Database List By Subject: Music


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Num All
19th-Century American Sheet Music
The 19th-Century American Sheet Music Collection contains descriptions and of approximately 3,500 popular and instrumental works from the latter 70 years of the 19th century. Created by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill's music library.
19th-Century California Sheet Music
19th-Century California Sheet Music is a virtual library of approximately 2,700 pieces of sheet music published in California in the latter half of the 19th century, along with related materials. Created by the University of California, Berkeley.
AES Electronic Library
Restricted Resource Some full text available Contains all of the Audio Engineering Society papers from the journal, conventions, and conferences, providing access to over 16,000 fully searchable PDF files documenting the progression of audio research from 1953 to the present day.,

Includes AES Publications Convention Preprints Timely technical papers, reproduced directly from the manuscripts of presentations given at recent AES conventions. Anthologies Renowned series of collected papers of archival quality reprinted from the AES Journal including: loudspeakers, disk recording, microphones, sound reinforcement, and time delay spectrometry. Collected papers from the highly regarded AES international conferences, each devoted to a specific topic. AES Standards, Drafts, and Information Documents Internationally approved documents developed under the auspices of the AES Standards Committee and its working groups. Directory of Educational Programs A comprehensive international guide to educational programs in audio.
African-American Band Music & Recordings, 1883-1923
Resource contains audio The African-American Band Music & Recordings, 1883-1923 collection at the Library of Congress contains stock ensemble arrangements of popular songs written by African Americans, as well as a small selection of historic sound recordings featuring these and similar songs.
African-American Sheet Music
African American Sheet Music is a growing digital collection of materials selected from the Sheet Music Collection at Brown University's John Hale Library. Pieces in the collection date from the 1820s to the present.
American Choral Music
American Choral Music, a collaboration between the Library of Congress and the Choral Directors Association, presents a selection of significant choral music in the public domain by leading American composers from the 1860s to 1922.
American Memory - music collections
Resource contains video Resource contains audio The Library of Congress's American Memory provides free and open online access to digitized materials that document the American experience. Materials include images, audio, video, maps, and sheet music.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Restricted Resource International coverage of more than 1,150 leading arts and humanities journals as well as selective coverage from leading science and social sciences journals.
Association for Cultural Equity Online Archive
Resource contains audio Audio, video, photographs and other digitized material from the Association for Cultural Equity's Alan Lomax Archive.
Bach, Johann Sebastian: Bach Cantatas Website
The Bach Cantatas Website focuses on Johann Sebastian Bach's cantatas and other vocal works. The site provides online access to scores, texts, and translations, as well as other relevant resources. Full scores from the Gesamtausgabe der Bach-Gesellschaft (published in the late 1800s) and piano/ vocal reductions are available, both presented as PDFs.
Band Music from the Civil War Era
Resource contains audio Band Music from the Civil War Era, by the Library of Congress, presents examples of brass band music popular in the United States through the latter half of the 19th century. The collection includes printed and manuscript music and sound recordings.
Baseball Sheet Music
The Library of Congress's collection of Baseball Sheet Music consists of over 140 published songs written about "America's Pastime."
Beethoven, Ludwig van: Beethoven-Haus Digital Archives
Resource contains audio The Digital Archives of the Beethoven-Haus provides online access to the unique collections of the Beethoven-Haus, including music first edition scores, correspondence, and pictures. The collection consists of more than 37,000 scanned 16,00 audio files, and 7,600 text files.
Beethoven, Ludwig van: Ludwig van Beethovens Werke (IMSLP)
Resource contains audio Ludwig van Beethovens Werke is the 1860s edition of Beethoven's complete works, originally published by Breitkopf & Hartel and digitized by the International Music Score Library Project. Some listings include other digitized public domain scores, digitized and audio files (MIDI or recorded performances). Note: this page is updated manually; if a score is not listed, try browsing or searching for it in the left sidebar.
Berlioz, Hector: Berlioz Music Scores
Resource contains audio Orchestral and instrumental works by Hector Berlioz, made available online by the Hector Berlioz Website. Works were transcribed with Sibelius, and visitors to the site may listen to MIDI playbacks of the works while viewing the scores. Download of the free Sibelius Scorch plugin is required.
Biblioteca de Catalunya
The digitized collections at the Biblioteca de Catalunya currently include more that 50,000 printed and manuscript music works, as well as personal papers of noted composers, scholars, and performers such as Isaac Albeniz and Enric Granados.
Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonio Iberoamericano
Resource contains audio From the Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonio Iberoamericano, this collection of over 20,000 historical recordings highlights the rich musical heritage of Latin America.
Bloch, Ernest: Ernest Bloch and the Library of Congress
Ernest Bloch and the Library of Congress presents an overview of the composer's relationship with the library as well as links to digitized music manuscripts from the the Ernest Bloch Collection.
