- Global Public Health
- Nursing & Health Studies
- Nursing Practice & Research [Calder Library]
- Public Health [Calder Library]
Welcome to Richter Library's Resources Guide for Public Health! This guide is a great tool for finding information for research, collecting articles for classes, and broadening your knowledge of Public Health. Each tab contains current and relevent resources for assisting you in collecting the best information for your project, interest, or research.
Saily Marrero
- Nursing & Health Studies, Biology, and Psychology Librarian
- sxm1838@miami.edu
- (305) 284-2040
- COV19 & Infectious Disease Resources
Calder Library's guide for Covid-19 - LitCovid
Provides access to PubMed articles on Covid-19. It is updated daily and categorized by research topic and geographic location for easy discovery. - Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest)
Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest) is a comprehensive full-text database covering a wide range of health topics, including global public health, health administration, healthcare workers, hospitals, statistics, policy, finance and more. - CINAHL Plus
Primary index to the international literature of nursing and health. - MEDLINE (OVID)
Comprehensive index to the international literature of biomedicine including clinical practice, psychosocial issues, health care administration, medical research, nursing, and more. - MedlinePlus
Extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 750 diseases and conditions. - PubMed - US National Library of Medicine, NIH
Provides access to citations for biomedical articles from Medline and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles. - Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts research literature published worldwide in journals and other serial publications. Social Planning/Policy Development (SOPODA) is included as a subfile, providing additional literature on policy issues addressing violence, abuse, housing, the environment and other social issues. - Web of Science
Coverage and comprehensive indexing of the journals, books, and proceedings in the Sciences, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities.
- BioMed Central
Independent open access publisher committed to providing free full-text access to peer-reviewed biomedical research. - Cochrane Library
Collection of health databases providing independent evidence to inform clinical treatment decisions and other health related decisions. - ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
ERIC is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature from 1966 to the present. The ERIC online system provides the public with a centralized site for searching the ERIC bibliographic records (citations, abstracts, and other pertinent data) of more than 1.6 million items indexed since 1966. - National Academy Press Digital Library
The National Academy Press is a searchable multidisciplinary digital library of full-text book length research studies and policy reports by leading experts in their fields. Hundreds of titles are available in PDF or HTML format. Readers are able to search the full-text of one or all publications; search all titles; browse by subject category. - Scholarship@Miami
The Scholarly Repository features selected research and scholarly works prepared by faculty, students, and staff at the University of Miami. - SCOPUS
Covering the life, physical, health, and social sciences, Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Scopus covers: Over 15,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 international publishers, including coverage of: 500 Open Access journals, 700 Conference Proceedings, 600 Trade Publications, 125 Book Series. More than 60% of titles are from countries other than the US Abstracts go back to 1966. References go back to 1996. 80% of content is indexed with controlled vocabularies. 100% coverage of Medline, including unique Medline journals. 28 million abstract records. 245 million references added to all abstracts. Scopus also covers 250 million quality web sources, including 13 million patents. Web sources are searched via Scirus, and include author homepages, university sites and resources such as the preprint servers CogPrints and ArXiv.org, and OAI compliant resources. - Social Sciences Citation Index
Social Sciences Citation Index provides international, cover-to-cover indexing of the most cited journals in social sciences. The databases is searched via the Web of Knowledge Citation Databases service. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals. - ScienceDirect
Science Direct is a full text database offering journals and books from the leading scholarly publisher Elsevier. It has particular strengths in medicine and mathmatics, but its nine million articles cover a wide range of scientific topics. The collection stretches back to 1823 and includes prominent publications including The Lancet, Cell and Tetrahedron. ScienceDirect hosts over 2,500 journals and more than 33,000 books—over 13 million peer-reviewed publications (including Open Access journals) in science, technical information, and health. Note Nursing journals in Column 3 Health Sciences.
Saily Marrero
- Nursing & Health Studies, Biology, and Psychology Librarian
- sxm1838@miami.edu
- (305) 284-2040
You'll find the 
button in our indexing and abstracting databases.
Because these databases are sometimes not completely full-text, you'll need to click on the "Findit" button to access the article you are looking for.
If the article is available full-text in another database, the "Findit" button will lead you to the a link called "article," which will take you to the full text of your article.
Evidence Based Practice for Public Health provides a number of databases both free and subscription based. UM Library holdings include some of those that require subscription. Please look them up by title either in the Nursing and Health Studies Research Guide or place the title in the box search box below.
- American Diabetes Association, Food & Fitness
Recipes, fitness management, guidelines on selecting foods. - American Dietetic Association
Site for general public, health professionals, students, media. Some information available in Chinese and Spanish. - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC): Healthy Weight -- It's Not a Diet, It's a Lifestyle!
Assessing weight, losing weight, maintenance of healthy weight, physical activity, and health effects of overweight or obesity. - Food & Drug Administration (FDA): Food
Includes a wealth of information on food science, research, safety, recalls, alerts & labeling, updates (baby formula) and more. In addition to information accessed by clicking on the images, scroll to the bottom of page for items under the headings: Navigate the Food Section | Industry Guidance & Regulation - MedlinePlus: Food and Nurtition
Starting point for consumers and health professionals. Addresses topics such as vitamin A, food allergies, triglycerides, drinking water, and dietary supplements. - World Health Organization (WHO): Nutrition
Includes child growth assessment and surveillance, nutrition in development and crisis, country-focused nutrition policies, micronutrient malnutrition, exploitive food marketing, and more. Scroll full length of page for all content. - USDA: Food& Nutrition Info. Center (FNIC)
Provides educators, health professionals and researchers access to trustworthy food and nutrition resources from both government and non-government sources.
Saily Marrero
- Nursing & Health Studies, Biology, and Psychology Librarian
- sxm1838@miami.edu
- (305) 284-2040
MyPlate illustration of healthy food groups. USDA Food & Nutrition Service.
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ): Data & Surveys
- Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC): Data & Statistics
- H-CUPnet
- Health Services Research & Public Health Information Programs
- Immigration Data & Statistics
- National Sample Survey of Registered Nurses
- NCHS (National Center for Health Statistics)
- NHANES, National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey
- Office of Minority Health
- OSHA (Occupational Safety and Health)
- Public Health Partners
- United States Census Bureau
- United States Department of Agriculture
- WISQARS (Web-based Injury Statistics Query and Reporting System)
Saily Marrero
- Nursing & Health Studies, Biology, and Psychology Librarian
- sxm1838@miami.edu
- (305) 284-2040
- Global Health - The Statiscs & Data Tab guide
- Finding Health Data & Statistics [Cornell University]
- Data Resources [Weill Cornell Medicine]
- Health Statistics US [University of Michigan]
MMWR (Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report) spplements. The first report, Public Health Then and Now, is a history of U.S. public health over the past 50 years. To view supplements other than those listed below visit the CDC's MMWR site.
- American Cancer Society
- American Heart Association
- American Public Health Association (APHA)
- Global Digital Health Network
- Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
- International Organization of Migration
- John Hopkins Center for Communication Programs
- Pew Charitable Trusts, Health Group
- National Institutes of Health (NIH)
- US Depatment of Health & Human Services (US HHS) & Related Agencies
Saily Marrero
- Nursing & Health Studies, Biology, and Psychology Librarian
- sxm1838@miami.edu
- (305) 284-2040
Search
Hours
Accounts
A Librarian