University of Miami Sliver-logo
Research Guides

History of the United States

Collection Description
The Libraries at UM have a vast collection of primary documents and reference sources that highlight all aspects of American history such as the American War of Independence or the 1960s Civil Rights era. The Libraries’ also have specific guides on the American Civil War and Confederacy and the African American Diaspora and experience. In addition to materials relating to current American history, the Libraries also have an extensive collection of databases and resources that highlight the rich history of Miami and South Florida.

General Database Resources
Subject Specialist

Shatha Baydoun

Select Visual Resources
  • America's Historical Imprints
    Contains monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera. Available here: Civil War Broadsides and Ephemera; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819.
  • ARTstor
    ARTstor consists of a repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data including the tools to actively use those images and a restricted-usage environment that seeks to balance the rights of content providers with the needs and interests of content users. The ARTstor collections are comprised of contributions from museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives. All images are accompanied by comprehensive metadata and are rights-cleared for educational use.
  • Associated Press Images Collection
    More than 12 million photographs dating back to 1826, more than 36,000 audio sound bites, and more than 340,000 professionally-produced graphics. Coverage spans over 185 years, with more than 3,500 photos added daily.
  • Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers' Project
    This collection comprises, in its entirety, the Primary Source Media microfilm collection Archives of the Federal Writers Project: Printed and Mimeographed Publications in the Surviving Federal Writers Project Files, 1933-1943.
  • United States Geological Survey Map Locator
    Allows people to find the topographic maps they need, by searching zip code, address, or navigating on an interactive map. Users can see satellite imagery or a seamless USGS topographic map view, order printed maps or download a scanned map image. Paper copies of many of these maps are available in our General Map Collection.
Subject Specialist

Shatha Baydoun

Africa and African American Diaspora
The University Libraries has an extensive collection of material relating the African diaspora and the African-American experience. Items in the collection explore the African diaspora within various lenses and methodolgies such as literature, music, newspapers, and popular culture.
 

Powered by SubjectsPlus