The Financial Times (Digital Edition)
Note: New users must register using their University of Miami email address. Registered users may then log in on any device at FT.com
The New York Times (Digital Edition)
Visit the link above, sign in with your Cane ID and password, and register for access to NYTimes.com and NYT Apps.
The Wall Street Journal Online
Visit the link above, sign in with your Cane ID and password, and register for access to WSJ.com
New in Fall 2022
The Economist
Visit the link above, click log in, enter only your University of Miami email address, and wait to be redirected to the UM single sign-on page.
uSearch is the Library's all-purpose search engine. It accesses everything contained in the Library catalog: books, DVDs, online materials, etc.
But uSearch has more than just that. It also lists articles from thousands of journals and newspapers that the Library subscribes to. And it lists thousands of other items that the Library has digitized from our various special collections such as manuscripts, photographs, and postcards.
You can access the world of information in uSearch by using the search box in the center of the Library's web page.
Looking for help during this unusual time? Check out the resources below for assistance from the Libraries.
Ask-A-Librarian: Online research assistance. You can email or chat with library staff for help finding research.
Richter Library Remote Services: This page lists all of the available UM Libraries online services during the COVID-19 emergency.
Undergraduate Essentials: Recommended resources at the library for undergraduates, many of which are online.
Graduate Essentials: Recommended resources at the library for graduate students, many of which are online.
Ask-A-Librarian: Online research assistance. You can email or chat with library staff for help finding research.
Richter Library Remote Services: This page lists all of the available UM Libraries online services during the COVID-19 emergency.
Undergraduate Essentials: Recommended resources at the library for undergraduates, many of which are online.
Graduate Essentials: Recommended resources at the library for graduate students, many of which are online.
Hello, and welcome to the University of Miami Libraries Guide to Advertising Resources! The purpose of this guide is to help you navigate through the many advertising related resources available to you through the University of Miami Libraries system and beyond.
- Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier indexes and abstracts 3,300 business journals and provides full-text access to over 2,800 of them. - MRI Simmons
MRI Simmons offers comprehensive demographic, lifestyle, product usage and exposure to all forms of advertising media. - SRDS
Provides information on more than 100,000 national and international media properties. Includes acess to Business Publication Advertising Source; Consumer Magazine Advertising Source; Direct Marketing List Source; Newspaper Advertising Source; Radio Advertising Source; Out-of-Home Advertising Source; Interactive Advertising Source; TV and Cable Source
Terri Robar
- Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian
- trobar@miami.edu
- (305) 284-6028
We have new streaming video databases! These videos may be viewed by any UM individual or group. Attendance must be free for all group viewings outside of the classroom.
- Academic Video Online
AVON is a streaming video platform providing more than 79,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas, including anthropology, business, history, music, and more. The platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. - Films On Demand: Master Academic Package
Films On Demand is a digital video streaming service that provides educational content from a wide range of subject areas with an especially good selection of foreign films. This collection contains more than 38,000 titles in dozens of subject areas, and the platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. - Feature Films for Education
Feature Films for Education is a digital video streaming platform that offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational purposes; focusing on both current and hard-to-find titles, the collection includes literary adaptions, blockbusters, classics, foreign films, and more. Recommend Chrome browser.
For journal articles and trade publications, use Business Source Premier or ABI/Inform.
For the advertising costs in different media, use SRDS.
For demographics on consumers, use MRI Simmons. You can also map this data by using SimplyAnalytics.
For the advertising costs in different media, use SRDS.
For demographics on consumers, use MRI Simmons. You can also map this data by using SimplyAnalytics.
