Computer Science

Hello and welcome to the Computer Science Research Guide! You will find information on how to get started with your research along with available resources at the University of Miami Libraries and beyond. Click on the different tabs at the top of the guide to learn more on each topic. Throughout this guide there are sections labelled, "Diverse Voices." There is a lack of diversity in STEM and the "Diverse Voices" sections highlight resources/contributions from underrepresented groups as well as information regarding the lack of representation in STEM. This guide is not exhaustive and if you find resources you think would be a great addition or if you have questions please email me.

Ready to start searching?
uSearch allows you to discover materials from all University of Miami Libraries.

Need help with uSearch?
The uSearch Guide will help you with searching.

Not finding what you want in uSearch?
Through an interlibrary loan you can borrow items outside of UM.

Is the library open?
Different library hours are posted on this page.

Off Campus?
A Virtual Private Network (VPN) will let you connect to resources while away.

Are you an undergraduate?
Undergraduate Essentials includes recommended resources at the library for undergraduates, many of which are online.

Are you a graduate?
Graduate Essentials has recommended resources at the library for graduate students, many of which are online.

Are you faculty?
Faculty Essentials includes recommended resources at the library for faculty, many of which are online.

Email: askalibrarian@miami.edu
Text: 305-809-7770

Ajay Bhatt
Andrea Delgado-Olson
Valerie Taylor
Alan Turing
Luis von Ahn
Women in STEM


 

Image credit: Tejaswini27 (changes made)

There are different article types found in the below databases and eJournal collections.
 

• Peer-reviewed: Procedure where scholarly work is evaluated by experts of the same discipline against a set of criteria to ensure that it meets certain standards necessary for publication.
• Preprint: A version of a scientific manuscript posted on a public server prior to peer review. 
• Scholarly: Written by academics and other experts and contributes to knowledge in a particular subject by sharing new research findings, theories, analyses, insights, news, or summaries of current knowledge.

• Web of Science Citation Indexes
  Multi-disciplinary database that provides integrated access to over 8,000 key research journals indexed in: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
• SCOPUS
  Scopus also covers 250 million quality web sources, including 13 million patents.
• ArXiv: Computing Research Repository (CoRR)
  Established in 1998 through a partnership of the Association for Computing Machinery, the Networked Computer Science Technical Reference Library, and arXiv.
• ACM Digital Library
  Full-text access to a variety of journals and conference proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery. Note: The Richter Library subscription does not include full text access to the ACM Proceeding and SIG newsletter articles.
• Science Direct
  Explore scientific, technical, and medical research.
• Google Scholar @ UM
  Search Google Scholar with direct links to University of Miami Library Resources. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.
• Full List of Computer Science Databases
  

• Ebook Central (ProQuest)
  eBooks from well-regarded publishers and scholarly sources, including University Presses.
• Ebook Collection (EBSCOHost)
  eBooks from well-regarded publishers and scholarly sources across many disciplines.
• Research Methods (Sage)
  Online collection of ebooks focusing on research methods across many disciplines.
• Wiley Online Library
  Multidisciplinary collection of online resources.

• AccessScience
  Online encyclopedic resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines.
• Oxford Reference Online
  Specialized subject dictionaries available in a wide range of disciplines.
• Synthesis
  Synthesis is an information service for the research, development and educational communities in engineering and computer science. The basic component of the library is a 50 to 100 page electronic book that synthesizes a research or development topic, authored by a contributor to the field. Synthesis is organized by series, each managed by a consulting editor. The series editor oversees lecture topic and author selection as well as peer review to assure quality.

• Advancing educational outcomes in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics at historically Black colleges and universities
• the Building gender equity in the academy : institutional strategies for change
• Diversifying STEM : Multidisciplinary Perspectives on Race and Gender
• Diversity and Equity in Science Education : Research, Policy, and Practice
• A Success Strategies from Women in STEM: A Portable Mentor
• the Women of Color in STEM: Navigating the Workforce

Dissertation: A lengthy, formal written treatise or thesis, especially an account of scholarly investigation or original research on a specialized topic, submitted to a university in partial fulfillment of the requirements for a Ph.D. degree (for most United States universities).​

Thesis: A proposition advanced and defended in a formal disputation, especially by a candidate in partial fulfillment of university requirements for a master's degree (for most United States universities).

• Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
  The world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
• Proquest: Dissertations & Theses @ University of Miami
  Proquest provides access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at the University of Miami.
• Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
  Contains full-text theses and dissertations from colleges and universities around the world. The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.
• Center for Research Libraries: Foreign Doctoral Dissertations
  An international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries that supports original research and inspired teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences by preserving and making available primary source materials from all world regions.
• PhdData
  Holds a database of doctoral dissertations in progress around the world.

Selected research and scholarly works prepared by UM faculty, students, and staff

Reitz, J. (2013, January 10). About ODLIS. In ODLIS About. Retrieved August 19, 2022, from http://products.abc-clio.com/ODLIS/odlis_about

• Spark with Nora Young
  Spark on CBC Radio One Nora Young helps you navigate your digital life by connecting you to fresh ideas in surprising ways.
• Today in Tech
  Hosts Ken Mingis and Michael Simon talk with guests about the latest tech trends and news.
• TWiT.tv podcast
  TWiT.tv podcasts keep you up-to-date with all that's happening in the world of technology.

• Academic Video Online
  AVON is a streaming video platform providing more than 79,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas, including anthropology, business, history, music, and more. The platform allows users to to organize and bookmark clips, create and share playlists, personalize folders, and manage their entire collection. 
• TEDx
  A collection of TED Talks (and more) on the topic of Computers.

Tip: To accces the X handles below you must first login to X to view them.

@Computerworld
Computerworld focuses on empowering enterprise users and their managers, helping them create business advantage by skillfully exploiting today's abundantly powerful web, mobile, and desktop applications.
@SciRobotics
Official Twitter account of the journal Science Robotics. 

• Registry of Research Data Repositories (re3Data.org): Computer Science, Electrical and System Engineering
  An international registry of research data repositories.
• Harvard Dataverse Project: Computer and Information Science
  An open source web application to share, preserve, cite, explore, and analyze research data.
• Figshare
  Allows users to upload any file format to be previewed in the browser so that any research output, from posters and presentations to datasets and code, can be disseminated in a way that the current scholarly publishing model does not allow
• Zenodo
  Built and developed by researchers, to ensure that everyone can join in Open Science.

• Learn more about data management and DMPs.

The below conference databases contain conference papers, proceedings, and gray/grey literature.

• Conference Paper: An original paper at a formal gathering of peers which may be subsequently published in its proceedings.
• Conference Proceeding: The published record of a conference, congress, symposium, or other meeting sponsored by a society or association.
• Gray/Grey Literature: Documentary material in print and electronic formats, such as reports, preprints, internal documents, memoranda, newsletters, market surveys, theses, dissertations, conference proceedings, technical specifications, standards, or trade literature.

• SCOPUS
  Scopus also covers 250 million quality web sources, including 13 million patents.
• SPIE Digital Library
  SPIE Digital Library includes resource on optics and photonics, providing access to more than 260,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1990 to the present. More than 17,000 new research papers are added annually.
• IEEE Xplore Digital Library
  Full-text access to journals, conference proceedings and active standards published by IEEE and IET.
• ACM Digital Library
  Full-text access to a variety of journals and conference proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery. Note: The Richter Library subscription does not include full text access to the ACM Proceeding and SIG newsletter articles.
• American Institute of Physics Publications (AIP Publishing)
  Leading journals and conference proceedings from AIP Publishing and AIP Member Societies.

• ACM (Association for Computing Machinery)
• Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI)
• Computing Research Association
• IEEE Computer Society
• International Association Of Computer Science And Information Technology

• Association for Women in Computing
• Black Data Processing Associates
• LGBTQ Tech
• National Society of Blacks in Computing
• Society for Advancement of Chicanos/Hispanics and Native Americans in Science

Reitz, J. (2013, January 10). About ODLIS. In ODLIS About. Retrieved August 19, 2022, from http://products.abc-clio.com/ODLIS/odlis_about