Bodleian Library Broadside Ballads
Resource contains audio The Broadside Ballads project is a digitized collection of the University of Oxford Bodleian Library's 30,000 broadside ballads, popular songs sold in the streets of Britain from the 16th to the early 20th centuries. Where music notation is available, MIDI sound files have been added to play the notation.
Bononcini, Giovanni: Bononcini.org
Bononcini.org provides online access to a catalog of the complete works of Giovanni Bononcini. Also available are a bibliography and discography of some of his and a selection of works available for free download.
California Gold: Northern California Folk Music from the Thirties
Resource contains audio California Gold, by the Library of Congress, is an ethnographic field collection documenting the ethnic and cultural diversity of Northern California made by the WPA California Folk Music Project in the 1930s and 1940s. The collection includes audio recordings and related materials.
Cambridge Companions to Music
Restricted Resource Some full text available Cambridge Companions to Music provide clear and accessible information on composers, instruments or musical topics, written with the student, the performer and the music lover in mind. Each volume provides a carefully structured series of specially-commissioned essays by leading authorities offering comprehensive coverage and indispensable reference material as well as absorbing reading matter.
Captain Pearl R. Nye: Life on the Ohio and Erie Canal
Resource contains audio Captain Pearl R. Nye: Life on the Ohio and Erie Canal, by the Library of Congress, documents the culture and music of the people who worked and lived along the Ohio and Erie Canal. The collection consists of 75 songs perfomed by Captain Nye and recorded between 1937-1938, as well as transcriptions, lyrics, and related documentation.
Carmichael, Hoagy: Hoagy Carmichael Collection
Resource contains audio The Hoagy Carmichael Collection is a digital collection of Indiana University's extensive materials related to the composer Hoagy Carmichael. Sound recordings, scores and photos, correspondence, and other items are available online.
Carter, Elliott: Elliott Carter at the Library of Congress
Elliott Carter at the Library presents a brief biography of the composer as well as links to digitized music manuscripts from the Library of Congress's collections.
Charles H. Templeton Digital Sheet Music Collection
Mississippi State University Libraries' Charles H. Templeton Digital Sheet Music Collection provides access to public domain pieces from a large collection amassed by Charles Templeton, Sr. The 22,000-piece collection dates from 1865 and includes blues, ragtime, musical theater, and more.
Chopin, Frederic: Early Editions
The University of Chicago's Chopin Early Editions collection provides online access to over 400 first and early printed editions of works by Frederic Chopin.
Chopin, Frederic: First Editions Online
Resource contains audio Chopin's First Editions Online presents a virtual collection of the original impressions of Chopin's first editions. The collection, which currently stands at around 5,500 was compiled from the holdings of more than 20 institutions, including the Bibliotheque National de France, the Bodleian Library, the British Library, the Narodowy Instytut Fryderyka Chopina, and the University of Chicago Library.
ChoralWiki Choral Public Domain Library
Resource contains audio The Choral Public Domain Library hosts a large collection of vocal and choral sheet music available for free. The CPDL includes public domain works and scores that are not otherwise commerically viable. In addition to scores for approximately 10,000 works, the library contains texts, translations, and some sound files.
Classical String Quartets
The Classical String Quartets collection from Duke University's David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library provides access to collections of string quartets in parts, many of which are by composers whose works are not readily available in modern editions.
Codices Electronici Ecclesiae Coloniensis
With support from the German Research Foundation, the Codices Electronici Ecclesiae Coloniensis (CEEC) is working to digitize the full medieval manuscript holdings of the Episcopal and Cathedral Library Cologne, which includes manuscripts of medieval music. (Note: to view the site in English, click on the "Optionen" tab, then select "English.")
Codices Electronici Sangallenses Virtual Library
The purpose of the "Codices Electronici Sangallenses" (Digital Abbey Library of St. Gallen) is to create a virtual library of the manuscripts in the Abbey Library of St. Gall. The collection of 2100 manuscripts (430+ of which have been digitized) includes many examples of early music.
Computerized Mensural Music Editing
Resource contains audio The CMME project is a collaborative initiative to provide access to high-quality digital editions of early music scores. Users can view scores and listen to audio playback.
Copland, Aaron: The Aaron Copland Collection, ca. 1900-1990
The Aaron Copland Collection, ca. 1900-1990, by the Library of Congress, presents a selection of digitized materials from the full Aaron Copland Collection. Materials include music sketches, correspondence, writings, and photographs.
Coptic Orthodox Liturgical Chant & Hymnody: The Ragheb Moftah Collection at the Library of Congress
Resource contains audio Coptic Orthodox Liturgical Chant & Hymnody presents a selection of digitized materials from the Library of Congress's Ragheb Moftah Collection. Materials include transcriptions, audio recordings, photographs, and other items from Moftah's research into Coptic Christian chant.
Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project
Resource contains audio The Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project provides online access to over 8,000 cylinder recordings held by the University of Santa Barbara's Donald C. Davidson Library. These recordings feature musical and spoken selections from the late 19th and early 20th centuries.