- ABI/INFORM Collection
ABI/INFORM Collection indexes and abstracts articles covering all aspects of business worldwide. The complete article is provided for many titles. The Collection brings together resources appearing in ABI/INFORM Global (business information worldwide), ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline (local & regional business information). Previously known as ABI/INFORM Complete. - Academic Video Online
AVON is a streaming video platform providing more than 79,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas, including anthropology, business, history, music, and more. The platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. - Adforum
View examples of real advertisements from all forms of media, including print and video, from around the world. Most of them are award winners. - Business Insights: Global
A resource for research and analysis of companies and industries around the world, featuring extensive reference content from Gale's core business collection, easy-to-use company fundamentals and investment research reports, industry rankings, profiles, market share data, and company histories. - Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier indexes and abstracts 3,300 business journals and provides full-text access to over 2,800 of them. - Films On Demand: Master Academic Package
Films On Demand is a digital video streaming service that provides educational content from a wide range of subject areas with an especially good selection of foreign films. This collection contains more than 38,000 titles in dozens of subject areas, and the platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. - MarketResearch.com Academic
MarketResearch.com Academic provides access to detailed market research from leading sources such as Kalorama Information, Packaged Facts, and Specialists in Business Information. Studies contain charts, tables, and graphs and are between 200 and 400 pages in length. Full studies are available on MarketResearch.com Academic with twelve (12) months of being made available to corporate clients. MarketLooks reports are also available and provide easy-to-read summaries of full-length reports. The reports are available within the same month of publication. - MRI Simmons
MRI Simmons offers comprehensive demographic, lifestyle, product usage and exposure to all forms of advertising media. - SimplyAnalytics
SimplyAnalytics is an Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. - SRDS
Provides information on more than 100,000 national and international media properties. Includes acess to Business Publication Advertising Source; Consumer Magazine Advertising Source; Direct Marketing List Source; Newspaper Advertising Source; Radio Advertising Source; Out-of-Home Advertising Source; Interactive Advertising Source; TV and Cable Source - Statista
This database provides statistics and market data on the media industry, including advertising, books and publishing, media usage, music, radio, television, film, video games, technology, telecommunications, and the Internet. It also covers some media companies and includes a series of media infographics.
Terri Robar
- Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian
- trobar@miami.edu
- (305) 284-6028
This file contains exercises that will guide you through all the basic functions of the system and show you how to set up your personal workspace.
SimplyAnalytics Exercise Guide
SimplyAnalytics Exercise Guide
Brandweek Directory
HF6182.U5 A39
Profiles brands, products, and services marketed in the United States for which a minimum of $250,000 is spent or is projected to be spent annually. Its main section is arranged alphabetically by brand name and for each brand includes information such as address, phone, URL, year brand established, ultimate parent organization, annual media expenditures, lead advertising agency, and key personnel. "Product Category," "Brand Marketer," and "Geographical" indexes are found at the back.
- Advertising Age Datacenter
This website provides a list of the 100 leading national advertisers. The list provides the total ad expenditures for each company. Select a company name for expenditures by media and brand. - Adforum
View examples of real advertisements from all forms of media, including print and video, from around the world. Most of them are award winners. - Winmo
(Formerly RedBooks) Provides exclusive information on North American advertisers who each spend more than $200,000 annually on advertising. Each listing includes advertising expenditures by media, current agency, fiscal year-end and annual sales, contact information on key personnel, brand name info, S.I.C. & NAICS classifications, and other key data. This resource also includes detailed profiles of advertising agencies, including accounts represented by each agency, fields of specialization, breakdown of gross billings by media, contact information on agency personnel and much more.
Terri Robar
- Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian
- trobar@miami.edu
- (305) 284-6028
- SRDS
Provides information on more than 100,000 national and international media properties. Includes acess to Business Publication Advertising Source; Consumer Magazine Advertising Source; Direct Marketing List Source; Newspaper Advertising Source; Radio Advertising Source; Out-of-Home Advertising Source; Interactive Advertising Source; TV and Cable Source
- SRDS
Provides information on more than 100,000 national and international media properties. Includes acess to Business Publication Advertising Source; Consumer Magazine Advertising Source; Direct Marketing List Source; Newspaper Advertising Source; Radio Advertising Source; Out-of-Home Advertising Source; Interactive Advertising Source; TV and Cable Source
- SRDS
Provides information on more than 100,000 national and international media properties. Includes acess to Business Publication Advertising Source; Consumer Magazine Advertising Source; Direct Marketing List Source; Newspaper Advertising Source; Radio Advertising Source; Out-of-Home Advertising Source; Interactive Advertising Source; TV and Cable Source - Advertising Age Datacenter
This website provides a list of the 100 leading national advertisers. The list provides the total ad expenditures for each company. Select a company name for expenditures by media and brand.
- SRDS newspaper advertising source
Provides detailed advertising rates offered by newspapers, organized by state and city.
