To discover CHC's holdings of books and periodicals about Cuban theater in and outside the island, use the University of Miami Libraries online catalog to conduct the following subject searches:
Theater and society Cuba
Theater Cuba
Drama festivals Cuba
Theatrical companies Cuba
Zarzuela Cuba
Puppet theater Cuba
Cuban drama
Dramatists, Cuban
American drama Cuban American authors
Cuban Americans drama
Cubans United States drama
Entretelones
Published since 2004 by Cuba's Consejo Nacional de las Artes Escénicas.
Published since 2004 by Cuba's Consejo Nacional de las Artes Escénicas.
Indagación
Published by Centro Nacional de investigaciones de las Artes Escénicas in Havana. CHC holdings missing the first issue but otherwise complete from 2000 to 2008.
La Má Teodora
Quarterly theater journal published by Grupo Cultural La Má Teodora in Miami, Florida.
Ollantay Theater Magazine
Semi-annual journal on Hispanic American theater, published by Ollantay Press in New York.
Published by Centro Nacional de investigaciones de las Artes Escénicas in Havana. CHC holdings missing the first issue but otherwise complete from 2000 to 2008.
La Má Teodora
Quarterly theater journal published by Grupo Cultural La Má Teodora in Miami, Florida.
Ollantay Theater Magazine
Semi-annual journal on Hispanic American theater, published by Ollantay Press in New York.
Patronato del Teatro
Havana, 1946-1957
Havana, 1946-1957
Revista nacional de teatro
CHC holds first issue from 1961.
CHC holds first issue from 1961.
One of the strengths of the Cuban Heritage Collection is its holdings of 20th- and 21st-century papers of theater artists in Cuba and the diaspora, principally the papers of playwrights, designers, performers, directors, and theater companies. These collections include playscripts; playbills and programs; correspondence; audio and video recordings; and visual materials such as photographs, posters, and set and costume designs. These primary sources are complemented by extensive holdings of published materials on Cuban drama from the 1800s to the present.
Yolanda Arenas Papers
The papers of Cuban actress Yolanda Arenas include primarily photographs, clippings, and programs of theater productions in which Arenas performed. Folders for a few productions include scripts with annotations by Arenas.
René Ariza Papers
Audio recordings and papers of René Ariza (1940-1994), Cuban-born poet and playwright.
Randy Barceló Collection
Costume and set designs by Cuban-born designer Randy Barceló (1946-1994). Digital collection available.
Eva Canel Papers
This small collection of papers of the Spanish playwright Eva Canel includes correspondence, newspaper clippings and theater programs.
María Julia Casanova Papers
The María Julia Casanova Papers primarily document the work of radio and television writer and theater designer and director María Julia Casanova (1916-2004) in Cuba and Miami. The Papers include her scripts, photographs, clippings, theater programs, set and costume designs, posters, audiovisual materials, memorabilia, and honors and awards. Digital collection available.
Adria Catalá Casey Papers
Scrapbooks of photographs, clippings, and ephemera of the "Cuban Shirley Temple," Adria Catalá Casey, who was also a dancer in the Grupo Folklórico.
José Corrales Papers
Scripts and related materials of Cuban poet, playwright, and critic José Corrales (1937-2002).
Herberto Dumé Papers
Papers of theater director Herberto Dumé (1929-2003) primarily during his years in exile from Cuba.
Carlos Espinosa DomÃnguez Papers
Dr. Carlos Espinosa DomÃnguez is a scholar of Latin American theater and Cuban literature. His papers consists of letters he received from various Latin American writers. The collection includes some manuscripts as well.
Carlos Felipe and Rosa Felipe Papers
Papers of the playwright Carlos Felipe (1911-1975) and his sister, the actress Rosa Felipe (1917-2009), including scripts, programs, reviews, and clippings. Digital collection available.
Ofelia González Papers
Photographs, clippings, and letters of the actress Ofelia González, principally of her work with New York's Repertorio Español.
INTAR Theatre Records
Organizational records of New York-based INTAR Theatre, one of the oldest Hispanic theater companies in the United States.