Danish National Digital Sheet Music Archive
The Danish National Digital Sheet Music Archive is a collection of selected works from the Music and Theatre Collection of Denmark's Royal Library. Included are music scores of selected works by Carl Nielsen.
Diction Police
Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio  "Our mission is to provide signers with a comprehensive set of tools for the study and application of lyric diction. Our philosophy centers on hearing the sounds of foreign languages delivered by native speakers who are also professional singers or coaches with a practical understanding of the intricacies of singing language"--The Diction Police homepage.

Includes text readings of songs and arias by native speakers, phonetic transcription (IPA), translations into several languages, video tutorials, podcasts, webinars, diction tips, and diction lessons
Digital Scores and Libretti Collection
The Digital Scores and Libretti Collection at Harvard University's Loeb Music Library is an ongoing project to digitize rare and unique scores and libretti from their holdings. The collection includes first and early editions and manuscript copies from the 1700s through the early 20th century.
DRAM: Database of Recorded American Music
Restricted Resource Resource contains audio DRAM is a scholarly resource providing educational communities with on-demand streaming access to CD-quality audio (192kbps Mp4), complete original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives. The collection contains over 4,000 albums' worth of recordings from a distinctive set of 42 independent labels and archives. In addition, it contains a diverse catalogue of American music represented by the New World Records and CRI labels.
Dvorak, Antonin : Souborne vydani dila (IMSLP)
Resource contains audio Antonin Dvorak: Souborne vydani dila provides online access to the complete works of Dvorak, digitized by the International Music Score Library Project. Some listings include multiple digitized public domain scores, digitized and audio files (MIDI or recorded performances). Note: this page is updated manually; if a score is not listed, try browsing or searching for it using the left sidebar.
E-Codices: Virtual Manuscript Library of Switzerland
The purpose of E-Codices is to create a virtual library of all of the medieval and selected early modern manuscripts (including music manuscripts) of Switzerland. The virtual library currently contains over 800 manuscripts.
Emile Berliner and the Birth of the Recording Industry
Resource contains audio Emile Berliner and the Birth of the Recording Industry, by the Library of Congress, presents a selection of printed materials and sound recordings related to Emile Berliner, who was responsible for many innovations in the development of recording technology. The collection includes correspondence, lectures, scrapbooks, photos, as well as rare sound recordings.
Ethnographic Video Online
Restricted Resource Resource contains video Ethnographic Video Online is a resource for the study of human culture and behavior. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more. This first release includes 404 videos totaling roughly 270 hours.
Fiddle Tunes of the Old Frontier: The Henry Reed Collection
Resource contains audio Fiddle Tunes of the Old Frontier, by the Library of Congress, is an ethnographic field collection of traditional fiddle tunes performed by Henry Reed and recorded in 1966-67. The collection includes audio recordings, field notes, and music transcriptions.
Florida Folklife from the WPA Collections, 1937-1942
Resource contains audio Florida Folklife from the WPA Collections, 1937-1942, by the Library of Congress, is an ethnographic field collection that documents Florida's cultural and ethnic diversity through audio recordings made under the auspices of the Work Projects Administration in the 1930s and 1940s. The collection includes folk songs, dance music, religious music, and interviews.
Frances G. Spencer Collection of American Sheet Music
The Frances G. Spencer Collection of American Sheet Music comprises approximately 30,000 titles published from the late 18th-early 20th centuries. The collection is arranged in over 200 subject categories.
Glenn Gould Archive
Resource contains audio The Glenn Gould Archive by Library and Archives Canada provides online access to materials related to the concert pianist Glenn Gould. Items include searchable databases of published and archival materials, full-text writings by or about the pianist, and digitized images, archival material, and audio tapes.
Handel, George Frideric: Complete works
The complete works of Handel, originally published by the Deutsche Handel Gesellschaft from 1858-1902 and digitized by the Munich Digitization Center of the Bavarian State Library.
HathiTrust
Note: Login at Hathi Trust site to download and build collections. From login tab, select University of Miami as the HathiTrust Partner Insititution and login with CaneID username/password.
UM users have full-text access to over 2.4 million public domain works within the HathiTrust.
Haydn, Joseph: Werke (IMSLP)
Resource contains audio Joseph Haydns Werke is the early 20th-century edition of Joseph Haydn's complete works, originally published by Breitkopf & Hartel and digitized by the International Music Score Library Project. Some listings include other digitized public domain scores, digitized and audio files (MIDI or recorded performances). Note: this page is updated manually; if a score is not listed, try browsing or searching for it using the left sidebar.
Hill Museum & Manuscript Library
The Hill Museum & Manuscript Library (HMML) is an archive of more than 115,000 complete digitized totaling more than 40,000,000 manuscript pages, and including of music and liturgical manuscripts. (Note: to search manuscript click "Research/Search HMML Resources," then select from the options given.)