For regional television ad rates, take the SQAD cost-per-point (in US$) for market and multiply it by the Nielsen rating for the program that airs at the same time. That will equal the cost of the ad.
The SQAD cost-per-point can be found in the SRDS. Go to TV & Cable Media. Just to the right of the list of cities or DMAs is a link called DMA Maps and Profiles. Click on that link and then select the profile for the city that you need. DO NOT choose the link at the top of the TV & Cable Media page labeled DMA Profiles & Maps; that takes you to different profiles.
To find the Nielsen rating for the show during which the ad will air, go to Nielsen.com. Nielsen does not allow more than the top 10 shows to be posted on the Internet or any other free source. Once at their site, click on TopTen at the top of the page.
To find ad rates for the national market, use Advertising Age annual fall prime-time pricing survey. This give the full price of a 30-second spot. What if you don't want a 30-second spot? Multiply the cost of the ad by .50 for a 10-second spot, .60 to .80 for a 15-second spot or 2.0 for a 60-second spot.
Similarly,for radio ad rates take the SQAD cost-per-point (in US$) for market and multiply it by the Neilsen rating for the station. That will equal the cost of the ad.
- SRDS TV & Cable Source
For regional television ad rates, take the SQAD cost-per-point (in US$) for market and multiply it by the Nielsen rating for the program that airs at the same time. That will equal the cost of the ad. Use SRDS TV & Cable Source to find regional ad rates. First, look at the regional market that you're researching. The Market Profile, linked in the left column, contains the daypart and the corresponding SQAD cost-per-point amount for the market. The dayparts are defined as: Prime Access (6 - 7 PM), Prime (7 - 10 PM), Late News (10 - 10:30 PM) and Late Fringe (10:30 PM - 12 AM). To find the Nielsen rating for the show during which the ad will air, check the weekly Broadcasting and Cable (http://ibisweb.miami.edu/record=b3066214) issue for the numbers. - SRDS Radio Advertising Source
For radio ad rates, take the SQAD cost-per-point (in US$) for market and multiply it by the Arbitron rating for the station. That will equal the cost of the ad. Use the SRDS Radio Advertising Source to estimate ad costs. First, look at the regional market that you're researching. The SQAD Spot Radio Cost-Per-Point Estimates, linked in the left column, contains the daypart and the corresponding SQAD cost-per-point amount for the market.The dayparts are defined as: AM (6 - 10 AM), Day (10 - 3 PM), PM (3 - 7 PM) and Evening (7 PM - 12 AM). To find the Arbitron rating for the radio station, check out Radio and Records (http://www.radioandrecords.com/RRWebSite/) and click on Ratings in the top navigational bar. After searching for the market name, you will be given Arbitron ratings for the previous five quarters.
Terri Robar
- Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian
- trobar@miami.edu
- (305) 284-6028
SRDS contains information on international newspapers as well as business and consumer publication.
- SRDS
Provides information on more than 100,000 national and international media properties. Includes acess to Business Publication Advertising Source; Consumer Magazine Advertising Source; Direct Marketing List Source; Newspaper Advertising Source; Radio Advertising Source; Out-of-Home Advertising Source; Interactive Advertising Source; TV and Cable Source
Search for information about your brand by using the library's databases.
- Business Insights: Global
A resource for research and analysis of companies and industries around the world, featuring extensive reference content from Gale's core business collection, easy-to-use company fundamentals and investment research reports, industry rankings, profiles, market share data, and company histories. - Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier indexes and abstracts 3,300 business journals and provides full-text access to over 2,800 of them. - MarketResearch.com Academic
MarketResearch.com Academic provides access to detailed market research from leading sources such as Kalorama Information, Packaged Facts, and Specialists in Business Information. Studies contain charts, tables, and graphs and are between 200 and 400 pages in length. Full studies are available on MarketResearch.com Academic with twelve (12) months of being made available to corporate clients. MarketLooks reports are also available and provide easy-to-read summaries of full-length reports. The reports are available within the same month of publication.
