Database List By Subject: Classics


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Num All Free
Art Abstracts (H.W. Wilson)
Art Abstracts contains citations and abstract summaries to journal articles and other resources on art, art history, architecture, photography, archaeology, city planning, film, and related subjects. The service includes links and cross-searchability to the Library's subscription to the AMICO Library.
Art Index Retrospective: 1929-1984 (H.W. Wilson)
Art Index Retrospective, is a searchable bibliographic database that contains citations from the printed Art Index, volumes 1-32, published between 1929-1984. The service includes links and cross-searchability to the Library's subscription to the AMICO Library.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
The Atla Religion Database is an essential resource for religious and theological studies, containing over 2.8 million bibliographic records covering topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history and religion in social issues.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (EBSCOHost)
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals covers architecture and related fields such as archaeology, urban planning, historic preservation, and interior design. Coverage reaches from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present.
Brill's New Jacoby
Brill's New Jacoby provides a revised edition of the Greek texts of Felix Jacoby’s Die Fragmente der Griechischen Historiker where relevant. It includes several new authors and many fragments of existing authors that were either unknown to Jacoby or excluded by him. It also gives commentaries in those cases where Jacoby failed to do so.

Brill's New Jacoby presents facing English translations of the Greek fragments, a new, critical commentary, and a brief encyclopedia-style entry about each historian’s life and works, with a select bibliography.
Brill's New Pauly
Brill´s New Pauly is the English edition of the authoritative Der Neue Pauly, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996. It is a modern reference work for the ancient world, presenting the current state of traditional and new areas of research and bringing together specialist knowledge from leading scholars from all over the world. Many entries from this resource are elucidated with maps and illustrations and the English edition will include updated bibliographic references.

There are two major sections included in this resource, the Antiquity and the Classical Tradition. The Antiquity section is devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity and cover more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. The Classical Tradition section is uniquely concerned with the long and influential aftermath of antiquity and the process of continuous reinterpretation and revaluation of the ancient heritage, including the history of classical scholarship.
Elektronische Zeitschriftenbibliothek - Frei zugangliche E-Journals
The Electronic Journals Library is a service to facilitate the use of scholarly journals on the internet. It offers a fast, structured and unified interface to access full-text articles online.

The collection comprises of 87375 titles from all areas of research, of which 17503 are available online only. In addition, it contains 54582 journals which are accessible free of charge to anyone. Please note that titles are published in their native languages, so not all of them will be available in English.
Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Wilson Humanities Full-Text indexes more than 300 key humanities journals. Abstracts of journal articles are included from the spring of 1994; selected full-text coverage began in January 1995.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles.
L'annee philologique
This valuable resource indexes books, book reviews, articles, Festschriften, and other collections dealing with the ancient Greek and Roman world, from the second millennium BCE to approximately 800 CE.

The APh indexes more than 1500 scholarly journals, plus essay collections and conference proceedings.  Please note that the resource covers worldwide scholarly publishing, in many languages, and the Richter Library will only have some of the items referenced. Please consult the UML catalog for local holdings.
Loeb Classical Library
The mission of the Loeb Classical Library has always been to make Greek and Latin literature accessible to the broadest range of readers. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations.

More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.
MLA International Bibliography
The MLA Bibliography indexes some one million citations from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Oxford Classical Dictionary, Third Edition
The Oxford Classical Dictionary (OCD) is the definitive reference works on the Greco-Roman world covering subject areas in literature, art, philosophy, law, mythology, science, or broad cultural and historical trends.

The Third Edition's entries (edited by Simon Hornblower and Antony Spawforth) range from long articles to brief identifications on virtually any topic of interesting, including athletics, botany, Roman law, religious rites, or slavery. 

The OCD profiles every major figure of Green and Rome, including Homer, Virgil, Plato, Aristotle, Julius Caesar, and lesser known figures that are only found in this resource. The Third Edition includes over 800 new entries including expanded coverage about women in the ancient world, sexuality, the Far East, Jews, and early Christians.
Philosopher's Index
The Philosopher's Index indexes and abstracts books and journals covering philosophy and related fields.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Wilson Social Sciences Full Text indexes a wide range of social sciences journals.Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in January 1994; full-text coverage begins in January 1995.
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae provides access to the contents of all lexicon articles published up to 2008 (that is the letters AM, O, Ppomifer, portapulso). Additional content includes the Onomasticon volumes (letters C and D), the Index librorum and the Praemonenda de rationibus et usu operis, a multilingual introduction to the printed version of the Thesaurus.
LinkedIn Learning
LinkedIn Learning

Tutorials just a click away. We offer access to LinkedIn Learning's 5,000 video tutorials covering business, creative, and technology topics.

Powered by SubjectsPlus