To recommend resources to add to this guide, or books or films for the Libraries to purchase, please email Director of the Learning Commons and Africana Studies librarian Roxane Pickens at: firstname.lastname@example.org.
Butler, Octavia E. Parable of the Sower. New York: Four Walls Eight Windows, 1993.
Coates, Ta-Nehisi. The Water Dancer: A Novel. First ed. New York: One World, 2019.
Ellison, Ralph. Invisible Man. Modern Library ed. New York: Modern Library, 1994.
Hurston, Zora Neale. Their Eyes Were Watching God. New York: Harper Perennial Modern Classics, 2006.
Morrison, Toni. Beloved. First Vintage International ed. New York: Vintage International, 2004.
Morrison, Toni. The Bluest Eye. First Knopf ed. New York: Knopf, 1993.
Morrison, Toni. God Help the Child. First ed. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2015.
Ruffin, Maurice Carlos. We Cast a Shadow: A Novel. First ed. New York: One World, 2019.
Thurman, Wallace. The Blacker the Berry. New York: Arno, 1969.
Ward, Jesmyn. Sing, Unburied, Sing: A Novel. First Scribner Hardcover ed. New York: Scribner, 2017.
Wright, Richard. Native Son. New York: Harper & Brothers, 1940.
Beatty, Paul. The Sellout : A Novel. First ed. New York: Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2015.
Gyasi, Yaa. Homegoing. First ed. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2016.
Sexton, Margaret Wilkerson. The Revisioners : A Novel. First Hardcover ed. Berkeley, California: Counterpoint, 2019.
Baldwin, James. Giovanni's Room. New York: Everyman's Library, 2016.
Chua, Lawrence. Gold by the Inch. First ed. New York: Grove, 1998.
Delany, Samuel R. Dhalgren. Hanover, NH: Wesleyan UP of New England, 1996.
Dixon, Melvin. Trouble the Water. New York, N.Y.: Washington Square, 1992.
Glave, Thomas. Whose Song? and Other Stories. San Francisco: City Lights, 2000.
Gomez, Jewelle. The Gilda Stories: A Novel. Ithaca, N.Y.: Firebrand, 1991.
Harris, E. Lynn. Invisible Life. First Anchor Books ed. New York: Anchor, 1994.
Iweala, Uzodinma. Speak No Evil: A Novel. First ed. New York, NY: Harper, an Imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, 2018.
Linmark, R. Zamora. Rolling the R's. New York: Kaya Production, 1995.
Martin, Xaba, Martin, Karen, and Xaba, Makhosazana. Queer Africa: New and Collected Fiction. Braamfontein, South Africa: MaThoko's, 2013.
Torres, Justin. We the Animals. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2011.
Whitehead, Joshua. Jonny Appleseed: A Novel. Vancouver: Arsenal Pulp, 2018.
James, Marlon. Black Leopard, Red Wolf. New York: Riverhead, 2019.
Machado, Carmen Maria. Her Body and Other Parties: Stories. Minneapolis, Minnesota: Graywolf, 2017.
Manrique, Jaime. Latin Moon in Manhattan: A Novel. Madison: U of Wisconsin, 2003.
Vuong, Ocean. On Earth We're Briefly Gorgeous: A Novel. New York: Penguin, 2019.
Woodson, Jacqueline. Another Brooklyn: A Novel. HarperCollins, 2016.
Our students and their families deserve to know that we are allies in the fight against intolerance and bigotry. Thoughtful, intentional lessons on the events in Charlottesville, and the fight against bigotry and intolerance is one way of addressing these very serious questions and concerns.
#Resist Syllabus: Cultural Histories of Resistance in the US:
Black Lives Matter Toolkits
Toolkits for action by Black Lives Matter.
Scaffolded Anti-Racist Resources
This is a working document for scaffolding anti-racism resources. The goal is to facilitate growth for white folks to become allies, and eventually accomplices for anti-racist work. These resources have been ordered in an attempt to make them more accessible.
Teaching Tolerance Classroom Resources
From film kits and lesson plans to the building blocks of a customized Learning Plan—texts, student tasks and teaching strategies—our resources will help you bring relevance, rigor and social emotional learning into your classroom
Introduction to Critical Race Theory (2017)
This archived online course by Adrienne Keene, Assistant Professor of American Studies at Brown University, provides an introduction to the scholars, themes, and critical sources that inform the field of critial race theory.