Hispano Music & Culture from the Northern Rio Grande: The Juan B. Rael Collection
Resource contains audio Hispano Music & Culture from the Northern Rio Grande, by the Library of Congress, is an ethnographic field collection that documents the music of Spanish-speaking residents of rural northern New Mexico and southern Colorado in 1940. The collection consists of sound recordings of hymns, folk drama, wedding songs, and dance tunes, as well as related materials.
Historic American Sheet Music
The Historic American Sheet Music Project at Duke University provides access to over 3,000 pieces of sheet music published between 1850 and 1920. The collection is selected from the holdings of the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library.
Historic Sheet Music
The University of Oregon Libraries' Historic Sheet Music Collection presents a selection of sheet music held in the Libraries' collections. Included are the Oregon Music Collection, which contains 55 pieces of music about Oregon or by Oregonians, and the Women Composers Collection, which will ultimately contain over 1,000 pieces of music by notable women composers.
Historic Sheet Music Collection, 1800-1922
The Library of Congress's Historic Sheet Music Collection consists of approximately 9,000 pieces of sheet music published from 1800 to 1922.
IMSLP Petrucci Music Library
Resource contains audio The Petrucci Music Library was begun in 2006 by IMSLP (International Music Score Library Project) in order to gathering all public domain music scores and the music scores of any contemporary composers who wish to release them to the public free of charge. IMSLP is governed primarily by Canadian copyright law and, therefore, some works may not be public domain in other countries.
IN Harmony: Sheet Music from Indiana
The IN Harmony Project provides access to digitized sheet music from the Indian University Lilly Library, the Indiana State Library, the Indiana State Museum, and the Indiana Historical Society.
Inventing Entertainment: the Early Motion Pictures and Sound Recordings of the Edison Companies
Resource contains video Resource contains audio Inventing Entertainment, by the Library of Congress, provides access to motion pictures and sound recordings, as well as photographs and articles, related to Thomas Edisons inventions and innovations in recording technology.
Inventions of Note
Inventions of Note is a collection of popular songs and piano compositions that reflect American reactions to new and changing technologies such as the automobile, airplane, and telephone. The collection includes approximately 50 pieces as well as links to from other libraries that address new technologies.
IPA Source
Restricted Resource Some full text available IPA Source is a collection of literal translations and International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions developed to benefit singers, teachers, and all those interested in the correct and knowledgeable performance of vocal literature.
Juilliard Manuscript Collection
The Juilliard Manuscript Collection contains 140 sketches, proofs, and first editions donated to the school in 2006 by Bruce Kovner, as well as selected manuscripts from the Juilliard Library's Peter Jay Sharp Special Collections. The collection features some of the most important works and composers of music history.
Kansas City Sheet Music Collection
The University of Missouri Digital Library's Kansas City Sheet Music Collection contains over 660 pieces of music published in Kansas City from the late 19th to the mid 20th century. The collection contains notable works such as Scott Joplin's "Original Rags," as well as compositions about Kansas City itself.
Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music
The Johns Hopkins University's Lester S. Levy Collection of Sheet Music contains over 29,000 pieces of American popular music from 1780 to 1980.
Liszt, Franz: Complete Works
The complete works of Franz Liszt, originally published in Leipzig from 1870-1923 and digitized by the Munich Digitization Center of the Bavarian State Library.
Liszt, Franz: Klavierwerke (IMSLP)
Resource contains audio Franz Liszt: Klavierwerke is a collection of Franz Liszt's piano works, published by Edition Peters in 1913-1917 and digitized by the International Music Score Library Project. Some listings include other digitized public domain scores, digitized and audio files (MIDI or recorded performances).
Liszt, Franz: Musikalische Werke (IMSLP)
Resource contains audio Franz Liszt: Musikalische Werke is the early 20th-century edition of Franz Liszt's complete works, originally published by Breitkopf & Hartel and digitized by the International Music Score Library Project. Some listings include other digitized public domain scores, digitized and audio files (MIDI or recorded performances).
Louisiana State Museum Digital Library Jazz Collection
Resource contains audio The Lousiana State Museum Digital Library Jazz Collection provides online access to photographs and audio recordings related to New Orleans Jazz.
Lully, Jean-Baptiste: The Jean-Baptiste Lully Collection
The Jean-Baptiste Lully Collection is a digital collection of rare 17th and 18th-century scores of operas, ballets, and other works by Jean-Baptiste Lully and his sons, from the holdings of the University of North Texas Music Library. The collection also includes some manuscript copies, as well as libretti prints and collections of stage works by Lully's collaborators.
MacEdward Leach and the Songs of Atlantic Canada
Resource contains audio Songs and dance tunes from Newfoundland and Cape Breton, collected between 1949-51 by MacEdward Leach. Streaming audio and some notation available.
