Welcome to the Richter Library's Guide to Sociology!
MLK's 1963 March on Washington. Associated Press. Available through AP Image Archive
Hello all, and welcome to the University of Miami Libraries' Guide to Sociology Resources! Throughout this guide, you'll find resources supporting not only the Sociology Department, but of many disciplines due to the interdisciplinary nature of the sociological field. Feel free to browse through the guide, make use of its resources, and if you need more help, Ask a Librarian!
You'll find the button in our index and abstract databases.
Because these databases are rarely full-text, you'll need to click on the button to access the article you are looking for.
In the event that there is not an online, full-text version of the article available, the best thing is to do a Title search (using the name of the journal) in the Catalog tab.
Once you've located the journal, you can find the necessary volume and issue by reading the citation.
Don't see what you need in the Sociology Databases section? Sociological topics can cross a wide variety of disciplines. Check out these databases for further help.
You can also use databases in other subject areas to help you find what you need. Just use the drop menu on the Databases page to navigate to the subject you prefer.
Course-specific guides have been created for certain classes. Hover over the "Class Guides" tab and select the course you need from the drop-down menu.
Are you a professor who wants an instruction session in the library? Feel free to contact librarian Lauren Fralinger for an instruction session and a Class Guide to accompany it!