Research Guides

BUS101 - First STEP: Freshman Integrity, Responsibility, & Success through Teamwork


BUS101 Course Description
BUS101 is a required class for all Miami Business School incoming freshman.  By taking this course, students will learn about cultural competency in the workplace in addition to being exposed to collaborative group work intended to mimic real life corporate scenarios.  

Students enrolled within this course will be assigned a team project.  The project focuses on the cultural challenges a multi-national corporation faces when entering a new country. The project will culminate in a formal presentation on whether the group's selected company should be introduced in the selected country. 
Research Guide's Purpose
This page provides resources for students enrolled in the BUS101 program on their final project.  Students are encouraged to search  the databases for information regarding their assigned country and company.
Compiled by:
Miami Business School students who were enrolled and attended the BUS101 course contributed their recommendations to this guide.
Use these recommended resources to locate company information.
Business Insights: Global: This database provides company overviews with historical information as well as SWOT analyses. You are also able to compare companies and industries.


Mergent Online: This database provides statistical information and key financial information on a company.


Europa World Plus: This database provides a country profile and statistics.


ProQuest Business Market Research Collection: This database allows you to enter multiple search criteria and find articles pertaining to your company and country.
Business Library Hours - 305.284.6516
Summer 2019 Hours (through Aug. 18, 2019)
Mon - Fri.            9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

Fall 2019 Hours (Aug. 19 to Aug. 25)
Mon - Thurs.      8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

Fall 2019 Hours (Aug. 26 to Nov. 26)
Mon - Thurs.      7:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Friday                7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

Thanksgiving Holiday:  Nov. 27 to Dec. 1 - CLOSED

Fall Final Exam Hours (Dec. 2 to Dec. 11)
Mon - Thurs.      7:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Friday                7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday            7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Sunday              12:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.

Winter 2019 Hours (Dec. 12 to Dec. 20)
Mon - Fri.            9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

University Holidays:  Dec. 21 to Jan. 1 - CLOSED 
Use these recommended resources to locate historical and current country data.
Political Risk Yearbook: This database allows you to look at current and historical country conditions. It also provides forecast scenarios, projecting the political climate in your chosen country in the next five years.

Business Source Premier: This database allows you to enter multiple search criteria and find articles pertaining to your company and country.

Europa World Plus: This database provides a country profiles and directories on politics and economics.
Business Library Hours - 305.284.6516
Summer 2019 Hours (through Aug. 18, 2019)
Mon - Fri.            9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

Fall 2019 Hours (Aug. 19 to Aug. 25)
Mon - Thurs.      8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

Fall 2019 Hours (Aug. 26 to Nov. 26)
Mon - Thurs.      7:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Friday                7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

Thanksgiving Holiday:  Nov. 27 to Dec. 1 - CLOSED

Fall Final Exam Hours (Dec. 2 to Dec. 11)
Mon - Thurs.      7:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Friday                7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday            7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Sunday              12:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.

Winter 2019 Hours (Dec. 12 to Dec. 20)
Mon - Fri.            9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

University Holidays:  Dec. 21 to Jan. 1 - CLOSED 
Use these recommended resources to learn about a foreign country's customs and culture.
Global Affairs Canada - Canadian Trade Commissioner Service: This website provides you with cultural information on a country with over 15 areas including communication styles, conflicts in the workplace, and stereotypes.

Kwintessential - Country Guides & Profiles: A website that provides a country guide on etiquette, customs, and culture.

Europa World Plus:  This database provides directories on business and commerce in your country.
Business Library Hours - 305.284.6516
Summer 2019 Hours (through Aug. 18, 2019)
Mon - Fri.            9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

Fall 2019 Hours (Aug. 19 to Aug. 25)
Mon - Thurs.      8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

Fall 2019 Hours (Aug. 26 to Nov. 26)
Mon - Thurs.      7:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Friday                7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

Thanksgiving Holiday:  Nov. 27 to Dec. 1 - CLOSED

Fall Final Exam Hours (Dec. 2 to Dec. 11)
Mon - Thurs.      7:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Friday                7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday            7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Sunday              12:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.

Winter 2019 Hours (Dec. 12 to Dec. 20)
Mon - Fri.            9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

University Holidays:  Dec. 21 to Jan. 1 - CLOSED 
Use these recommended resources to find advertising information within foreign countries.
Europa World Plus: This database provides directories on society and media in your country.

Red Books:  This database provides directory information on advertising companies within foreign countries.
Business Library Hours - 305.284.6516
Summer 2019 Hours (through Aug. 18, 2019)
Mon - Fri.            9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

Fall 2019 Hours (Aug. 19 to Aug. 25)
Mon - Thurs.      8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

Fall 2019 Hours (Aug. 26 to Nov. 26)
Mon - Thurs.      7:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Friday                7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

Thanksgiving Holiday:  Nov. 27 to Dec. 1 - CLOSED

Fall Final Exam Hours (Dec. 2 to Dec. 11)
Mon - Thurs.      7:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Friday                7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday            7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Sunday              12:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.

Winter 2019 Hours (Dec. 12 to Dec. 20)
Mon - Fri.            9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

University Holidays:  Dec. 21 to Jan. 1 - CLOSED 
In-person research assistance
If you are having difficulty extracting data from the Libraries' subscription databases, contact the Business Library at 305-284-6516 Individual appointments can be setup with any member of the Business Library.

The Business Library, known as the Judi Prokop Newman Information Resource Center is located on the 4th floor of the Miami Business School's Aresty building.
Business Library Hours
Summer 2019 Hours (through Aug. 18, 2019)
Mon - Fri.            9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

Fall 2019 Hours (Aug. 19 to Aug. 25)
Mon - Thurs.      8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

Fall 2019 Hours (Aug. 26 to Nov. 26)
Mon - Thurs.      7:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Friday                7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

Thanksgiving Holiday:  Nov. 27 to Dec. 1 - CLOSED

Fall Final Exam Hours (Dec. 2 to Dec. 11)
Mon - Thurs.      7:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Friday                7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Saturday            7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Sunday              12:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m.

Winter 2019 Hours (Dec. 12 to Dec. 20)
Mon - Fri.            9:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Saturday            CLOSED
Sunday              CLOSED

University Holidays:  Dec. 21 to Jan. 1 - CLOSED 

Powered by SubjectsPlus