Denmark

Another database that provides information about places is the Columbia Gazetteer of the World. It includes articles about Argentina and individual cities.

Denmark

Copenhagen

 

The Libraries also have a lot of documentaries about other countries. These are also in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.

To see a list of films on your country of choice, use the Usearch box in the right-hand column. Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type DOCUMENTARY DENMARK in the blank box and hit Enter.

Once you get your results, look down the left-hand column. Under Location, choose DVD-Non-fiction.

A sample of what we have includes:



Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
 

This page contains materials that are available to students and faculty who are involved with the Study Abroad program in Denmark.

The information listed here as well as the flag and map images on this page were found in the Britannica Academic database. To see the full article, click here.

Official name: Kongeriget Danmark (Kingdom of Denmark)

Capital city: Copenhagen

National language: Danish

Major religion: Protestant Christian


 

• Brush up on your language skills or learn a new language
• 72 languages are available, including Danish
• Watch movies with subtitles
• Practice on the go with the mobile app (available through the database for Apple and Android)

Log on here!

Here are a few titles that we recommend for reading. Many others are available in the USearch system.

Conquered, Not Defeated: Growing Up in Denmark During the German Occupation of World War II by Peter Tveskov

The Fairy Tale of My Life by Hans Christian Andersen

Hans Christian Andersen: A New Life by Jens Andersen

A History of Scandinavia: Norway, Sweden, Denmark, Finland, and Iceland by T.K. Derry

The Little Book About Hygge by Meik Wiking

The Little Mermaid: and Other Stories by Hans Christian Andersen (ebook)

Music and Silence by Rose Tremain

Scandinavia Since 1500 by Byron J. Nordstrom

Scandinavian Folk & Fairy Tales by Claire Booss

Smilla's Sense of Snow by Peter Høeg

The Vikings by Else Roesdahl

We, the Drowned by Carsten Jensen

The Year of Living Danishly by Helen Russell

 

• Plan your free time!
• Large collection in the Richter Library
• These can be borrowed

Some of the titles we have are:

Denmark (Lonely Planet)

Pocket rough guide. Copenhagen

Copenhagen & the Best of Denmark Alive! (ebook)
 

Even when you are abroad, there are librarians available to help you and library materials that you can use.

Many of the materials here at the UM Libraries are available online from anywhere in the world.You may use the Usearch box on this page to search for books, articles, and other items. By going to the UM Libraries home page, you can also access our other databases.

Even though we're miles apart, we'd still like to help if we can. Feel free to use our Ask-A-Librarian service. Just remember to allow for any time difference.

Also, as a student at your university in Denmark, you can use their library as well. Be sure to check it out!

One way to brush up on your language skills is by watching foreign language movies. We have a large selection available in our DVD collection. Also, be sure to check out Academic Videos Online and Films on Demand, our streaming video services.

Here are a few examples of what we have:

Babettes Gæstebud - Babette's Feast

Hans Christian Andersen

These are based on the fairy tales of Hans Christian Andersen:

The Little Match Girl

The Little Mermaid

Once Upon a Mattress (The Princess & the Pea)

Ponyo (The Little Mermaid)

The Red Shoes

Ugly Duckling

Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.