The University of Minnesota Press is committed to challenging white supremacy, police violence, and unequal access to criminal justice, education, and resources in Minnesota, the United States, and throughout the world. To promote understanding and action for change, this collection of antiracist books is available to all to read online for free through August 31, 2020.
Institutionalized Racism: A Syllabus:
From JSTOR. How can we help students understand George Floyd’s death in the context of institutionalized racism?
The Schomburg Center's Black Liberation Reading List:
From the New York Public Library. Michelle Alexander's The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness, Claudia Rankine's Citizen: American Lyric, and James Baldwin's The Fire Next Time are some of the books on the Schomburg Center’s Black Liberation Reading List.
Reading for Change
Booklist recommended anti-racism titles for all ages.
Disrupting Whiteness in Libraries and Librarianship: A Reading List
This bibliography, from the University of Wisconsin libraries, provides materials on race, racism, and disrupting whiteness. The guide is geared towards librarians and information professionals but also includes core resources for all readers on topics such as microaggressions, whiteness, and inclusivity.
A selection of influential books on race and the black experience in the United States over the course of the nation's history.
From the National Museum of African American History and Culture. To create an equal society, we must commit to making unbiased choices and being antiracist in all aspects of our lives.
Beyond the Hashtag: How to Take Anti-Racist Action in your Life
From TeenVogue. In this op-ed, Zyahna Bryant — a Charlottesville-based activist, organizer, and social impact strategist — offers insight into how people can take anti-racist action.
When the Rainbow is Not Enough: LGBT+ Voices in the 2019 Black Census
From the Black Futures Lab. A survey of 5,400 black people that identify as LGBT people of color.
Injustice at Every Turn
A look at Black respondents in the National Transgender Discrimination Survey.
Black LGBTQ Mental Health
From the Trevor Project. The intersection of identities for Black LGBTQ youth may make them particularly susceptible to mental health concerns and facing inadequate access to culturally appropriate care.
Was You Can Support the Black LGBTQ+ Community
From The Cut. A compilation of resources to support the Black LGBTQ+ community.
#BlackLivesMatter was founded in 2013 in response to the acquittal of Trayvon Martin’s murderer. Black Lives Matter Foundation, Inc is a global organization in the US, UK, and Canada, whose mission is to eradicate white supremacy and build local power to intervene in violence inflicted on Black communities by the state and vigilantes. By combating and countering acts of violence, creating space for Black imagination and innovation, and centering Black joy, we are winning immediate improvements in our lives.
Algorithmic Justice League:
We now live in a world where AI governs access to information, opportunity and freedom. However, AI systems can perpetuate racism, sexism, ableism, and other harmful forms of discrimination, therefore, presenting significant threats to our society - from healthcare, to economic opportunity, to our criminal justice system.
Art that Confronts and Challenges:
From the NYTimes. NYTimes writers suggest works that illuminate and tackle issues of police brutality, social injustice and racial inequity.
Color of Change
Color Of Change is the nation’s largest online racial justice organization.
African American Policy Forum
The African American Policy Forum (AAPF) is an innovative think tank that connects academics, activists and policy-makers to promote efforts to dismantle structural inequality.
Racial Equity Tools
Racial Equity Tools is designed to support individuals and groups working to achieve racial equity. This site offers tools, research, tips, curricula and ideas for people who want to increase their own understanding and to help those working toward justice at every level – in systems, organizations, communities and the culture at large.
The Center for Black Equity
The Center for Black Equity is the National leader in connecting members of the Black LGBTQ+ community with information and resources to educate, engage and empower their fight for equity and access.
The Okra Project
The Okra Project is a collective that seeks to address the global crisis faced by Black Trans people by bringing home cooked, healthy, and culturally specific meals and resources to Black Trans People wherever we can reach them.
National Black Justice Coalition
The National Black Justice Coalition (NBJC) is a civil rights organization dedicated to the empowerment of Black lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and same gender loving (LGBTQ/SGL) people, including people living with HIV/AIDS. NBJC’s mission is to end racism, homophobia, and LGBTQ/SGL bias and stigma.
