Research Guides

MKT201 - Introduction to Marketing


Business Library Hours
January 2019 Hours (Jan. 2 - Jan. 13)
Mon - Fri.            9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

Spring 2019 Hours (Jan. 14 - April 26)
Mon - Thurs.      7:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Friday                7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

2019 Spring Break Hours (March 9 - 17)
Mon - Fri.            9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

Spring 2019 Final Exam Hours (April 27 - May 8)
Mon - Thurs.      7:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Friday                7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday            7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Sunday              12:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.


 

 




 
Welcome
MKT201 is a required class for all business students at the MBS. In this course, you will learn the application and analysis of the fundamental theories and practices of marketing. 

The course project consists of your group selecting a company and conducting a company and expansion analysis. A main part of the project is introducing a new product or service and defining the appropriate target market for that service. 
IRC's Research Advisor @ Miami Business School
My name is Rachel McMullen and I am research advisor at the Miami Business School Information Resource Center. Through this guide, I have compiled a list of databases that can assist students in their Introduction to Marketing class as they complete their company group project. 
How to Pick the Best Company for Your Project
Nexis Uni: View the latest news on your company and see how well it will fit in with your project's goals. 

Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage: Access business descriptions, quick cash flow analysis, company summaries and executives, and much more to determine whether your company is the right fit for your project. 
Business Library Hours
Spring 2019 Hours (Jan. 14 - April 26)
Mon - Thurs.      7:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Friday                7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

2019 Spring Break Hours (March 9 - 17)
Mon - Fri.            9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

Spring 2019 Final Exam Hours (April 27 - May 8)
Mon - Thurs.      7:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Friday                7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday            7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Sunday              12:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.

2019 Summer Hours (May 9 - August 18)
Mon - Fri.            9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED
 

 




 
Company Information
Business Insights Global: This database provides an in-depth company profile with company chronology, history, key financials and statistics, and market share and investment reports. This is a great database to get a general overview of your selected company. 

Mergent Online: Provides key financial information and outlines shareholder and executive ownership information. You can also read the latest current new reports under the News tab. 

 
Business Library Hours
Spring 2019 Hours (Jan. 14 - April 26)
Mon - Thurs.      7:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Friday                7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

2019 Spring Break Hours (March 9 - 17)
Mon - Fri.            9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

Spring 2019 Final Exam Hours (April 27 - May 8)
Mon - Thurs.      7:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Friday                7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday            7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Sunday              12:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.

2019 Summer Hours (May 9 - August 18)
Mon - Fri.            9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED
 

 




 
Company Financials
Thomson One Banker (Not accessible via a Macbook.  Use the IE browser on a PC.):  This database provides extensive financial information including financial statements, financial and growth ratios, technical analysis and performance reports. 

Mergent Online: Provides thorough financial information including all financial statements, ratios, and analyses. Also included is information on long-term debt and capital stock under the company overview tab. Mergent, industry, annual, and equity reports allow you to compare financial details within the company or across the industry. 

Morningstar Investment Research Center: This database provides a clearly laid out overview of stock and dividend analysis and key ratios. You can also see the company's historical performance on the stock market and compare valuation within the company and see Wall Street estimates on the company. 
Business Library Hours
Spring 2019 Hours (Jan. 14 - April 26)
Mon - Thurs.      7:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Friday                7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

2019 Spring Break Hours (March 9 - 17)
Mon - Fri.            9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

Spring 2019 Final Exam Hours (April 27 - May 8)
Mon - Thurs.      7:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Friday                7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday            7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Sunday              12:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.

2019 Summer Hours (May 9 - August 18)
Mon - Fri.            9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED
 

 




 
SWOT Reports
Business Insights Global: This database provides quick access to SWOT reports by searching for the desired company on the main page. General overviews of company history, financials, and more are also provided. 

Business Source Premier: This database also provides access to SWOT reports by filtering your search to have 'SWOT analysis' in the title.
Business Library Hours
Spring 2019 Hours (Jan. 14 - April 26)
Mon - Thurs.      7:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Friday                7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

2019 Spring Break Hours (March 9 - 17)
Mon - Fri.            9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

Spring 2019 Final Exam Hours (April 27 - May 8)
Mon - Thurs.      7:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Friday                7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday            7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Sunday              12:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.

2019 Summer Hours (May 9 - August 18)
Mon - Fri.            9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED
 

 




 
In-person research assistance
If you are experiencing any difficulty in selecting a company or locating company data, contact the Business Library at 305.284.6516.  Individual appointments can be setup with any member of the Business Library.

The Business Library, formally known as the Judi Prokop Newman Information Resource Center, is located on the 4th floor of the Miami Business School's Aresty Building.
Business Library Hours
Spring 2019 Hours (Jan. 14 - April 26)
Mon - Thurs.      7:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Friday                7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

2019 Spring Break Hours (March 9 - 17)
Mon - Fri.            9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

Spring 2019 Final Exam Hours (April 27 - May 8)
Mon - Thurs.      7:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Friday                7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday            7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Sunday              12:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.

2019 Summer Hours (May 9 - August 18)
Mon - Fri.            9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED
 

 




 

Powered by SubjectsPlus