New users register here for access to SciFinder.
- WebCSD
WebCSD is the online portal to the Cambridge Structural Database (CSD), the largest repository of small molecule crystal structures. As it is a web product, WebCSD can be accessed from anywhere at any time without installation. To download or update CSD software, visit https://www.ccdc.cam.ac.uk/support-and-resources/csdsdownloads/ . For site number and confirmation code, contact salexander@miami.edu. - SciFinder-n
CAS SciFinder-n is a source for authoritatively identifying a chemical substance and its related chemical structures, chemical names, regulatory information, and properties, including CAS Registry Numbers®, reaction schemes, step-by-step experimental procedures, detailed conditions, and product yields. - Reaxys
Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions. It is built to support chemists in their daily work with focused and relevant information in chemistry. - SCOPUS
Covering the life, physical, health, and social sciences, Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources. Scopus covers: Over 15,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 international publishers, including coverage of: 500 Open Access journals, 700 Conference Proceedings, 600 Trade Publications, 125 Book Series. More than 60% of titles are from countries other than the US Abstracts go back to 1966. References go back to 1996. 80% of content is indexed with controlled vocabularies. 100% coverage of Medline, including unique Medline journals. 28 million abstract records. 245 million references added to all abstracts. Scopus also covers 250 million quality web sources, including 13 million patents. Web sources are searched via Scirus, and include author homepages, university sites and resources such as the preprint servers CogPrints and ArXiv.org, and OAI compliant resources. - Web of Science Citation Indexes
Web of Science, published by Thomson Reuters, is a multi-disciplinary database that provides integrated access to over 8,000 key research journals indexed in: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. There are two main ways to search the database: --- select General Search to search for articles by subject term, author name, journal title, or author affiliation --- select Cited Reference Search to search for articles that cite an author or article that you specify. Web of Knowledge features citation searching, email alerts, links to the full text of many items. - Writing@CSU
Excellent resource from Colorado State University. Includes guide to writing in the sciences, presenting arguments, quantitative and qualitative research methods, documenting sources, scholarly publishing and more.
James Sobczak
- STEM Librarian
- jsobczak@miami.edu
- (305) 284-4059
- American Chemical Society Web Editions
Provides access to the entire library of ACS full-text journals. ACS Journal archives allows access to 120 years of chemistry research. The online archives searches the full text of all titles published by ACS from 1879 to the present day providing seamless integration between the archives and web editions. ACS allows electronic delivery of articles in PDF format with fullscale integration with the original document. - Royal Society of Chemistry Journals
Full-text articles published in Royal Society of Chemistry journals. - ScienceDirect
Science Direct is a full text database offering journals and books from the leading scholarly publisher Elsevier. It has particular strengths in medicine and mathmatics, but its nine million articles cover a wide range of scientific topics. The collection stretches back to 1823 and includes prominent publications including The Lancet, Cell and Tetrahedron. ScienceDirect hosts over 2,500 journals and more than 33,000 books—over 13 million peer-reviewed publications (including Open Access journals) in science, technical information, and health. Note Nursing journals in Column 3 Health Sciences. - Wiley Interscience
Browse or search Wiley journals by discipline or by title or topic. - DOAJ Directory of Open Access Journals
This service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals in a multitude of languages. There are now 4898 journals in the directory. Currently 2001 journals are searchable at article level.
