- Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
Global Newsstream covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, and El Pais.
- The Advocate
Please fill out this two-minute survey to help me improve this session.
- ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
Official web portal of the United States federal government.
- Gender Watch
GenderWatch indexes and provides the full-text of articles in 175 publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch contains archival material, in some cases as far back as the 1970's with additional archival material continually added, making this the repository of historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles and understandings over the last fifteen to twenty years.
- LGBT Life with Full Text
A database of literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. LGBT Life with Full Text contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms. Full text content available in LGBT Life with Full Text includes The Advocate, Gay Parent Magazine, Girlfriends, GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian & Gay Studies, James White Review, ISNA News, Ladder, Lesbian Tide, New York Blade, ONE, Tangents, Washington Blade, and many more.
- America: History and Life
America: History and Life abstracts and indexes journals and dissertations on the history of the United States and Canada.
- HeinOnline Law Journal Library
The Law Journal Library in HeinOnline is a collection of more than 2,000 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most currently published issued allowed, based on contracts with publishers.
- Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest)
Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest) is a comprehensive full-text database covering a wide range of health topics, including global public health, health administration, healthcare workers, hospitals, statistics, policy, finance and more.
WHAT PARTY WAS in power in the LEGISLATIVE BRANCH? The International Parliamentary Union's Parline Database can tell you. Go here: http://ipu.org/parline-e/parlinesearch.asp and select the country of interest (if it is a parliamentary system you will want to choose the lower house of parliament; if presidential you'll want to check both houses if there are more than 1). Then if your policy was recently passed, go to the "General Information" or "Last Election" tabs to learn more. If your policy was passed a while ago, click on "Election Archive" and then select the right time period. In many instances this source will also tell you the PERCENT WOMEN in the parliament.
If you want to know what PARTY controlled the EXECUTIVE BRANCH of a contemporary case, see the CIA's World Leaders Database: https://aleph.occrp.org/datasets/1305 For historical cases see the IPU's Election Archive to determine who won a given election.
If you want to see how your country stacks up internationally in terms of the % WOMEN IN THE LEGISLATIVE BRANCH go to the IPU's Women in Parliaments Database (http://ipu.org/wmn-e/world.htm). From there you can either select the % women in each parliament link if your topic is contemporary. If your topic is historical click on the "Archive of Statistical Data" link and get the appropriate month/year.
For a list of OPENLY LGBT ELECTED OFFICIALS see here: https://www.queerpolitics.org/data-1
If you want to know about the LEVEL OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT in a country between 1980 and the present (i.e., whether it is agrarian "low human development," industrial, or post-industrial "very high human development") you can use the UN's Human Development Index: http://hdr.undp.org/en/content/table-2-human-development-index-trends-1980-2013. You can also learn more about the country's contemporary economy from the CIA World Factbook (https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/)
The UN also keeps data on women's equality: https://worlds-women-2020-data-undesa.hub.arcgis.com/
To measure GENDER OPPORUNITY STRUCTURES you can use the UN's GENDER INEQUALITY INDEX: http://hdr.undp.org/en/content/gender-inequality-index.
To measure THE LEVEL OF ECONOMIC INEQUALITY in a country: https://data.worldbank.org/indicator/SI.POV.GINI
The World Bank keeps other economic statistics: http://datatopics.worldbank.org/gender/
To get public opinion data about people's BELIEFS AND VALUES about gender and other issues you can use the World Values Survey data like Inglehart and Norris did: http://www.worldvaluessurvey.org/WVSContents.jsp . Go to "online analysis" to get information about your country. Alternatively, you could look at this study by the Pew Research Center: https://www.pewresearch.org/global/2020/06/25/global-divide-on-homosexuality-persists/ (Click on the top right corner to download the complete report).
Do you want to see what an ACTIVIST GROUP’S WEBSITE said IN THE PAST? Try locating in the “Wayback” machine: http://archive.org/web/
Do you want to know HOW DEMOCRATIC a country is or was at the time your event occurred? Try looking for data at the Freedom House: https://freedomhouse.org/reports
If you want to know the percentage of people in a country that follow a certain RELIGION you can look to the CIA World Factbook: https://www.cia.gov/the-world-factbook/ . Select the country of your choice and open the “People and Society” tab to find out this and other information.
The CIA World Factbook also keeps information about LITERACY RATES and URBANIZATION (both indicators go along with modernization theory). Go here https://www.cia.gov/the-world-factbook/countries/, select your country, and you can find this information in the People and Society section.
Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.