African American Perspectives
Materials Selected from the Rare Book Collection at the Library of Congress
Brooklyn Art Museum (BAM), Brooklyn, NY
BAM was one of the first museums in the United States to collect and exhibit the Arts of Africa.
Diaspora Vibe Cultural Arts Incubator DCVAI, Miami, FL
Diaspora Vibe Cultural Arts Incubator is committed to artists of Caribbean and diverse cultures and ensures they receive validation, visibility and professional opportunities.
Explore Artist Porfolios
With a focus on arts, entrepreneurship and social justice, Express Newark houses a variety of university and community partners offering opportunities for collaboration: college courses, internships, workshops to the public, and artist residencies.
High Art Museum, Atlanta, GA
High’s African art collection includes a diversity of art forms from ancient through contemporary times that represent the depth and breadth of the African diaspora.
Lowe Art Museum, Coral Gables, FL
Museum of Fine Arts (MFA) Houston, TX
Collections: Search “African American”
National Gallery of Art (NGA), Washington, DC
Explore a selection of works by African American artists included in the collection of the National Gallery of Art.
National Museum of African American History and Cutlure Washington, DC
The Smithsonian has launched its Open Access Initiative. Images of objects from the NMAAHC collection are now available to view, download, and share through a CC0 license.
Newark Museum of Art, Newark, NJ
The Newark Art Museum ranks among the nation's earliest and most comprehensive collections representing the breadth, diversity and vitality of artistic creativity throughout the continent of Africa. Its holdings comprise nearly 4,000 objects of ritual, ceremonial and daily use, as well as popular urban and fine arts.
Seattle Art Museum (SAM), Seattle, WA
Collections: Search “African American” and/or African
Smithsonian American Art Museum Art by African Americans (SAAM), Washington, DC.
SAAM is home to one of the most significant collections of African American art in the world, boasting more than two thousand works by more than two hundred African American artists.
The VMFA has been collecting and building its African American Art collections since 1944
Connecting local, emerging artists to new art buyers and audiences through curated exhibitions of original art and educational ventures.
Hammonds House Museum
The mission and vision of HHM is to preserve, exhibit, interpret and increase public awareness about the contributions that visual artists of African descent have made to world culture.
ZuCot Gallery Atlanta, GA
Largest African-American owned fine art gallery in the Southeast. View Exhibitions Online
The ACHAC is the nucleus of arts learning, training and access for Miami-Dade County’s African-American community.
Hy-Lo News South Florida Millenial News
This acknowledgment is one of the ways in which we work to educate ourselves about this land, its history, and our relationships with the land and each other.
Metropolitan Museum of Art, NY
Africana Studies Guide
Index of African American Artists
Thomas J. Watson Library, Metropolitan Museum of Art
African American Research Library and Cultural Center
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Amistad Research Center, Tulane University, New Orleans, LA
Collecting, preserving, and providing open access to original materials that reference the social and cultural importance of America's ethnic and racial history, the African Diaspora, human relations, and civil rights.
The Black Architects Archive
The Black Architects Archive (BAA) is a web-based, interactive repository of architectural practice that maps the genealogy of black architects from the nineteenth century to the present.
The Black Archives Miami, FL
History and Research Foundation of South Florida collecting and Preserving the history and culture of black people in Miami Dade County from 1896 to the present.
Black Art in Puerto Rico Arte Afro-Puertorriqueño
Afro-Puertorican visual arts links to resources and exhibits
Black Past, Seattle, WA
The single largest free and unrestricted resource on African American and African history on the Internet today dedicated to providing a global audience with reliable and accurate information on the history of African America and of people of African ancestry around the world.
The Fashion and Race Database
The Fashion and Race Database is an online platform filled with open-source tools that expand the narrative of fashion history and challenge mis-representation within the fashion system.
The HistoryMiami Research Center collects, safeguards, and makes accessible materials that document the Miami region, South Florida and the Caribbean.
National Archives Guide to Black History
National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) became recognized as one of the primary sources for African American historical documents.
Paul Revere Williams Architect
The Paul R. Williams Project is dedicated to expanding public knowledge about this American architect, whose extraordinary accomplishment was achieved against a background of pervasive racism in a particularly exclusionary profession.
Romare Bearden Digital Catalogue Raisonné Project
A comprehensive research tool providing access to critical archives and materials documented by the Romare Bearden Foundation to preserve the artist’s legacy.
Schomberg Center for Research in Black Culture, New York, NY.
The Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture in Harlem is one of the world’s leading cultural institutions devoted to the research, preservation, and exhibition of materials focused on African American, African Diaspora, and African experiences.
Charles “Teenie” Harris (1908–1998) photographed Pittsburgh’s African American community from ca. 1935 to ca. 1975. His archive of over 70,000 images is one of the most detailed and intimate records of the black urban experience known today.
Cooks, Bridget R. Exhibiting Blackness African Americans and the American Art Museum. University of Massachusetts Press, 2011.
Lock, Graham, et al. The Hearing Eye: Jazz & Blues Influences in African American Visual Art. Oxford University Press, 2009.
Patton, Sharon F. African-American Art. Oxford University Press, 1998.
Online journal features essays, interviews, reviews by and about African American arts.
Encyclopedia of African American Artists (Print)
- Senior Library Assistant
- Head Architecture Research Center / Art & Art History Librarian
- (305) 284-5282