There are many different kinds of materials described on this page. To see all that the library has to offer for a specific category, use the USearch box above.
Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type “MAPS”, “GUIDEBOOKS”, “FEATURE FILMS”, or “DOCUMENTARY” and the name of a country in the blank box and hit Enter.
Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type “MAPS”, “GUIDEBOOKS”, “FEATURE FILMS”, or “DOCUMENTARY” and the name of a country in the blank box and hit Enter.
Another database that provides information about places is the Columbia Gazetteer of the World. It includes articles about Spain and individual cities.
Spain
Madrid
The Libraries also have a lot of documentaries about other countries. These are also in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.
To see a list of films on your country of choice, use the Usearch box in the right-hand column. Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type DOCUMENTARY SPAIN in the blank box and hit Enter.
Once you get your results, look down the left-hand column. Under Location, choose DVD-Non-fiction.
A sample of what we have includes:
Le Mystè̀re Picasso = The Mystery of Picasso
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
Even when you are abroad, there are librarians available to help you and library materials that you can use.
Many of the materials here at the UM Libraries are available online from anywhere in the world.You may use the Usearch box on this page to search for books, articles, and other items. By going to the UM Libraries home page, you can also access our other databases.
Even though we're miles apart, we'd still like to help if we can. Feel free to use our Ask-A-Librarian service. Just remember to allow for any time difference.
Also, as a student at your university in Spain, you can use their library as well. Be sure to check it out!
Many of the materials here at the UM Libraries are available online from anywhere in the world.You may use the Usearch box on this page to search for books, articles, and other items. By going to the UM Libraries home page, you can also access our other databases.
Even though we're miles apart, we'd still like to help if we can. Feel free to use our Ask-A-Librarian service. Just remember to allow for any time difference.
Also, as a student at your university in Spain, you can use their library as well. Be sure to check it out!
This page contains materials that are available to students and faculty who are involved with the Study Abroad program in Spain.
The information listed here as well as the flag and map images on this page were found in the Britannica Academic database. To see the full article, click here.
Official name: Reino de España (Kingdom of Spain)
Capital city: Madrid
National language: Castilian (Spanish)
Major religion: Roman Catholic
- Brush up on your language skills or learn a new language
- 72 languages are available, including European Spanish
- Watch movies with subtitles
- Practice on the go with the mobile app (available through the database for Apple and Android)
Log on here!
Here are a few titles that we recommend for reading. Many others are available in the USearch system.
Nonfiction
Barcelona by Robert Hughes
Barcelona: A Thousand Years of the City's Past by Felipe Fernandez-Armesto
The Basque History of the World by Mark Kurlansky
The Battle for Spain by Antony Beevor
Discovering Spain: An Uncommon Guide by Penelope Casas
Driving Over Lemons by Chris Stewart
Following the Milky Way: a Pilgrimage on the Camino de Santiago by Elyn Aviva
Ghosts of Spain by Giles Tremlett
Hell and Good Company: The Spanish Civil War and the World It Made by Richard Rhodes
Homage to Catalonia by George Orwell
Iberia: Spanish Travels and Reflections by James Michener
The New Spaniards by John Hooper
The Ornament of the World: How Muslims, Jews, and Christians Created a Culture of Tolerance in Medieval Spain by Maria Rosa Menocal
Sister Queens: The Noble, Tragic Lives of Katherine of Aragon and Juana, Queen of Castile by Julia Fox
South from Granada by Gerald Brenan
Spain: True Stories (Travelers' Tales) by Lucy McCauley
Fiction
The Alhambra by Washington Irving (ebooks)
English Spanish
Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra (ebook)
For Whom the Bell Tolls by Ernest Hemingway
The Heretic by Lewis Weinstein
The Last Jew by Noah Gordon
The Queen's Vow: a Novel of Isabella of Castile by C.W. Gortner (ebook)
The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway
Nonfiction
Barcelona by Robert Hughes
Barcelona: A Thousand Years of the City's Past by Felipe Fernandez-Armesto
The Basque History of the World by Mark Kurlansky
The Battle for Spain by Antony Beevor
Discovering Spain: An Uncommon Guide by Penelope Casas
Driving Over Lemons by Chris Stewart
Following the Milky Way: a Pilgrimage on the Camino de Santiago by Elyn Aviva
Ghosts of Spain by Giles Tremlett
Hell and Good Company: The Spanish Civil War and the World It Made by Richard Rhodes
Homage to Catalonia by George Orwell
Iberia: Spanish Travels and Reflections by James Michener
The New Spaniards by John Hooper
The Ornament of the World: How Muslims, Jews, and Christians Created a Culture of Tolerance in Medieval Spain by Maria Rosa Menocal
Sister Queens: The Noble, Tragic Lives of Katherine of Aragon and Juana, Queen of Castile by Julia Fox
South from Granada by Gerald Brenan
Spain: True Stories (Travelers' Tales) by Lucy McCauley
Fiction
The Alhambra by Washington Irving (ebooks)
English Spanish
Don Quixote by Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra (ebook)
For Whom the Bell Tolls by Ernest Hemingway
The Heretic by Lewis Weinstein
The Last Jew by Noah Gordon
The Queen's Vow: a Novel of Isabella of Castile by C.W. Gortner (ebook)
Stories from Spain = Historias de España by Genevieve Barlow and William Stivers
The Sun Also Rises by Ernest Hemingway
- Plan your free time!
- Large collection in the Richter Library
- These can be borrowed
Spain (Lonely Planet)
Living Abroad in Spain
Road Of Stars To Santiago
One way to brush up on your language skills is by watching foreign language movies. Movies are also a good way to learn about a country.
We have a large selection available in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.
Here are a few examples of what we have:
Abre Los Ojos = Open Your Eyes
L'Auberge Espagnole
Barcelona
Carlos Saura's Flamenco Trilogy
Bodas de Sangre = Blood Wedding
Carmen
El Amor Brujo
El Cid
Goya's Ghosts (streaming)
Juana la Loca = Mad Love
El Laberinto del Fauno = Pan's Labyrinth
Man of La Mancha
Manuale d'Amore = The Manual of Love
Mujeres al Borde de un Ataque de Nervios = Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown
Ocho Apellidos Vascos = Spanish Affair
El Viaje de Carol = Carol's Journey
or Streaming
Vicky Cristina Barcelona
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
Search
Hours
Accounts
A Librarian