- Annual Reviews
The Annual Reviews service provides searchable, full text access to review articles covering biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and economics. - COS Conference Papers Index
Conference Papers Index indexes papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings worldwide. Records include complete ordering information to obtain preprints, abstracts, proceedings and other publications derived from the conference, together with title and author information needed to track the specific papers. Information is derived from final programs, abstracts booklets and published proceedings, as well as from questionnaire responses. - Digital Dissertations Online
Proquest Digital Dissertations includes more than 1.6 million doctoral dissertations and master’s theses from 1861 to the present. - Proquest: Dissertations & Theses @ University of Miami
Proquest provides access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at the University of Miami. - PubChem
PubChem is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative and provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. The resource includes substance information, compound structures, and BioActivity data that are organized into three linked databases: PCSubstance, PCCompound, and PCBioAssay. PCSubstance contains more than 180 million records. PCCompound contains more than 63 million unique structures. PCBioAssay contains more than 1 million BioAssays. Each BioAssay contains a various number of data points. The Substance/Compound database, where possible, provides links to BioAssay description, literature, references, and assay data points. The BioAssay database also includes links back to the Substance/Compound database. Integrated with Entrez, NCBI's primary search engine. PubChem also provides a fast chemical similarity search tool and allows searching by other features such as compound neighboring, sub/superstructure, similarity structure, bioactivity data, and more. - PubMed - US National Library of Medicine, NIH
Provides access to citations for biomedical articles from Medline and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles. - University of Miami Research Profiles
University of Miami Research Profiles (formerly SciVal Experts) is a tool that allows researchers to pinpoint UM biomedical faculty by their area of proficiency. - Toxnet
Collection of toxicology and environmental health databases, hazardous chemicals and toxic releases. From the U.S. National Library of Medicine
- ChemSpider
Free chemical structure database from RSC provides access to over 25 million structures, properties and associated information. Offers both structure and text searching; validated synonyms improve text search. Direct links to growing number of structures in RSC journals. - Accelrys Draw
Successor to ISIS Draw and Symyx Draw. - Marvin Sketch
Chemical editor for drawing chemical structures, queries and reactions. From ChemAxon.
- Encyclopedia of Surface and Colloid Science
Fundamental theories and recent research from biology, biochemistry, physics, applied mathematics, computer, materials, surface, and colloid science. For both expert and non-expert needing introduction to a subject. - CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
The online version of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. Contains the periodic table, basic constants and units and geophysical data. - Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary
Access through library catalog or Knovel; see link below. - Wolfram Alpha
Extensive computational resource. Compute properties of a chemical solution, balance equations, do computations using properties of chemical elements, find properties of a substance in a given phase, and more. Input example if searching by CAS no.: CAS 50-78-2. - Sigma-Aldrich Chemistry
Links to products, services and support. - CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool
Identify or confirm journal titles and abbreviations for publications indexed by CAS since 1907. Includes serial and non-serial scientific and technical publications. - Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry
Online version of Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry, Volumes 1-4. Written for a broad, cross-disciplinary audience, the Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry addresses the fundamental discipline of biological chemistry underlying virtually all of the life sciences. This compilation of more than 500 different entries encompasses all aspects of biochemistry, as well as the extensions of this subject into the related fields of molecular biology, cell biology, genetics and biophysics. Articles are generously illustrated, including more than 800 images in four-color. Each entry contains a clear, concise review of the topic along with illustrations, a glossary of technical terms and a section for additional reading. Each entry further contains general background and term definitions as well as a comprehensive review of the current research in the field. - Knovel.com
This multi-publisher electronic reference collection covers all of engineering including some computer and electrical engineering materials computer scientists may find useful.
Learn to use RefWorks -- classes will be held in the Information Literacy Lab, third floor, Richter Library upon request.
For information about using RefWorks see RefWorks Guide.
For information about using EndNote see Endnote Guide.
- ACS Style Guide (3rd ed. 2006)
From the American Chemical Society. - APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue University)
- APA Overview
Concise guide to APA from the University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center. - APA Style
From the American Psychological Association. Includes the latest guidelines for citing electronic media.
- ChemWorx
From ACS. Free reference manager, imports references and files from your existing libraries (like EndNote or Zotero). Allows sharing collections with collaborators and research groups. Has integrated search interface to a variety of science research databases. - RefWorks - Legacy
Refworks is a web based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. - EndNote
Students, faculty and staff download from the University of Miami Technology Center.
- Intellectual Property Strategy & Licensing
Formerly Office of Technology Transfer. - Patent & Copyright RoyaltiesPolicy
New users register here for access to SciFinder.
- SciFinder-n
CAS SciFinder-n is a source for authoritatively identifying a chemical substance and its related chemical structures, chemical names, regulatory information, and properties, including CAS Registry Numbers®, reaction schemes, step-by-step experimental procedures, detailed conditions, and product yields. - Reaxys
Reaxys is a web-based search and retrieval system for chemical compounds, bibliographic data and chemical reactions. It is built to support chemists in their daily work with focused and relevant information in chemistry. - Google Patent Search
Google Patents' search function is hampered by scanning errors, but if you know what you're looking for it has the best patent display available. - Free Patents Online
This website offers an easy interface and powerful search of the US Patent and Trademark Office's database. They also offer patents in pdf format if you create an account. - Japan Patent Office
- World Intellectual Property Organization (WO)
Search
Hours
Accounts
A Librarian