Maine Music Box
The Maine Music Box, a project of the University of Maine's Raymond H. Fogler Library provides access to approximately 22,600 digitized works (manuscript scores and sheet music) held at the Bagaduce Music Lending Library and the Bangor Public Library. The Maine Music Box includes items such as vocal and popular sheet music, music for two pianos, and music by Maine composers or about Maine.
medici.tv
Restricted Resource Resource contains video The world's leading classical music channel, medici.tv broadcasts more than 100 live events are each year, in partnership with the world's most prestigious venues, opera houses, festivals and competitions. Medici.tv's library features over 1,800 programs (3,000 original works), including: concerts and archived historical concerts; operas; ballets; documentaries, artist portraits and educational programs; and master classes.
 
Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, Felix: Werke
The complete works of Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, originally published in the late 1800s by Breitkopf & Hartel and digitized by the Munich Digitization Center of the Bavarian State Library.
Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, Felix: Werke (IMSLP)
Resource contains audio Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdys Werke is the late 19th-century edition of Mendelssohn's complete works, originally published by Breitkopf & Hartel and digitized by the International Music Score Library Project. Some listings include other digitized public domain scores, digitized and audio files (MIDI or recorded performances).
Milman Parry Collection of Oral Literature
Resource contains audio A publicly accessible guide to the contents of this unique archive of materials relating to South Slavic oral tradition. Selected materials (texts and audio) are available in digital format.
Moldenhauer Archives: The Rosaleen Moldenhauer Memorial
The Moldenhauer Archives: The Rosaleen Moldenhauer Memorial presents a selection of digitized items from the full Moldenhauer Archives, which document the history of Western music from the medieval period through the modern era. The online collection includes scores and manuscripts as well as an electronic version of the guidebook for the archive.
Mozart Ways
Some full text available The European Mozart Ways presents a new approach to studying Mozart by focusing on his travels. The site includes a full text biography of the composer, descriptions of his travels with maps and itineraries, and digitized, translated, and annotated versions of the letters of Mozart and his family.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus: Neue Mozart-Ausgabe (NMA) Online
NMA Online is the digitized version of the Neue Mozart-Ausgabe, the complete works of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart originally published by Barenreiter-Verlag and digitized in a cooperative effort of the Mozarteum Foundation Salzburg and the Packard Humanities Institute. The site includes both music and critical commentaries.
Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus: Werke (IMSLP)
Resource contains audio Wolfgang Amadeus Mozarts Werke is the 1877-1910 edition of Mozart's complete works, originally published by Breitkopf & Hartel and digitized by the International Music Score Library Project. Some listings include other digitized public domain scores, digitized and audio files (MIDI or recorded performances).

Note: this page is updated manually; if a score is not listed, try browsing or searching for it using the left sidebar.
Munich Digitization Center
The Munich Digitization Center (MDZ) digitizes the special collections of the Bavarian State Library and other German institutions, including fine arts and music, and currently comprises over 700,000 titles.
Music and Performing Arts from Alexander Street
Restricted Resource Resource contains video Resource contains audio Music and Performing Arts consists of multiple music and performing arts databases, including American Song, Classical Music Library, Classical Scores Library, Dance in Video, Jazz Music Library, Popular Music Library, Contemporary World Music, and Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries.
Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music, 1820-1860 & 1870-1885
Music for the Nation, by the Library of Congress, contains thousands of pieces of historical sheet music registered for copyright from 1820 to 1885. The collection includes popular songs, operatic arias, choral music, solo instrumental music, and orchestral and band music.
Music in the Afghan North
Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio This website presents fieldwork and publication materials from Mark Slobin's research in Afghanistan.... Still photography, moving picture clips, and sound clips accompany the written text.
Music Index
Restricted Resource The Music Index provides citations to scholarly and popular music journals and magazines, indexing more than 690 international music periodicals. Book reviews, reviews of music recordings, tapes, and performances are indexed.
Music Industry Data
Restricted Resource Resource contains audio Database allows users to interpret, graph, analyse, compare and contrast musical trends and interactions; listen to audio samples for each track and album; and search international charting albums and singles from Billboard.
Music Online: American Music
Restricted Resource Resource contains audio A collection of music recordings from Americans of diverse origins, from Americas past and present. The songs are by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. They touch topics as varied as Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. And the range of genres includes country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, shape note singing, doo-wop, Motown, R&B, soul, funk, and others.
Music Online: Classical Music Library
Restricted Resource Resource contains audio An extensive collection of recordings with a supplementary reference database that users may search and listen to music delivered to their desktop. Classical Music Library is cross-referenced to a database of supplementary information and features over 10,000 fully licensed recordings, thousands of program notes and composer biographies, advanced searching, and hundreds of recommended play lists themed by genres including:   Orchestral  Chamber  Instrumental  Stage and Screen  Voice and Choral  Opera and Operetta    Users may also browse the A-Z index according to broad subject areas:    Artist  Composer  Conductor  Ensemble  Genre  Instrument  Label  Period    Users must install the free Flash plug-in to listen to the licensed MP3 streamed audio files.