La Ma Teodora Records
Organizational records of theater company La Ma Teodora, headed by Alberto Sarraín.
Eduardo Machado Papers
Works of Cuban-born playwright Eduardo Machado (b. 1961).
Dolores Martà de Cid Collection
Includes the papers of Cuban playwright José Cid Pérez and research materials about Latin American theater.
Manuel MartÃn Jr. Papers
Primarily of scripts, programs, clippings, and photographs of plays written by Cuban-born playwright Manuel MartÃn, Jr. (1934-2000).
Pedro Monge Rafuls Collection
Records of Ollantay Center for the Arts and Ollantay magazine of Queens, New York, founded by the playwright Pedro Monge Rafuls. The collection also includes ephemera documenting Hispanic and primarily Cuban theater, literary, and other arts in the area.
MatÃas Montes-Huidobro Papers
Typescripts of works by Cuban-born playwright and critic MatÃas Montes-Huidobro.
Norma Niurka Papers
The papers of Norma Niurka (1942-2009), journalist, writer, and theater critic, include manuscripts, photographs, correspondence, clippings, video recordings, memorabilia, daybooks, and theater programs. The collection also contains materials of Norma Niurka's aunt, the actress Miriam Acevedo.
Manuel Pereiras García Scripts
Scripts of the complete works of Cuban-born playwright Manuel Pereiras García.
Humberto Piñera Llera Papers
This collection contains the personal papers of Humberto Piñera Llera (1911-1986), Cuban philosopher, essayist, literary critic and educator. A section of the collection includes papers relating to Piñera's brother, playright Virgilio Piñera Llera (1912-1979).
Virgilio Piñera Collection
Correspondence exchanged between Virgilio Piñera (1912-1979) and Argentinian writer Adolfo de Obieta during the 1940s and 1950s, as well as a typescript of Piñera’s play Una caja de zapatos vacía. Digital collection available.
Repertorio Español Records
Records of the Spanish-language New York theater company Repertorio Español, founded in 1968 by Cuban-born producer Gilberto Zaldívar and Artistic Director René Buch. The collection includes playscripts, playbills and marketing materials, administrative files, and audiovisual recordings.
Teresa MarÃa Rojas Papers
Papers of theater director Teresa MarÃa Rojas, founder of Miami's Teatro Prometeo. Digital collection available.
Luis Santeiro Papers
Scripts and related materials of Cuban-born television writer and playwright Luis Santeiro (b. 1948).
Hector Santiago Papers
Papers of Cuban-born playwright Hector Santiago (b. 1944), including scripts, essays, short stories, reviews, clippings, theater programs, correspondence, and interviews.
Leandro Soto Papers
Set and costume designs and related materials documenting the work of visual and performance artist Leandro Soto (b. 1956).
Caridad Svich Papers
Scripts and related materials of Caridad Svich, playwriter, translator and editor of Cuban-Spanish-Argentine-Croatian descent. Digital collection available.
Teatro 8 Records
Records of the Teatro 8 theater company of Miami, Florid, including ephemera and posters, audiovisual materials of performances, awards and certificates, financial records, clippings, scripts, scrapbooks, and promotional materials.
Teatro Avante Collection
Programs of Miami-based Teatro Avante's productions and the Hispanic Theater Festival it produces.
Theater Ephemera Collection
Playbills, programs, and handbills of Cuban theater productions on the island and in the U.S., primarily Miami, Florida. Digital collection available.
Theater Playscripts Collection
This collection includes scripts of works authored, translated, or adapted by Cuban writers in Cuba and the diaspora. It is a growing collection started with donations from Lillian Manzor and transfers from the papers of Herberto Dumé and José Corrales. See also the Cuban Historical and Literary Manuscripts Collection, which includes several works accessioned before the creation of the Theater Playscripts Collection.
Theater Poster Collection
Posters for plays, festivals, and related theatrical performances and productions in the 20th and 21st centuries, primarily in Miami, Florida and Cuba. Digital collection available.