- MRI Simmons
MRI Simmons offers comprehensive demographic, lifestyle, product usage and exposure to all forms of advertising media. - MarketResearch.com Academic
MarketResearch.com Academic provides access to detailed market research from leading sources such as Kalorama Information, Packaged Facts, and Specialists in Business Information. Studies contain charts, tables, and graphs and are between 200 and 400 pages in length. Full studies are available on MarketResearch.com Academic with twelve (12) months of being made available to corporate clients. MarketLooks reports are also available and provide easy-to-read summaries of full-length reports. The reports are available within the same month of publication.
Terri Robar
- Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian
- trobar@miami.edu
- (305) 284-6028
- European Public Opinion
This is the web site for the Public Opinion Analysis sector of the European Commission. - Gallup Organization
Provides market research and consulting services around the world. Publisher of the Gallup Poll, a widely recognized barometer of American opinion. - iPOLL
iPOLL's online database contains survey results from academic, commercial and media survey organizations. iPOLL is a source for US nationwide public opinion. A full-text retrieval system, iPOLL is organized at the question-level providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys since 1935. - Polling Report
The web site for the bi-weekly newsletter Polling Report. This site provides polls from over 36 sources, including Gallup, Harris, Pew Research, and media organizations. Recent polls are listed in the center of the homepage. - Polling The Nations
The ultimate resource for polling information is Polling the Nations with more than 400,000 questions including the work of 700 polling organizations. Each question in international, state, local and special polls is listed under one of 4,500 topics. Polling the Nations is the most comprehensive collection of public opinion, with information from not only in the United States but also more than 90 countries around the world. The database includes the full text of the questions and responses covering a broad range of issues. Polling the Nations began in 1981 as a database of American Public Opinion Index. Over the years the database expanded to include surveys from more than 90 other countries in Europe, Canada, Mexico, Africa, and Asia in an electronic format. Polling the Nations has collected more than 500,000 questions from an amazing array of sources. There are 5000 topics in the Polling the Nations database. No other source even approaches this number. The subjects cover myriad issues such as gun control, abortion, government, women, race relations, the economy and children. In addition to these recurring themes, episodic events such as the Clinton impeachment, the 2000 vote count in Florida and the September 11 attacks are added in a timely fashion.
Terri Robar
- Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian
- trobar@miami.edu
- (305) 284-6028
You can also contact Doris Jui, Buisness Librarian, if you have in-depth questions regarding company information. She may be reached at:
Phone: 305-284-6516
Email: Doris Jui
In-person: Judi Prokop Newman Information Resource Center (in the School of Business)
See also: Business Research Guides
- Business Insights: Global
A resource for research and analysis of companies and industries around the world, featuring extensive reference content from Gale's core business collection, easy-to-use company fundamentals and investment research reports, industry rankings, profiles, market share data, and company histories. - Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier indexes and abstracts 3,300 business journals and provides full-text access to over 2,800 of them. - Mergent Online
Provides Mergent business and industry reports. - Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage
Broad spectrum of industry, company and investment analysis. Industry data sets (see Markets tab in menu) include key ratios, benchmarks, constituents, financial metrics, etc. by sub-industry or geography. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private companies and 97% of worldwide publicly traded market capitalization. Historical stock price charting and screening tools also provided.
Terri Robar
- Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian
- trobar@miami.edu
- (305) 284-6028
Market share is definted as the "percentage of industry sales of a particular company or product" (Barron's Dictionary of Business Terms. 2000, 3rd ed.).
Market share is not formally collected. Some companies track their own market shares and report it in Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) filings like the 10-Ks or their Annual Report to Shareholders.
- Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier indexes and abstracts 3,300 business journals and provides full-text access to over 2,800 of them. - the Market Share Reporter in the Business Insights: Essentials database
BIE contains information from the Market Share Reporter. After a company search, click on Rankings. If a market share analysis was completed on the company of your choice, a sub-tab labeled Market Share will be available. You can also search by industry.
Terri Robar
- Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian
- trobar@miami.edu
- (305) 284-6028
Advertising in America: the first 200 years
HF5813.U6 G64 1990 (Richter Reference)
The first two chapters provide a brief history of the whole topic. Successive chapters focus on a specific kind of product or theme, as reflected in chapter titles: Cereal, Soap and Sex; The Great Names; Cosmetics; Automobiles; Cigarettes; Underwear; Art, Artists and Illustrators; Gender Change; Advertising in the Service of the Community.