Music Online: Classical Scores Library
Restricted Resource Resource contains audio Contains 400,000+ pages of the most important classical scores and manuscripts, allowing for the study and analysis of more than 8,000 scores.

The collection includes works spanning time periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century. Coverage of score types is comprehensive, with full scores, study scores, piano and vocal scores, and piano reductions. The database has been indexed to enable users to search on musically relevant fields, such as composer, work/opus number, key, genre, instrument, time period; as well as score-specific fields, such as score type, duration, editor, arranger, publisher.
Music Online: Contemporary World Music
Restricted Resource Resource contains audio Contains the sounds of all regions from every continent, and genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. This database is a complementary database to Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries and includes a blend of contemporary and traditional world music recordings.
Music Online: Jazz Music Library
Restricted Resource Resource contains audio Collection of jazz that's available onlinewith thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. Jazz Music Library includes works licensed from record labels, including Audiophile, Concord Jazz, Contemporary Records, Fantasy, Jazzology, Milestone, Nessa Records, Original Jazz Classics, Pablo, and Prestige. Labels being added include Circle Records, GHB Records, Good Time Jazz, GRP Records, Impulse, Peak, Riverside, Solo Art Records, Stretch Records, Verve, and dozens more. Note that not all labels are available in all territories.
Music Online: Listening
Restricted Resource Resource contains audio A multidisciplinary collection of audiovisual content that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. Music Online: Listening allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world.
Music Online: Popular Music Library
Restricted Resource Resource contains audio Collection of popular music that contains a wide range of music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.
Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound
Restricted Resource Resource contains audio A virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides a variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms. The collection includes more than 35,000 individual tracks of music, spoken word, and natural and human-made sounds. Users browse, search, click, and then listen to the music over the Internet through their headphones or speakers. Controlled vocabularies will enable users to browse by musical instrument, geographic area, or cultural group, among other fields.
Music Periodicals Database
Restricted Resource Some full text available Music Database (aka International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text)  indexes journal literature in all areas of music. Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 425 international music periodicals, plus full text for around 140 journals.
Music Treasures Consortium
The Library of Congress's Music Treasures Consortium provides access to highly valued music manuscripts and print materials held in some of the world's most renowned music archives, including the British Library, Harvard University, and the Morgan Library & Museum.
Musical America.com
Restricted Resource Some full text available Musical America is an international directory for the performing arts, used by concert facilities, classical performers, artists, managers and music festivals.

Entries include narrative reviews of the past year in music and dance, along with over 700 pages of listings and tables. Also offers a prestigious annual awards program for Musician of the Year, as well as awards for the year's top composer, conductor, instrumentalist and vocalist.
Musical Theater Songs
Restricted Resource

MusicalTheaterSongs.com draws from 150 years of musical theater repertoire, ranging from well-known standards to rare finds to help you find the right songs quickly and easily. Its  easy-to-use interface lets you enter up to 20-plus parameters (voice type, character age, etc.) to generate a list of songs tailored to your needs from an ever-growing database. As an added feature, once you get your list of titles, we link you to various sites to make it simple to buy, rent, trade or download the sheet music and recordings (subject to availability).

 


Mutopia Project: Free Sheet Music for Everyone
Resource contains audio The Mutopia Project provides access to classical music for free download through digital sheet music editions based on editions in the public domain. The Project also hosts modern editions from composers, editors, and arrangers who have chosen to make their works freely available to the public. MIDI files of some works are also available.
National Library of Australia: Digitized Printed Music
The National Library of Australia has digitized over 12,200 Australian printed music items from the 19th and early 20th centuries. The collection includes original scores of "Waltzing Matilda" and the offical Australian national anthem "Advance Australia Fair."
Naxos Music Library
Note: If you are a UM professor and wish to create class playlists, please contact Nancy Zavac, nzavac@miami.edu, for the username and password to enable instructor access.
Restricted Resource Resource contains audio Naxos Music Library has over 327,000 tracks of music and is continually adding music from the Naxos label as well as other leading independent labels.
Naxos Music Library Jazz
Note: If you are a UM professor and wish to create class playlists, please contact Nancy Zavac, nzavac@miami.edu, for the username and password to enable instructor access.
Restricted Resource Resource contains audio Naxos Music Library Jazz comprises Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz. There are close to 20,000 tracks of jazz, more than 1,850 albums, and over 500 jazz artists.
Nazareth, Ernesto: The Nazareth Project
Resource contains audio The Nazareth Project presents an official catalog of the works of Ernesto Nazareth. It includes digital transcriptions of the scores and audio files.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery: Music Division
The New York Public Library's Digital Gallery provides free access to over 700,000. The Digital Gallery includes nearly 12,000 of scores and manuscripts from the Music Division of the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts.