Bezalel, Ronit. 70: Acres in Chicago: Cabrini Green. New Day Films, 2015.
Herbes-Sommers, Christine. Race - The Power of an Illusion. California Newsreel, 2003.
McQueen, Steve. 12 Years a Slave. Regency Enterprises, 2013.
Melfi, Theodore. Hidden Figures. Fox 2000 Pictures, 2016.
Peck, Raoul. I Am Not Your Negro. Kino Lorber, 2016.
Tillman, George, Jr. The Hate U Give. Fox 2000 Pictures, 2018.
White, Rochelle. P.S. I Can’t Breathe: Black Lives Matter. Mindz Productions, 2015.
Harris, Thomas Allen. Through a Lens Darkly: Black Photographers and the Emergence of a People. First Run Features, 2014.
Hurt, Byron. I Am a Man. Media Education Foundation, 2006.
Lee, Spike. When the Levees Broke: A Requiem in Four Acts. New York, NY: Home Box Office: HBO Video, 2006.
Mueller, David. A Good Day to Die: Dennis Banks & the American Indian Movement. Kino Lorber, 2012.
Olsson, G.H. The Black Power Mixtape 1967-1975: A Documentary in 9 Chapters. Stockholm, Sweden. Sveriges Television, 2011.
Riggs, Marlon T. Color Adjustment. California Newsreel, 2004.
Ethnic Notions. California Newsreel, 1987.
Vecchione, Judith, et al. Eyes on the Prize: America’s Civil Rights Years. PBS, 2010.
Jenkins, Romanski, Gardner, Kleiner, Harris, Rhodes, Moonlight. A24, Santa Monica, CA: Lionsgate, 2017.
Lee, Spike. Do the Right Thing (Criterion Collection; 97). Universal City Studios, 2001.
Lee, Spike. BlackKklansman, Universal Pictures Home Entertainment, 2018.
Bob Simms Collection, University of Miami Special Collections
The Bob Simms collection documents the life and activities of Robert H. Simms in the black communities in Coconut Grove and Miami and reflects his work with the Community Relations Board and the Defense Race Relations Institute. The collection also contains campaign materials from Leah Simms, the first African American female judge in the state of Florida, and the "Glory in the Grove" photographs of people and events at the George Washington Carver elementary and high schools in Coconut Grove before desegregation. A final component of the collection includes photographs, correspondence and clippings of General "Chappie" James and his family. General James was the first four star African American General and married Dorothy Watkins.
Collaborative Archives from the African Diaspora
The Collaborative Archive from the African Diaspora (CAAD) is a free online resource for scholars seeking manuscripts and other original cultural materials related to South Florida's historically black communities, with special emphasis on African American and Caribbean collections. All records in the CAAD represent collections that can be accessed in South Florida archives, libraries, and cultural heritage institutions
Community Justice Records, University of Miami Special Collections
The records contain legal cases, research files and trial notebooks from the Miami Community Justice Project. Topics covered include development for low income housing, public housing and privately run detention centers. Power U Center for Social Change and Florida Immigrant Coalition (FLIC) are often referred to in the legal files.
Dr. John O. and Marie Faulkner Brown Papers, University of Miami Special Collections
The papers consists of correspondence, photographs, clippings, publications, awards, certificates and medals, speeches and various other materials documenting the life and work of Dr. John O. Brown, first African American Ophthalmologist in Florida and the first African American President of the American Medical Association. The collection also includes clippings, sermons, speeches and photos of African American folklorist, Rev. William Faulkner.
Haitian Women of Miami (FANM) Records, University of Miami Special Collections
Haitian Women of Miami-Fanm Ayisyen Nan Miyami (FANM) was founded in 1991 to work for the "social and political empowerment" of Haitian women and their families. FANM is an advocacy and social service agency in Little Haiti and serves the needs of low income women and their families as well as victims of abuse, neglect, violence, discrimination and racism.