Blanca Varela Papers
Papers of the soprano and zarzuela star Blanca Varela that include ephemera, photographs, clippings manuscript music scores and sheet music.
Laura Zarrabeitia Papers
Four scrapbooks documenting her career as an actress in Cuba in the 1960s and 1970s. The scrapbooks include photographs, theater programs, contracts, scripts, and clippings.
Yolanda Arenas Papers
The papers of Cuban actress Yolanda Arenas include primarily photographs, clippings, and programs of theater productions in which Arenas performed. Folders for a few productions include scripts with annotations by Arenas.
René Ariza Papers
Audio recordings and papers of René Ariza (1940-1994), Cuban-born poet and playwright.
Randy Barceló Collection
Costume and set designs by Cuban-born designer Randy Barceló (1946-1994). Digital collection available.
Eva Canel Papers
This small collection of papers of the Spanish playwright Eva Canel includes correspondence, newspaper clippings and theater programs.
María Julia Casanova Papers
The María Julia Casanova Papers primarily document the work of radio and television writer and theater designer and director María Julia Casanova (1916-2004) in Cuba and Miami. The Papers include her scripts, photographs, clippings, theater programs, set and costume designs, posters, audiovisual materials, memorabilia, and honors and awards. Digital collection available.
Adria Catalá Casey Papers
Scrapbooks of photographs, clippings, and ephemera of the "Cuban Shirley Temple," Adria Catalá Casey, who was also a dancer in the Grupo Folklórico.
José Corrales Papers
Scripts and related materials of Cuban poet, playwright, and critic José Corrales (1937-2002).
Herberto Dumé Papers
Papers of theater director Herberto Dumé (1929-2003) primarily during his years in exile from Cuba.
Carlos Espinosa DomÃnguez Papers
Dr. Carlos Espinosa DomÃnguez is a scholar of Latin American theater and Cuban literature. His papers consists of letters he received from various Latin American writers. The collection includes some manuscripts as well.
Carlos Felipe and Rosa Felipe Papers
Papers of the playwright Carlos Felipe (1911-1975) and his sister, the actress Rosa Felipe (1917-2009), including scripts, programs, reviews, and clippings. Digital collection available.
Ofelia González Papers
Photographs, clippings, and letters of the actress Ofelia González, principally of her work with New York's Repertorio Español.
INTAR Theatre Records
Organizational records of New York-based INTAR Theatre, one of the oldest Hispanic theater companies in the United States.
La Ma Teodora Records
Organizational records of theater company La Ma Teodora, headed by Alberto Sarraín.
Eduardo Machado Papers
Works of Cuban-born playwright Eduardo Machado (b. 1961).
Dolores Martà de Cid Collection
Includes the papers of Cuban playwright José Cid Pérez and research materials about Latin American theater.
Manuel MartÃn Jr. Papers
Primarily of scripts, programs, clippings, and photographs of plays written by Cuban-born playwright Manuel MartÃn, Jr. (1934-2000).
Pedro Monge Rafuls Collection
Records of Ollantay Center for the Arts and Ollantay magazine of Queens, New York, founded by the playwright Pedro Monge Rafuls. The collection also includes ephemera documenting Hispanic and primarily Cuban theater, literary, and other arts in the area.
MatÃas Montes-Huidobro Papers
Typescripts of works by Cuban-born playwright and critic MatÃas Montes-Huidobro.
Norma Niurka Papers
The papers of Norma Niurka (1942-2009), journalist, writer, and theater critic, include manuscripts, photographs, correspondence, clippings, video recordings, memorabilia, daybooks, and theater programs. The collection also contains materials of Norma Niurka's aunt, the actress Miriam Acevedo.
Manuel Pereiras García Scripts
Scripts of the complete works of Cuban-born playwright Manuel Pereiras García.
Humberto Piñera Llera Papers
This collection contains the personal papers of Humberto Piñera Llera (1911-1986), Cuban philosopher, essayist, literary critic and educator. A section of the collection includes papers relating to Piñera's brother, playright Virgilio Piñera Llera (1912-1979).
