.
Meriam Report on Indian Administration and the Survey of Conditions of the Indians in the U.S.
Restricted Resource This collection comprises two sets of documents that helped the response to 40 years of failed Native American policies. The first is the full text of the report entitled The Problem of Indian Administration, better known as the Meriam Report. The second comprises the 41-part report to the U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs detailing the conditions of life and the effects of policies and programs enacted by the Bureau of Indian Affairs on Native Americans. Both of these collections provide unique documentary insights into many major tribes: Sioux, Navaho, Quapaw, Chickasaw, Apache, Pueblo, Ute, Cherokee, Cheyenne, Arapaho, Kickapoo, Klamath, and many others.
Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary
Restricted Resource The latest version of this leading dictionary is available for searching at the online Encyclopedia Britannica Web site.
Miami Herald (1911-Current)
Restricted Resource Some full text available Full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community.
Micromedex
Restricted Resource Micromedex Solutions provide hospitals and healthcare providers with a single source of clinical information from need-to-know drug, pediatric, disease, lab, and toxicology information to comprehensive resources for patient and consumer education.

Hospitals can use Micromedex evidence and real-time clinical surveillance to proactively find and administer preventative care to high-risk patients to help prevent or mitigate Avoidable Drug Events, Hospital-Acquired Infections, and more.
Middle East Online Series 1
Restricted Resource Overview of the political history of the Middle East in the 20th Century, based on primary source documents from The National Archives, London. Original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1. Major policy statements are set out in their fullest context, the minor documents and marginalia revealing the workings of colonial administration and, following the creation of the State of Israel in 1948, British diplomacy towards Israel and the Arab states.
Middle English Compendium
Restricted Resource The Middle English Compendium contains prose, verse, and reference works. The service provides three an electronic version of the Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, based on the MED bibliographies, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, as well as links to an associated network of electronic resources.
Military & Government Collection
Restricted Resource Some full text available Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for over 300 journals/periodicals, 245 pamphlets, and indexing and abstracting for over 400 titles.

Full text is presented in PDF format (some in color) and the Adobe Acrobat Reader is required.
Military and Intelligence Database
Restricted Resource Some full text available Military and Intelligence Database Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. The database offers content in key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
Milman Parry Collection of Oral Literature
Resource contains audio A publicly accessible guide to the contents of this unique archive of materials relating to South Slavic oral tradition. Selected materials (texts and audio) are available in digital format.
MLA International Bibliography
Restricted Resource The MLA Bibliography indexes some one million citations from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
MMY
Restricted Resource Some full text available Comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for novice test consumers to experienced professionals. Contains information for a complete evaluation of test products in psychology, education, business, and leadership.
Moldenhauer Archives: The Rosaleen Moldenhauer Memorial
The Moldenhauer Archives: The Rosaleen Moldenhauer Memorial presents a selection of digitized items from the full Moldenhauer Archives, which document the history of Western music from the medieval period through the modern era. The online collection includes scores and manuscripts as well as an electronic version of the guidebook for the archive.
Momentum Press Digital Libary
Restricted Resource Momentum Press offers the Professional Reference Collection (books for researchers and practitioners) and Digital Libraries, collections of curriculum-oriented learning resources built for use in the classroom as an alternative to expensive textbooks.
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Restricted Resource Provides data on investment offerings, including stocks, mutual funds, and similar vehicles, along with real-time global market data on equities, indexes, futures, options, commodities, and precious metals, in addition to foreign exchange and Treasury markets.
Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia
Restricted Resource This collection comprises in its entirety, the Primary Source media microfilm collection entitled First Three Centuries of Appalachian Travel. In addition, a small very number of selected titles were included from the microfilm collections entitled Travels in the Old South I, II, & III: 1607-1860; Travels in the New South I & II, 1865-1950; and, Kentucky Culture: A Basic Library of Kentuckiana.
Mozart Ways
Some full text available The European Mozart Ways presents a new approach to studying Mozart by focusing on his travels. The site includes a full text biography of the composer, descriptions of his travels with maps and itineraries, and digitized, translated, and annotated versions of the letters of Mozart and his family.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus: Neue Mozart-Ausgabe (NMA) Online
NMA Online is the digitized version of the Neue Mozart-Ausgabe, the complete works of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart originally published by Barenreiter-Verlag and digitized in a cooperative effort of the Mozarteum Foundation Salzburg and the Packard Humanities Institute. The site includes both music and critical commentaries.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus: Werke (IMSLP)
Resource contains audio Wolfgang Amadeus Mozarts Werke is the 1877-1910 edition of Mozart's complete works, originally published by Breitkopf & Hartel and digitized by the International Music Score Library Project. Some listings include other digitized public domain scores, digitized and audio files (MIDI or recorded performances).