Max Rameau Papers, University of Miami Special Collections
The Max Rameau papers (1992-2010) document his extensive activism for the homeless and the poor within the South Florida communities of the African diaspora. The collection will be of interest to scholars and students of movements such as the Umoja Village, the Scott-Carver Tenant Council, Miami Dade Election Reform and Take Back the Land. The materials document advocacy work on behalf of people displaced from their homes as a result of low income housing policies, gentrification, and the U.S. foreclosure crisis at the beginning of the 21st century. The Max Rameau papers also point to connections between activist groups promoting the economic rights of the diverse constituency of the African diaspora which reside in Liberty City and Little Haiti. Finally, the collection serves as a record of Mr. Rameau's work with organizations such as Brothers of the Same Mind, the Haitian American Grassroots Coalition and the Center for Pan African Development.
Power U Center for Social Change Records, University of Miami Special Collections
Power U for Social Change was founded in 1999 by renowned activists Denise Perry and Sheila O’Farrell. Perry has been a dedicated international labor and community organizer for over twenty-five years; she has organized health care workers into labor unions in the east and southeastern U.S. and worked throughout Africa and the Caribbean to train and work with women labor activists as a part of the Women’s Global Equity Project.
Scott Carver Housing History Collection, University of Miami Special Collections
The Scott Carver Housing History collection includes photographs, clippings, reports and oral history interviews that document the advocacy work of Scott Carver Miami residents and activists for the resistitution of the demolished Scott Carver homes.
Theodore R. Gibson Family Papers, University of Miami Special Collections
The Theodore R. Gibson Family Papers document the life and work of Reverend Gibson, longtime Miami Commissioner during the 1970s and 1980s, and champion of Black Coconut Grove. The collection also contains materials documenting the civic activities and interests of Reverend Gibson’s wife, Thelma Gibson.
Bob Simms: An Activist’s Life and Legacy
This exhibit offers a snapshot of the life and legacy of Robert H. Simms and an overview of some of the research resources available in his collection. The Bob Simms Collection contains photographs, documents, awards, and publications of personal and civic activities and events reflecting his life and legacy and documenting events of historical significance. Full access to the Collection is available in Special Collections, at the Otto. G. Richter Library.
Emancipation – The Caribbean Experience
How do people bound by the chains of slavery become free? The students in the Fall 2001 edition of History 300: Caribbean History, investigated that question. The diverse slave plantation colonies of the Caribbean basin all experienced emancipation between the 1790s and the 1880s. Enslaved people overthrew the murderous planter regime of St.-Domingue in the Haitian Revolution. The rise of reform movements helped lead to state-imposed emancipation in British colonies like Jamaica and Barbados during the 1830s. Meanwhile, the search for freedom from Spain, plus changing technologies helped to bring about the gradual freeing of Cuban slaves between the 1860s and the 1880s.
Jackson Memorial Hospital Centennial Oral History Project
The Jackson Memorial Hospital Centennial Oral History Project is a collection of interviews with African American doctors, nurses, and storytellers. The interviews commemorate the 100th anniversary of the creation of the Jackson Memorial Hospital (1918-2018) and the contributions of medical professionals of African descent who sought to desegregate the institution and provide services to all members of the South Florida community regardless of race. These stories document the personal experiences of individuals who discovered their callings as health care providers during a time when training in the medical field was segregated. The content of the interviews also reflects the history of health care in African American communities and the institutions that provided the training and services.
Slave Resistance – A Caribbean Study
This website is the product of the University of Miami students who took the Spring 2000 edition of History 300: "Caribbean: Slavery and Resistance."
The Civil Rights Movement and the Black Experience in Miami his presentation is the online companion of the Special Collections exhibit located on the 2nd floor of the Otto G. Richter Library (February 18 - May 1, 2009). The selected images tell a story of struggle, community challenges, and hope for Black Miami in the 20th century. Through a combination of personal papers, books, professional photography, fliers and reports of civil rights activities this exhibition on Black Miami presents a sobering glimpse at what was and illustrates a path of civic involvement and pride.
Throughout February and March, the University of Miami Libraries commemorated Black History Month with The Truth Marches On, an exhibition featuring materials from the realms of music, television, pop culture, politics, and more.
The University of Miami Commemorates 50 Years of Desegregation
This digital exhibit highlights the pivotal moments of desegregation at the University of Miami. The photographs, newspaper clippings and various documents from the University's Archives trace tentative explorations starting as early as the 1950s to the official desegregation on the main Coral Gables Campus in the 1960s.