Virgilio Piñera Collection
Correspondence exchanged between Virgilio Piñera (1912-1979) and Argentinian writer Adolfo de Obieta during the 1940s and 1950s, as well as a typescript of Piñera’s play Una caja de zapatos vacía. Digital collection available.
Repertorio Español Records
Records of the Spanish-language New York theater company Repertorio Español, founded in 1968 by Cuban-born producer Gilberto Zaldívar and Artistic Director René Buch. The collection includes playscripts, playbills and marketing materials, administrative files, and audiovisual recordings.
Teresa MarÃa Rojas Papers
Papers of theater director Teresa MarÃa Rojas, founder of Miami's Teatro Prometeo. Digital collection available.
Luis Santeiro Papers
Scripts and related materials of Cuban-born television writer and playwright Luis Santeiro (b. 1948).
Hector Santiago Papers
Papers of Cuban-born playwright Hector Santiago (b. 1944), including scripts, essays, short stories, reviews, clippings, theater programs, correspondence, and interviews.
Leandro Soto Papers
Set and costume designs and related materials documenting the work of visual and performance artist Leandro Soto (b. 1956).
Caridad Svich Papers
Scripts and related materials of Caridad Svich, playwriter, translator and editor of Cuban-Spanish-Argentine-Croatian descent. Digital collection available.
Teatro 8 Records
Records of the Teatro 8 theater company of Miami, Florid, including ephemera and posters, audiovisual materials of performances, awards and certificates, financial records, clippings, scripts, scrapbooks, and promotional materials.
Teatro Avante Collection
Programs of Miami-based Teatro Avante's productions and the Hispanic Theater Festival it produces.
Theater Ephemera Collection
Playbills, programs, and handbills of Cuban theater productions on the island and in the U.S., primarily Miami, Florida. Digital collection available.
Theater Playscripts Collection
This collection includes scripts of works authored, translated, or adapted by Cuban writers in Cuba and the diaspora. It is a growing collection started with donations from Lillian Manzor and transfers from the papers of Herberto Dumé and José Corrales. See also the Cuban Historical and Literary Manuscripts Collection, which includes several works accessioned before the creation of the Theater Playscripts Collection.
Theater Poster Collection
Posters for plays, festivals, and related theatrical performances and productions in the 20th and 21st centuries, primarily in Miami, Florida and Cuba. Digital collection available.
Blanca Varela Papers
Papers of the soprano and zarzuela star Blanca Varela that include ephemera, photographs, clippings manuscript music scores and sheet music.
Laura Zarrabeitia Papers
Four scrapbooks documenting her career as an actress in Cuba in the 1960s and 1970s. The scrapbooks include photographs, theater programs, contracts, scripts, and clippings.
One of the strengths of the Cuban Heritage Collection is its holdings of 20th- and 21st-century papers of theater artists in Cuba and the diaspora, principally the papers of playwrights, designers, performers, directors, and theater companies. These collections include playscripts; playbills and programs; correspondence; audio and video recordings; and visual materials such as photographs, posters, and set and costume designs. These primary sources are complemented by extensive holdings of published materials on Cuban drama from the 1800s to the present.
José Corrales Papers
Scripts and related materials of Cuban poet, playwright, and critic José Corrales (1937-2002).
Scripts and related materials of Cuban poet, playwright, and critic José Corrales (1937-2002).
Herberto Dumé Papers
Papers of theater director Herberto Dumé (1929-2003) primarily during his years in exile from Cuba.
Papers of theater director Herberto Dumé (1929-2003) primarily during his years in exile from Cuba.
INTAR Theatre Records
Organizational records of New York-based INTAR Theatre, one of the oldest Hispanic theater companies in the United States.
Organizational records of New York-based INTAR Theatre, one of the oldest Hispanic theater companies in the United States.
Eduardo Machado Papers
Works of Cuban-born playwright Eduardo Machado (b. 1961).
Works of Cuban-born playwright Eduardo Machado (b. 1961).
Manuel MartÃn Jr. Papers
Primarily of scripts, programs, clippings, and photographs of plays written by Cuban-born playwright Manuel MartÃn, Jr. (1934-2000).