- John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising, and Marketing History
A part of the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library of Duke University, the Hartman Center is one of the nation's preeminent programs for the study of sales, advertising, and marketing. - Ad*Access
Ad*Access presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955. - Emergence of Advertising in America (Duke University)
- Adflip
The world's largest archive of classic print and magazine ads. Limited free and open access materials.
Terri Robar
- Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian
- trobar@miami.edu
- (305) 284-6028
- SRDS
Provides information on more than 100,000 national and international media properties. Includes acess to Business Publication Advertising Source; Consumer Magazine Advertising Source; Direct Marketing List Source; Newspaper Advertising Source; Radio Advertising Source; Out-of-Home Advertising Source; Interactive Advertising Source; TV and Cable Source - Business Insights: Global
A resource for research and analysis of companies and industries around the world, featuring extensive reference content from Gale's core business collection, easy-to-use company fundamentals and investment research reports, industry rankings, profiles, market share data, and company histories. - MarketResearch.com Academic
MarketResearch.com Academic provides access to detailed market research from leading sources such as Kalorama Information, Packaged Facts, and Specialists in Business Information. Studies contain charts, tables, and graphs and are between 200 and 400 pages in length. Full studies are available on MarketResearch.com Academic with twelve (12) months of being made available to corporate clients. MarketLooks reports are also available and provide easy-to-read summaries of full-length reports. The reports are available within the same month of publication. - PAIS International
Terri Robar
- Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian
- trobar@miami.edu
- (305) 284-6028
Clio Awards (on DVD)
Nonfiction HF 6146 .T42
The Clio Awards is the world’s most recognized global awards competition for advertising, design, and interactive. There are several years of the award winning ads in the DVD collection.
Epica book : European advertising annual
NC998.6 .E87E64
Compiled from the winners, finalists and entrants of the Epica Awards for creative achievement in European advertising.
HF5816 .C55
This is an annual of the best advertising and design. It includes all the winners in Television, Radio, Design, Print, Poster, Billboard, Innovative Media, Internet, Integrated Campaign and Student categories.
NC1001.5 .O53
One of the most comprehensive compendium of creative advertising, the One Show Annuals set the industry standard for advertising and design. The print annuals feature all of the winners from the international awards shows.
HF6146.T42 G86
The Gunn Report & Showreel of the Year document the 100 most-awarded commercials and campaigns of the year. It combines the winners' lists from all of the major advertising award contests in the world--national, regional and global.
HF 5801 .N447
New York Festivals is an International Awards Group (IAG) Company. The annual is a hardback, full color book featuring the winning work (inc. Finalists) in the NYF Design and Print Advertising Awards, The Global Awards for Healthcare Communications, and The Midas Awards for Financial Services Communications.
Terri Robar
- Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian
- trobar@miami.edu
- (305) 284-6028
- American Advertising Federation
A trade association representing 50,000 industry professionals and a nationally coordinated network of advertisers, agencies, media companies, ad clubs and college chapters. Most areas of the site require membership for access. - American Association of Advertising Agencies
The national trade association representing the advertising agency business in the United States. Its membership produces approximately 75 percent of the total advertising volume placed by agencies nationwide. - Association of National Advertisers
A leading industry organization. Provides mostly proprietary resources so membership is required to access most of the useful portions of their site. - Interactive Advertising Bureau
Primary organization for interactive media advertising, including online, Interactive broadcasting, email, wireless and Interactive television media. - Out of Home Advertising Association of America
A trade association representing the outdoor advertising industry and dedicated to promoting, protecting and advancing outdoor advertising interests in the U.S. Strategic focus is on government relations, marketing, communications, membership, and operations.
Terri Robar
- Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian
- trobar@miami.edu
- (305) 284-6028
- RefWorks
Refworks is a web based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases.
- Plagiarism: What It is and How to Recognize and Avoid It
Indiana University Writing Tutorial Services - Avoiding Plagiarism
The OWL at Purdue University - How to avoid plagiarism
The University of Wisconsin Writing Center
Terri Robar
- Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian
- trobar@miami.edu
- (305) 284-6028
Terri Robar
- Communication, Media, Geography, and Maps Librarian
- trobar@miami.edu
- (305) 284-6028
Search
Hours
Accounts
A Librarian