- Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
Global Newsstream covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, and El Pais.
- Latin American Newsstream (ProQuest)
A selection of full-text Latin-American newspapers and newswires covering international and Latin-American regional topics. Includes over 35 Latin American newspaper in Spanish and Portuguese, with some additional content in English. Leading newspapers include: Mural (Mexico), El Norte and Reforma (Mexico), O Globo and Folha de Sao Paulo (Brazil), La Nacin (Argentina), El Pais (Uruguay), El Nuevo Dia (Puerto Rico).
Access our local and international newspaper databases, including web versions of the New York Times and the Wall Street Journal.
- Gender Watch
GenderWatch indexes and provides the full-text of articles in 175 publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. GenderWatch contains archival material, in some cases as far back as the 1970's with additional archival material continually added, making this the repository of historical perspective on the evolution of the women's movement and the changes in gender roles and understandings over the last fifteen to twenty years.
- America: History and Life
America: History and Life abstracts and indexes journals and dissertations on the history of the United States and Canada.
- ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
- Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest)
Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest) is a comprehensive full-text database covering a wide range of health topics, including global public health, health administration, healthcare workers, hospitals, statistics, policy, finance and more.
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles.
- LGBT Life with Full Text
A database of literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. LGBT Life with Full Text contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms. Full text content available in LGBT Life with Full Text includes The Advocate, Gay Parent Magazine, Girlfriends, GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian & Gay Studies, James White Review, ISNA News, Ladder, Lesbian Tide, New York Blade, ONE, Tangents, Washington Blade, and many more.
- Index to Jewish Periodicals
Indexing to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Journal coverage dates back as far as 1988.
- ABI/INFORM Collection
ABI/INFORM Collection indexes and abstracts articles covering all aspects of business worldwide. The complete article is provided for many titles. The Collection brings together resources appearing in ABI/INFORM Global (business information worldwide), ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline (local & regional business information). Previously known as ABI/INFORM Complete.
Is / was a LEFT Party in power in the LEGISLATIVE BRANCH? The International Parliamentary Union's Parline Database can tell you. Go here: http://ipu.org/parline-e/parlinesearch.asp and select the country of interest (if it is a parliamentary system you will want to choose the lower house of parliament; if presidential you'll want to check both houses if there are more than 1). Then if your policy was recently passed, go to the "General Information" or "Last Election" tabs to learn more. If your policy was passed a while ago, click on "Election Archive" and then select the right time period. In many instances this source will also tell you the PERCENT WOMEN in the parliament.
If you want to know about a LEFT PARTY in the EXECUTIVE BRANCH of a contemporary case, see the CIA's World Leadership Database: https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/world-leaders-1/ For historical cases see the IPUâs Election Archive to determine who won a given election.
If you want to see how your country stacks up internationally in terms of the % WOMEN IN THE LEGISLATIVE BRANCH go to the IPU's Women in Parliaments Database (http://ipu.org/wmn-e/world.htm). From there you can either select the % women in each parliament link if your topic is contemporary. If your topic is historical click on the "Archive of Statistical Data" link and get the appropriate month/year.
If you want to know about the LEVEL OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT in a country between 1980 and the present (i.e., whether it is agrarian "low human development," industrial, or post-industrial "very high human development") you can use the UN's Human Development Index: http://hdr.undp.org/en/content/table-2-human-development-index-trends-1990%E2%80%932018. You can also learn more about the country's contemporary economy from the CIA World Factbook (https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/)
The UN also keeps GENDER RELATED DEVELOPMENT INDICES: http://hdr.undp.org/en/content/table-4-gender-development-index including measures of how much schooling girls get: http://hdr.undp.org/en/content/expected-years-schooling-females-years
To measure GENDER OPPORUNITY STRUCTURES you can use the UN's GENDER INEQUALITY INDEX: http://hdr.undp.org/en/content/table-5-gender-inequality-index-gii
To measure THE PERCENTAGE OF WOMEN IN THE WORKFORCE: http://hdr.undp.org/en/content/labour-force-participation-rate-female-male-ratio
To measure THE LEVEL OF ECONOMIC INEQUALITY in a country: http://hdr.undp.org/en/content/income-gini-coefficient
The World Bank keeps other economic statistics: http://datatopics.worldbank.org/gender/
To get public opinion data about people's BELIEFS AND VALUES about gender and other issues you can use the World Values Survey data like Inglehart and Norris did: http://www.worldvaluessurvey.org/WVSOnline.jsp
To get data on the major religion in your country go to https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/. Select your country from the drop down menu. Select “People and Society” and look for “Religions.
”If you want to find out HOW DEMOCRATIC your country is, see the Freedom House website: https://freedomhouse.org/report/freedom-world/freedom-world-2019
If you want to locate PAST VERSIONS OF WEBSITES see the Wayback Machine: https://archive.org/web/ (Enter the group’s website into the address bar and it will show you snapshots of its website over time)
Database of GENDER QUOTAS in parliaments worldwide: https://www.idea.int/data-tools/data/gender-quotas
POLITICAL PARTY PLATFORMS from many major countries are available here: https://manifesto-project.wzb.eu/ (To access the data create a free account, click on “Data” and “Explore” and then you can search by country, year, and party family to find the name of parties belonging to various party families and their most recent party platforms.)
Is there a STRONG, AUTONOMOUS FEMINIST MOVEMENT in the country? Mala Htun and Laurel Weldon have researched this issue and given scores to different countries in different years here: https://malahtun.files.wordpress.com/2015/03/htun-weldon-apsr-2012-supp-materials.pdf
Integrates over 85,000 diverse topics of data and facts from over 10,000 sources onto a single professional platform. The database provides business customers, researchers, and the academic community with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on agriculture, finance, politics, and many more areas of interest.
A guide from Bowdoin College.
How to Cite Foreign Government Public Documents and Court Cases
A guide from Purdue Owl.
How to Use Chicago Author-Date
From the Chicago Manual of Style.
State and federal cases and codes, legal news and analysis and more
- FindLaw US Code and State Statutes
Search code and statutes.
- HeinOnline Law Journal Library
The Law Journal Library in HeinOnline is a collection of more than 2,000 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most currently published issued allowed, based on contracts with publishers.