A House Divided at the Lowe Art Museum
This exhibit featured works by by artist and University of Miami Associate Professor of Sculpture, Billie Grace Lynn. The sculptures featured in the exhibit aimed to encourage introspection by privileged white viewers, to represent the enormity of the problem of racial injustice in the U.S., and to provoke viewers to reflect on pressing issues in contemporary culture and politics such as civic engagement and discourse, divisiveness, identity politics, and the fragile nature of democracy.
Benjamin Banneker. Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, and Virginia Almanac and Ephemers. (1792-97)
David Walker. An Appeal to the Colored Citizens of the World. (1829)
Frederick Douglass. The Narrative of the Life. (1845)
Sojourner Truth. The Narrative of Sojourner Truth. (1850)
WEB Du Bois. The Souls of Black Folk. (1903)
Gunnar Myrdal. An American Dilemma: The Negro Problem and Modern Democracy. (1944)
The Black Women’s Suffrage Digital Collection is a collaborative project to provide digital access to materials documenting the roles and experiences of Black Women in the Women’s Suffrage Movement and, more broadly, women’s rights, voting rights, and civic activism between the 1850s and 1960.
African American History Archive:
To preserve, promote and share the history, literature, culture and personal stories that offer Floridians a better understanding of themselves, their communities and their state.
We aspire to be a go-to resource for librarians, educators, parents, book creators, and publishers who seek to create collections in which all children can see themselves -- and each other -- reflected in the picture books they read.
Social Justice Books:
Social Justice Books is a project of Teaching for Change, a non-profit organization whose mission is to provide teachers and parents with the tools to create schools where students learn to read, write and change the world.
We Need Diverse Books:
We Need Diverse Books is a non-profit and a grassroots organization of children’s book lovers that advocates essential changes in the publishing industry. Our aim is to help produce and promote literature that reflects and honors the lives of all young people.
Looking for Excellent Diverse Books for Children?:
From Embrace Race. A compilation of starting points and resources for finding diverse books for children.
The Coretta Scott King Book Awards
A list of the recipients of the Coretta Scott King Book Awards, which are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.
Craft, Jerry, and Jim Callahan. New Kid. New York, NY: Harper, 2019.
Dupuis, Kacer, Newland, Kacer, Kathy, and Newland, Gillian. I Am Not a Number. Toronto, ON: Second Story, 2016.
Kendall, Mikki, A. D'Amico, Shari Chankhamma, and Erica Schultz. Amazons, Abolitionists, and Activists: A Graphic History of Women's Fight for Their Rights. California: Ten Speed, 2019.
Pinkney, Andrea Davis., and Pinkney, J. Brian. Sojourner Truth's Step-Stomp Stride. New York: Disney/Jump at the Sun, 2009.
Ramée, Lisa Moore. A Good Kind of Trouble. New York, NY: Balzer Bray, 2019.
Rhodes, Jewell Parker. Ghost Boys. New York: Little, Brown, 2018.
Sorell, Traci, and Frané Lessac. We Are Grateful: Otsaliheliga. Watertown, MA: Charlesbridge, 2018.
Stone, Nic. Dear Martin. First ed. New York: Crown, 2017.
Tonatiuh, Duncan. Separate Is Never Equal: Sylvia Mendez & Her Family's Fight for Desegregation. New York: Abrams for Young Readers, 2014.
Weatherford, Carole Boston. Schomburg: The Man Who Built a Library. Somerville, Massachusetts: Candlewick, 2017.
Weatherford, Carole Boston, and Ekua Holmes. Voice of Freedom: Fannie Lou Hamer, Spirit of the Civil Rights Movement. First ed. Somerville, Massachusetts: Candlewick, 2015.
Weatherford, Carole Boston, and Kadir Nelson. Moses: When Harriet Tubman Led Her People to Freedom. New York: Hyperion for Children, 2006.
Williams, Alicia. Genesis Begins Again. New York: Atheneum, 2019.
Woodson, Lewis, and Lewis, Earl B. The Other Side. New York: Putnam's, 2001.
Woodson, López, and López, Rafael. The Day You Begin. New York, NY: Nancy Paulsen, 2018.
Yoo, Wang, and Wang, Lin. Shining Star: The Anna May Wong Story. New York: Lee & Low, 2009.