Now What a Time: Blues, Gospel, and the Fort Valley Music Festivals, 1938-1943
Resource contains audio Now What a Time, by the Library of Congress, is a collection consisting of sound recordings of primarly blues and gospel songs made from 1938-1943 in Georgia, Tennessee, and Alabama.
Omaha Indian Music
Resource contains audio Omaha Indian Music, by the Library of Congress, documents traditional Omaha music from the 1890s and 1980s. The collection includes sound recordings, photographs, and related materials.
Oscar Peterson: A Jazz Sensation
Resource contains audio Oscar Peterson: A Jazz Sensation, created by Library and Archives Canada, is devoted to the Canadian jazz artist Oscar Peterson. The site includes a biography and discography, photo gallery, links to digitized memorabilia, the full text of selected articles and essays written by Peterson, and an audio tour of selected recordings. Note: This is an archived site and is no longer being updated.
Oxford History of Western Music
Restricted Resource The Oxford History of Western Music online offers an account of the evolution of Western classical music by Richard Taruskin. The online version includes all 1.25 million words, 500 images, and 1,800 musical examples from the updated paperback edition with search and browse functionality.
Oxford Music Online
Restricted Resource Includes the Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online, and the Oxford Companion to Music.
Pacific Northwest Sheet Music Collection
A collection of over 1,000 pieces of public domain sheet music from and about Washington State and the Pacific Northwest, selected from the University of Washington Music Library's Ashford Sheet Music Collection.
Patriotic Melodies
Resource contains audio Patriotic Melodies, by the Library of Congress, tells the stories behind many of the most well known patriotic songs of the United States. The site includes descriptions of each song along with selected sheet music and audio recordings.
Performing Arts Encyclopedia
Resource contains audio The Performing Arts Encyclopedia is a guide to performing arts resources at the Library of Congress. The Encyclopedia provides access to digitized scores, sheet music, audio reordings, films, photographs, and other materials.
Piano Bench Digital Collection
Auburn University's Piano Bench Digital Collection is comprised of sheet music published prior to 1923, much of it found in the benches of second-hand pianos purchased by the family of former Auburn University librarian Fred Edminston.
Presidential Campaign Songs
The Library of Congress's collection of Presidential Campaign Songs presents a selection of sheet music composed for presidential candidates from the 1870s to the 1920s.
Ragtime
Resource contains video Resource contains audio Ragtime, by the Library of Congress, presents a selection of sheet music, audio and video recordings, and other materials related to this uniquely American musical phenomenon.
Renaissance Masses, 1440-1520
Resource contains audio Princeton University's Renaissance Masses, 1440-1520 is an online catalog of polyphonic masses composed in Europe in the 15th-16th centuries. The catalog can be browsed by title, composer, manuscript, or print. The catalog is continuously being updated with the addition of audio recordings for each mass.
Repertoire International d’Iconographie Musicale
Resource contains images International index of visual sources of music, dance, theatre and opera, with a main objective being the development of methods, means and research centres for the classification, cataloguing and study of iconographical sources related to music, dance, theatre and opera.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Restricted Resource RILM Abstracts of Music Literature features content from the early 1800s through the present with some content coverage extending back as far as the late 18th century. Updated monthly, the database includes coverage of relevant articles from thousands of journals, many of which are not specifically devoted to music.

In addition to journal articles, RILM Abstracts of Music Literature covers a variety of publication and media types including essay collections, conference proceedings, critical editions of music, digital media, dissertations, monographs, online resources, reference materials, reviews, and technical drawings of instruments. Sound recordings and motion pictures that present the results of scholarly research or fieldwork are also included.
RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals with Online Archive
Restricted Resource RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals is an international, annotated database with content analysis of writings on musical history and culture between 1800 and 1950 provided by scholars and editors. RIPM currently indexes the contents of music periodicals including articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, and press reviews. In addition, RIPM offers English-language translations of articles from journals in other languages.
RISM: International Inventory of Musical Sources
Note: To view the catalog entries in English, click the British flag at the upper right corner of the screen.
RISM (Repertoire International des Sources Musicales), the International Inventory of Musical Sources, is an international effort to comprehensively document surviving music sources (including manuscripts, prints, libretty, and writings about music) around the world.

The online catalog contains around 700,000 references to music manuscripts, many of which were first cataloged in RISM's Series A/II, Music Manuscripts after 1600. The catalog also includes ongoing indexing completed since the publication of Series A/II. Each catalog entry includes thematic catalog numbers, description of the musical work, location of the manuscript, provenance, and musical incipits.
Rock's Backpages Library
Restricted Resource Resource contains audio Online database of rock music writing. Contains articles (reviews, interviews, features and more) from the early 1960s right up to the present day.
Schubert, Franz: Werke (IMSLP)
Resource contains audio Franz Peter Schuberts Werke is the late 19th-century edition of Schubert's complete works, originally published by Breitkopf & Hartel and digitized by the International Music Score Library Project. Some listings include other digitized public domain scores, digitized and audio files (MIDI or recorded performances).
