Barnes Foundation, Philadelphia, PA
The Barnes Foundation houses one of the world's greatest collections of modern European paintings that includes works by Cezanne, Renoir, Matisse Picasso, Modigliani and Van Gogh. It also features Arfican Art, Native American Ceramics, and Greek Antiquities.
Guggenheim Museum New York, NY
Featuring over 1,700 artworks by more than 625 artists, the Collection Online presents a searchable database of selected artworks from the Guggenheim’s permanent collection of approximately 8,000 artworks. The selection reflects the breadth, diversity, and tenor of the foundation’s extensive holdings from the late 19th century through the present day.
Highlights include not only the largest Munch collection outside of Norway and Alberto Giacometti's most extensive collection of works, but also outstanding paintings of Impressionism and classical modernism - from Picasso, Monet and Chagall to Beckmann, Kokoschka and Corinth.
Menil Collection Houston, TX
In addition to renowned Surrealist painting, sculpture, and drawing, the museum is a good place to encounter work by artists active in Paris—early modern examples include pictures by Georges Seurat, James Ensor, and Pablo Picasso, and prominent practices after World War II are represented by Fernand Léger, Jean Fautrier, Jean Dubuffet, et al.
Modern Art Museum, Fort Worth, TX
The Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth is dedicated to collecting, presenting, and interpreting international developments in post–World War II art in all media.
Musee d'Orsay (M'O) Paris, FR
M'O features the great diversity of artistic creation in the western world between 1848 and 1914.
Museum of Modern Art MoMA,NY
Evolving collection contains almost 200,000 works of modern and contemporary art. More than 86,000 available online.
Museum of Modern Art SFMoMA
The San Francisco Museum of Modern Art is one of the largest museums of modern and contemporary art in the United States
Museum of Modern & Contemporary Art (MAMCO) Geneva
Peggy Guggenheim Collection Venice, IT
Peggy Guggenheim's spectacular personal collection is one of the most important museums of European and American art of the twentieth century in Italy.
Whitney Museum of Art, NY
More than 25,000 works of American Art from the twentieth century to today.
Murrell, Denise. “African Influences in Modern Art.” In Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History. New York: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2000–. http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/aima/hd_aima.htm (April 2008)
A comprehensive resourse for art information that covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
Art Index Retrospective 1929-1984
Contains hundreds of titles from feature articles, interviews, film reviews, book reviews, bibliographies, exhibition listings, conference reports, anthologies, and editorials. Coverage includes fine, decorative and commercial art.
Bibliography of the History of Art
BHA and RILA cover European and American visual arts material published between 1975 and 2007.
Approximately 165 art, architectural history, and archaeology titles are included.
Oxford Art Online
Best place to start searching artists, periods, topics.
Worldcat Online Catalog
Users are required to authenticate with their CaneID.
Duchamp Research Portal
This cross-cultrual and multilingual portal provices free access to more than 18,000 documents and artworks, comprising nearly 50,000 digitized images related to the work and life of Marcel Duchamp. It is the outcome of a seven-year partnership between the Philadelphia Museum of Art, the Association Marcel Duchamp, and the Centre Pompidou.
MoMA Learning / Modern Art
Getty Research Portal
Free online search platform and multilingual union catalog provides access to an extensive collection of digitized art history texts from a range of institutions.
Beginner's guide with key concepts
Museum of Modern Art, NY
Explore MoMA’s research library, archives, projects, workshops, and program affiliates.
Free cultural and educational media on the web.
Wildenstein Platner Institute (WPI)
The WPI Digital Archives provides access to significant primary sources and research materials compiled by the historic Wildenstein Institute for the writing of catalogues raisonnés on major French artists of the 18th and early 20th centuries.
Art History *
Art in America
Art Journal Open College Art Association (CAA)
Flash Art International
Dadi, Iftikhar. Modernism and the Art of Muslim South Asia. University of North Carolina Press, 2010.
Kramer, Hilton. The Triumph of Modernism: the Art World, 1987-2005. Rowman & Littlefield, 2013.
- Senior Library Assistant
- Head Architecture Research Center / Art & Art History Librarian
- (305) 284-5282