Primarily of scripts, programs, clippings, and photographs of plays written by Cuban-born playwright Manuel MartÃn, Jr. (1934-2000).
Dolores Martà de Cid Collection
Includes the papers of Cuban playwright José Cid Pérez and research materials about Latin American theater.
Includes the papers of Cuban playwright José Cid Pérez and research materials about Latin American theater.
MatÃas Montes-Huidobro Papers
Typescripts of works by Cuban-born playwright and critic MatÃas Montes-Huidobro.
Typescripts of works by Cuban-born playwright and critic MatÃas Montes-Huidobro.
Luis Santeiro Papers
Scripts and related materials of Cuban-born television writer and playwright Luis Santeiro (b. 1948).
Scripts and related materials of Cuban-born television writer and playwright Luis Santeiro (b. 1948).
Leandro Soto Papers
Set and costume designs and related materials documenting the work of visual and performance artist Leandro Soto (b. 1956).
Set and costume designs and related materials documenting the work of visual and performance artist Leandro Soto (b. 1956).
Hector Santiago Papers
Papers of Cuban-born playwright Hector Santiago (b. 1944), including scripts, essays, short stories, reviews, clippings, theater programs, correspondence, and interviews.
Papers of Cuban-born playwright Hector Santiago (b. 1944), including scripts, essays, short stories, reviews, clippings, theater programs, correspondence, and interviews.
Teresa MarÃa Rojas Papers
Papers of theater director Teresa MarÃa Rojas, founder of Miami's Teatro Prometeo. Digital collection available.
Papers of theater director Teresa MarÃa Rojas, founder of Miami's Teatro Prometeo. Digital collection available.
Yolanda Arenas Papers
The papers of Cuban actress Yolanda Arenas include primarily photographs, clippings, and programs of theater productions in which Arenas performed. Folders for a few productions include scripts with annotations by Arenas.
The papers of Cuban actress Yolanda Arenas include primarily photographs, clippings, and programs of theater productions in which Arenas performed. Folders for a few productions include scripts with annotations by Arenas.
Eva Canel Papers
This small collection of papers of the Spanish playwright Eva Canel includes correspondence, newspaper clippings and theater programs.
This small collection of papers of the Spanish playwright Eva Canel includes correspondence, newspaper clippings and theater programs.
Carlos Felipe and Rosa Felipe Papers
Papers of the playwright Carlos Felipe (1911-1975) and his sister, the actress Rosa Felipe (1917-2009), including scripts, programs, reviews, and clippings. Digital collection available.
Papers of the playwright Carlos Felipe (1911-1975) and his sister, the actress Rosa Felipe (1917-2009), including scripts, programs, reviews, and clippings. Digital collection available.
Ofelia González Papers
Photographs, clippings, and letters of the actress Ofelia González, principally of her work with New York's Repertorio Español.
Photographs, clippings, and letters of the actress Ofelia González, principally of her work with New York's Repertorio Español.
Pedro Monge Rafuls Collection
Records of Ollantay Center for the Arts and Ollantay magazine of Queens, New York, founded by the playwright Pedro Monge Rafuls. The collection also includes ephemera documenting Hispanic and primarily Cuban theater, literary, and other arts in the area.
Records of Ollantay Center for the Arts and Ollantay magazine of Queens, New York, founded by the playwright Pedro Monge Rafuls. The collection also includes ephemera documenting Hispanic and primarily Cuban theater, literary, and other arts in the area.
Laura Zarrabeitia Papers
Four scrapbooks documenting her career as an actress in Cuba in the 1960s and 1970s. The scrapbooks include photographs, theater programs, contracts, scripts, and clippings.
Four scrapbooks documenting her career as an actress in Cuba in the 1960s and 1970s. The scrapbooks include photographs, theater programs, contracts, scripts, and clippings.
Adria Catalá Casey Papers
Scrapbooks of photographs, clippings, and ephemera of the "Cuban Shirley Temple," Adria Catalá Casey, who was also a dancer in the Grupo Folklórico.