Note: this page is updated manually; if a score is not listed, try browsing or searching for it using the left sidebar.
Munich Digitization Center
The Munich Digitization Center (MDZ) digitizes the special collections of the Bavarian State Library and other German institutions, including fine arts and music, and currently comprises over 700,000 titles.
Music and Performing Arts from Alexander Street
Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio Music and Performing Arts consists of multiple music and performing arts databases, including American Song, Classical Music Library, Classical Scores Library, Dance in Video, Jazz Music Library, Popular Music Library, Contemporary World Music, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries.
Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music, 1820-1860 & 1870-1885
Music for the Nation, by the Library of Congress, contains thousands of pieces of historical sheet music registered for copyright from 1820 to 1885. The collection includes popular songs, operatic arias, choral music, solo instrumental music, and orchestral and band music.
Music in the Afghan North
Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio This website presents fieldwork and publication materials from Mark Slobin's research in Afghanistan.... Still photography, moving picture clips, and sound clips accompany the written text.
Music Index
Restricted Resource The Music Index provides citations to scholarly and popular music journals and magazines, indexing more than 690 international music periodicals. Book reviews, reviews of music recordings, tapes, and performances are indexed.
Music Industry Data
Restricted Resource Resource contains audio Database allows users to interpret, graph, analyse, compare and contrast musical trends and interactions; listen to audio samples for each track and album; and search international charting albums and singles from Billboard.
Music Online: American Music
Restricted Resource Resource contains audio A collection of music recordings from Americans of diverse origins, from Americas past and present. The songs are by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. They touch topics as varied as Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. And the range of genres includes country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, shape note singing, doo-wop, Motown, R&B, soul, funk, and others.
Music Online: Classical Music Library
Restricted Resource Resource contains audio An extensive collection of recordings with a supplementary reference database that users may search and listen to music delivered to their desktop. Classical Music Library is cross-referenced to a database of supplementary information and features over 10,000 fully licensed recordings, thousands of program notes and composer biographies, advanced searching, and hundreds of recommended play lists themed by genres including:   Orchestral  Chamber  Instrumental  Stage and Screen  Voice and Choral  Opera and Operetta    Users may also browse the A-Z index according to broad subject areas:    Artist  Composer  Conductor  Ensemble  Genre  Instrument  Label  Period    Users must install the free Flash plug-in to listen to the licensed MP3 streamed audio files.
Music Online: Classical Scores Library
Restricted Resource Resource contains audio Contains 400,000+ pages of the most important classical scores and manuscripts, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 8,000 scores.

The collection includes works spanning time periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Coverage of score types is comprehensive, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions. The database has been indexed to enable users to search on musically relevant fields, such as composer, work/opus number, key, genre, instrument, time period; as well as score-specific fields, such as score type, duration, editor, arranger, publisher.
Music Online: Contemporary World Music
Restricted Resource Resource contains audio Contains the sounds of all regions from every continent, and genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. This database is a complementary database to Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries and includes a blend of contemporary and traditional world music recordings.
Music Online: Jazz Music Library
Restricted Resource Resource contains audio Collection of jazz that's available onlinewith thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. Jazz Music Library includes works licensed from record labels, including Audiophile, Concord Jazz, Contemporary Records, Fantasy, Jazzology, Milestone, Nessa Records, Original Jazz Classics, Pablo, and Prestige. Labels being added include Circle Records, GHB Records, Good Time Jazz, GRP Records, Impulse, Peak, Riverside, Solo Art Records, Stretch Records, Verve, and dozens more. Note that not all labels are available in all territories.
Music Online: Listening
Restricted Resource Resource contains audio A multidisciplinary collection of audiovisual content that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. Music Online: Listening allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world.
Music Online: Popular Music Library
Restricted Resource Resource contains audio Collection of popular music that contains a wide range of music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound
Restricted Resource Resource contains audio A virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides a variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms. The collection includes more than 35,000 individual tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds. Users browse, search, click, and then listen to the music over the Internet through their headphones or speakers. Controlled vocabularies will enable users to browse by musical instrument, geographic area, or cultural group, among other fields.
Music Periodicals Database
Restricted Resource Some full text available Music Database (aka International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text)  indexes journal literature in all areas of music. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 425 international music periodicals, plus full text for around 140 journals.
Music Treasures Consortium
The Library of Congress's Music Treasures Consortium provides access to highly valued music manuscripts and print materials held in some of the world's most renowned music archives, including the British Library, Harvard University, and the Morgan Library & Museum.
Musical America.com
Restricted Resource Some full text available Musical America is an international directory for the performing arts, used by concert facilities, classical performers, artists, managers and music festivals.

Entries include narrative reviews of the past year in music and dance, along with over 700 pages of listings and tables. Also offers a prestigious annual awards program for Musician of the Year, as well as awards for the year's top composer, conductor, instrumentalist and vocalist.
Mutopia Project: Free Sheet Music for Everyone
Resource contains audio The Mutopia Project provides access to classical music for free download through digital sheet music editions based on editions in the public domain. The Project also hosts modern editions from composers, editors, and arrangers who have chosen to make their works freely available to the public. MIDI files of some works are also available.
Lynda.com
Lynda.com

Tutorials just a click away. We offer access to lynda's 95,000+ "how-to" videos on a wide range of software applications.

Powered by SubjectsPlus