Feraudy Espino, Heriberto. ¿Racismo En Cuba? La Habana: Editorial De Ciencias Sociales, 2015.
Fuente, Rodríguez Valdés, Fuente, Alejandro De La, Centro Wifredo Lam, and Mattress Factory. Queloides: Raza Y Racismo En El Arte Cubano Contemporaneo. Pittsburgh, Pa: Mattress Factory, 2011.
Pérez Vejo, Yankelevich, Pablo. Raza Y Política En Hispanoamérica. Primera Edición. ed. Ciudad De México: Madrid: Bonilla Artigas Editores: El Colegio De México; Iberoamericana Vervuert, 2017.
Manzano, Juan Francisco. Juan Francisco Manzano: Autobiografía. Matanzas, Cuba: Ediciones Matanzas, 2016.
Serna, and Serna, Juan Manuel De La. De La Libertad Y La Abolición: Africanos Y Afrodescendientes En Iberoamérica. 1.st ed. México, D.F.: Consejo Nacional Para La Cultura Y Las Artes, 2010.
Una lista de los filmes y los trabajos escritos para el octavo festival CineMigrante de la tema Black Lives Matter (La vida de los negros sí importa.)
Arango, J. La Playa D.C. New York, NY: ArtMattan Productions, 2012. Academic Video Online: Premium.
Rolando, Gloria. Las Raíces De Mi Corazón/The Roots of My Heart. Arlington, Mass: AfroCubaWeb.com, 2001.
Si está buscando formas de crear un diálogo sobre conversaciones difíciles, pero importantes, como el tema del privilegio blanco y/o la desigualdad racial, utilice los recursos en esta guia diseñados para crear una base de entendimiento sobre dicho tema para desarrollar. Además, la Iglesia Metodista Unida ha escrito el Código de la Justicia Racial.
ACLU (Unión Estadounidsense por las Libertades Civiles)
Una colección de los recursos, los informes, y las noticias sobre la tema de la justicia racial por la ACLU de San Diego y el condado Imperial. Además, una colección de artículos sobre la justicia racial por la ACLU de la Florida.
National Latina Institute
Lea el trabajo escrito por El Instituto Nacional de Latinas Para la Salud Reproductiva, “¿Cómo Enfrentamos la Anti-Negritud en la Comunidad Latinx en la Era de Trump?”
United We Dream
Guía para Indocumentados Acerca de Cómo Destruir la Anti-Negritud en Casa
Una lista de 21 libros que apoyan el movimiento Black Lives Matter (La vida de los negros sí importa.)
Recursos Antirracistas en Español
Esta lista hecho por Dra. Gabriela Kovats Sánchez incluye recursos del contexto estadounidense, latinoamericano y español ya que el racismo es un tema global y no exclusivo a los Estados Unidos. Estos recursos incluyen temas sobre las comunidades negras y los pueblos originarios.
Un sitio web de la Organización de las Naciones Unidas que ofrece una colección de recursos educacionales sobre el racismo y los derechos humanos.
El Antirracismo en América Latina en una era “post-racial” (LAPORA)
El reporte especial sobre un proyecto de investigación LAPORA que delinea los obstáculos que enfrentan las acciones antirracistas en la región, propone un amplio marco para entender lo que es el antirracismo, y termina con un resumen de diferentes modalidades de accionar antirracista y las ventajas y desventajas que caracterizan a cada una.
El Voto Latino es ahora más importante que nunca en los EEUU. Este sitio web aporta los resumenes de los asuntos politicos prevalecientes, como la imigración, la brutalidad policial, y la educación. También puede registrarse para votar. (En inglés.)
9 Recursos para Enseñar Antirracismo
Una lista de las organizaciones que ofrecen colectivamente una gran cantidad de materiales gratuitos para educadores y padres acerca de como abordar el racismo, la inequidad, el prejuicio y las estrategias para compensar los efectos devastadores del racismo en los jóvenes.
Una revista digital que ofrece artículos sobre temas sociales incluso sobre el antirracism. Dos artículos recomendados son: Cinco Maneras en La Que Podemos Combatir la Anti-Negritud, y Sobre La Importancia De La Solidaridad Interracial en La Comunidad Latina.