Schumann, Robert: Complete Works
The complete works of Robert Schumann, originally published by Breitkopf & Hartel in the late 1800s and digitized by the Munich Digitization Center of the Bavarian State Library
Sheet Music Collections, York University Libraries
A selections of digitized sheet music from York University Libraries' Clara Thomas Archives and Special Collections.
Sheet Music Consortium
The Sheet Music Consortium, hosted by the UCLA Digital Library Program, is a cooperative project to build an open collection of digitized sheet music through harvesting metadata from collections around the world.
Sheet Music from Canada's Past
Resource contains audio Sheet Music from Canada's Past, a project by Library and Archives Canada, provides digital access to a selection of sheet music published in Canada before 1921. Selected titles also include audio examples.
Sheldon Harris Sheet Music Collection
The University of Mississippi Libraries' Sheldon Harris Sheet Music Collection provides digital access to popular sheet music of the late 19th and early 20th centuries, including jazz, blues, and minstrel songs. Note: please read collection disclaimer.
Sibley Music Library Music Scores
The digitized collection of music scores from Eastman School of Music's Sibley Music Library includes over 14,000 digitized manuscripts and scores in the public domain, many of which are unique to Sibley's collection.
Sousa, John Philip: The March King: John Philip Sousa
Resource contains audio The March King: John Philip Sousa presents selected music manuscripts, photographs, printed music, sound recordings, and more from the Sousa Collection at the Library of Congress
Southern Mosaic: The John and Ruby Lomax 1939 Southern States Recording Trip
Resource contains audio Southern Mosaic, by the Library of Congress, is an ethnographic field collection containing nearly 700 sound recordings and other materials documenting a 1939 trip through the southern United States. Recordings include ballas, blues, folk songs, spirituals, and work songs.
Temple Sheet Music Collections
A project of Temple University, Temple Sheet Music Collections contains approximately 840 pieces of sheet music published from the early 19th to early 20th centuries.
Themefinder
Themefinder allows for the searching of musical works by theme or incipit. Currently, Themefinder searches three databases: Classical Instrumental Music, European Folksongs, and 16th-century Latin Motets. Users may search by pitch, interval, scale degree, or contour of the musical line. Results are displayed as a list of works that match the search, along with the theme or incipit of each work.
Themefinder (RISM US Manuscripts Incipit Search)
The US RISM/Themefinder website features data for musical manuscripts from the United States. Users may search by composer, title, genre, or other keywords, or by using the Themefinder musical incipit/theme search, which allows for searching pitch, interval, scale degree, or contour of the musical line. Results are displayed as a list of works that match the search, along with the theme or incipit of each work.
Theo Wangemann's 1889-90 European Recordings
Resource contains audio MP3s of early wax cylinders recorded by Thomas Edison's recording engineer Theo Wangemann during a trip to Europe in 1889-1890.
UCLA Digital Archive of Popular American Music
Resource contains audio The Digital Archive of Popular American Music consists of a selection of materials from UCLA Music Library's Archive of Popular American Music. The Digital Archive includes sheet music and performances of the songs now in the public domain.
University of Colorado Digital Sheet Music Collection
The University of Colorado Digital Sheet Music Collection provides digital access to sheet music published between 1890 and 1922. The collection is divided into four separate sub-collections: the Colorado Collection (music about the state of Colorado), the Ingram Collection (music published by the Tolbert R. Ingram Music Company from 1900-1915), the Ragtime Collection (ragtime songs and piano rags), and the Western Trails Collection (music inspired by westward migration).
University of Washington Music Library Digital Scores Collection
A collection of manuscript musical scores dating from the 17th through 19th centuries, digitized from the University of Washington Music Library's Rare Book Collection.
Virtual Gramophone: Canadian Historical Sound Recordings
Resource contains audio Library and Archives Canada's Virtual Gramophone contains information for more than 15,000 78-rmp and cylinder recordings released in Canada or featuring Canadian artists and/or compositions. The database contains images, biographical and historical information, and digital audio reproductions of selected recordings.
Virtual Music Rare Book Room
The University of North Texas Music Library's Virtual Music Rare Book Room presents digitized materials from the Edna mae Sandborn Music Rare Book Room, as well as items that were borrowed from private collectors and scanned with permission. A primary focus of the collection is 18th-century French opera, including scores and libretti.
Voices from the Dust Bowl: the Charles L. Todd and Robert Sonkin Migrant Worker Collection, 1940-1941
Resource contains audio Voices from the Dust Bowl, by the Library of Congress, is an ethnographic field collection documenting the everyday life of residents of central Californian migrant work camps in 1940-41. The collection includes audio recordings, photographs, manuscript materials, and related documentation.
World Digital Library
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary source materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Lynda.com
Lynda.com

Tutorials just a click away. We offer access to lynda's 95,000+ "how-to" videos on a wide range of software applications.

Powered by SubjectsPlus