Scrapbooks of photographs, clippings, and ephemera of the "Cuban Shirley Temple," Adria Catalá Casey, who was also a dancer in the Grupo Folklórico.
Carlos Espinosa DomÃnguez Papers
Dr. Carlos Espinosa DomÃnguez is a scholar of Latin American theater and Cuban literature. His papers consists of letters he received from various Latin American writers. The collection includes some manuscripts as well.
Dr. Carlos Espinosa DomÃnguez is a scholar of Latin American theater and Cuban literature. His papers consists of letters he received from various Latin American writers. The collection includes some manuscripts as well.
Norma Niurka Papers
The papers of Norma Niurka (1942-2009), journalist, writer, and theater critic, include manuscripts, photographs, correspondence, clippings, video recordings, memorabilia, daybooks, and theater programs. The collection also contains materials of Norma Niurka's aunt, the actress Miriam Acevedo.
The papers of Norma Niurka (1942-2009), journalist, writer, and theater critic, include manuscripts, photographs, correspondence, clippings, video recordings, memorabilia, daybooks, and theater programs. The collection also contains materials of Norma Niurka's aunt, the actress Miriam Acevedo.
Humberto Piñera Llera Papers
This collection contains the personal papers of Humberto Piñera Llera (1911-1986), Cuban philosopher, essayist, literary critic and educator. A section of the collection includes papers relating to Piñera's brother, playright Virgilio Piñera Llera (1912-1979).
This collection contains the personal papers of Humberto Piñera Llera (1911-1986), Cuban philosopher, essayist, literary critic and educator. A section of the collection includes papers relating to Piñera's brother, playright Virgilio Piñera Llera (1912-1979).
Teatro 8 Records
Records of the Teatro 8 theater company of Miami, Florid, including ephemera and posters, audiovisual materials of performances, awards and certificates, financial records, clippings, scripts, scrapbooks, and promotional materials.
Records of the Teatro 8 theater company of Miami, Florid, including ephemera and posters, audiovisual materials of performances, awards and certificates, financial records, clippings, scripts, scrapbooks, and promotional materials.
Blanca Varela Papers
Papers of the soprano and zarzuela star Blanca Varela that include ephemera, photographs, clippings manuscript music scores and sheet music.
Papers of the soprano and zarzuela star Blanca Varela that include ephemera, photographs, clippings manuscript music scores and sheet music.
Elizabeth Cerejido
- Curator for Cuban Collections
- e.cerejido@miami.edu
- (305) 284-4900
Juan A. Villanueva
- Archives Manager and Public Services Coordinator
- j.villanueva5@umiami.edu
- (305) 284-4008
Amanda Moreno
- Interim Esperanza Bravo de Varona Chair of the Cuban Heritage Collection and Archivist
- a.moreno8@umiami.edu
- (305) 284-5854
Martin Tsang
- CHC Librarian, Curator of Latin American Collections
- mtsang@miami.edu
- (305) 284-4900
The Cuban Heritage Collection has digitized theater materials from its holdings and makes them available online through a variety of resources.
Cuban Theater in Miami: 1960-1980
Online exhibition draws from the Collection's holdings to chronicle the history of Cuban theater in Miami. Available in English and Spanish.
Online exhibition draws from the Collection's holdings to chronicle the history of Cuban theater in Miami. Available in English and Spanish.
CHC Theater Collections in the UM Digital Library
Items digitized from the Cuban Heritage Collection's holdings of the papers of plawrights, actors, designers, directors, and theater companies, primarily photographs, playbills, costume and set designs, and ephemera. Related collections: Manuel Ochoa Papers Virgilio Piñera Collection Asela Torres Photography Collection
Items digitized from the Cuban Heritage Collection's holdings of the papers of plawrights, actors, designers, directors, and theater companies, primarily photographs, playbills, costume and set designs, and ephemera. Related collections: Manuel Ochoa Papers Virgilio Piñera Collection Asela Torres Photography Collection
Search
Hours
Accounts
A Librarian