Welcome to the Modern Languages and Literatures (MLL) library guide. If you have any questions or would like more specialized help, don't hesitate to contact Shatha Baydoun, the Modern Languages and Literature liaison librarian. The collection provides support for study and research for our students and faculty in the Department of Modern Languages and Literatures. The Libraries have strong collections in Spanish and French languages and literatures at the undergraduate and graduate levels. Of special note is the extensive collection pertaining to the Caribbean area, specifically Cuban and Fracophone literature in the region. The Libraries' also maintain collections in German and Italian languages and literatures to support undergraduate research needs.
General MLL Databases
Shatha Baydoun
- History and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
- sbaydoun@miami.edu
- (305) 284-6027
- ARTFL: French Women Writers Database
- ARTFL: Provencal Poetry Database
- Compludoc
- Corpus de la litterature narrative du Moyen Age au XXe siecle: Romans, Contes, Nouvelles (B.A.S.I.L.E)
- Dialnet
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index
- Isidore
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance
- Teatro Espanol del Siglo de Oro (TESO)
- Archivo Digital de Prensa
In the Archivo Digital de Prensa, users can access information from 10 Colombian newspapers of national and regional circulation. Archival news dates back from 1992 on topics such as politics, government, warfare, culture, ecology and environment. - Biblioteca Ayacucho Digital
Libros en formato PDF / Electronic Books. Site and resources are in Spanish.Este novedoso compendio bibliografico en la red pone al alcance del internauta las obras mas relevantes de la literatura de esta region en formato PDF, los que tambien pueden ser leidos en voz alta por un lector de pantalla. Los libros de la Biblioteca Ayacucho Digital son concebidos y editados siguiendo los mismos parametros de calidad que caracterizan las obras impresas de nuestro fondo editorial. This novel compendium puts important works of literature from this region online, in pdf format. - Spanish Women's Magazines Digital Collection
Spanish Women's Magazines Digital Collection reflects the history of Spain through periodicals and newspapers dating from the 18th-20th centuries. The collection includes historical stories, poems, good advice for both men and women about the proper behavior of ladies at any age, beautiful colored and engraved images with the latest news of Paris fashion, music sheets of polkas and other music specifically composed for the magazines, and patterns for needlework.
Shatha Baydoun
- History and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
- sbaydoun@miami.edu
- (305) 284-6027
Find basic resources on Arabic and Arabic studies. Please contact the subject specialist librarian, Shatha Baydoun for additional help.
General Databases Arabic Language Resources
General Databases Arabic Language Resources
Historical and Current Newspapers
Secondary Arabic Sources
- Al-Hakawati
- Arab Studies Journal
- Bibliotheca Alexandrina
- Bustan: The Middle East Book Review
- Journal of Arabic Literature
- Kufa Review: International Academic Journal by the University of Kufa
- Arabic Collections Online
- ArabLit: Arabic Literature and Translation
- Banipal: Magazine of Modern Arab Literature
- Cinema and Media Studies - Oxford Bibliographies
- Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics
- Fikrun Wa Fun (Thought and Art)
- International Prize for Arabic Fiction
- Islamic Heritage Project
- New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
Shatha Baydoun
- History and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
- sbaydoun@miami.edu
- (305) 284-6027
- Bibliothèque Nationale de France
- Digital Library of the Caribbean
- Europeana
- Gallica, la Bibliothèque numérique (digital content from the Bibliothèque Nationale)
- The Library of Congress
- WorldCat
- ARTFL Encyclopédie - Encyclopédie ou Dictionnaire Raisonné des Sciences, des Arts et des Métiers: (Electronic version of Diderot's 18th century Encyclopedia)
- Le Dictionnaire de L’Académie Française (8e ou 9e édition)
- Dictionnaire Vivant de la Langue Française
- Encyclopédie de la Francophonie (Index des sujets)
- Encyclopedia of Diderot & d ’Alembert – Collaborative Translation Project
Find basic resources on Portuguese and Portuguese Studies. Please contact the subject specialist librarian, Shatha Baydoun for additional help.
General Databases
- Academic Search Premier
- Artemis: Literary Sources
- JSTOR
- MLA International Bibliography
- Project Muse
- ProQuest Research Library
- Scientific Electronic Library Online (SciELO)
- Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
- WorldCat.org
Portuguese Language Resources
- BrazilianPodClass
- Café Brasil Podcast
- Colloquial Portuguese
- Dicionário Ingles-Portugues
- Dictionary of Portuguese Language (DPLP)
- Duolingo
- Portuguese Verb Conjugation
Historical and Current Newspapers
- Diario de Pernambuco
- Folha De S Paulo
- Gazeta Online
- Latin American Newspapers Series 1
- Latin American Newspapers Series 2
- Noticas Lusofonas (NL)
- ProQuest Latin American Newsstream
- Bank of Theses on Brazilian Cinema
- Bibliteca Nacional De Portugal (BNP)
- Brazilian Government Documents
- Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)
- H-Portugal
- Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)
- Nacional de Arte Antiga
- Red AL y C (Network of Latin American, Caribbean, and Portuguese Journals)
Shatha Baydoun
- History and Modern Languages & Literatures Librarian
- sbaydoun@miami.edu
- (305) 284-6027
Search
Hours
Accounts
A Librarian