Research Guides

ACC211 - Fundamentals of Accounting Principles


Business Library Hours & Library Services
Closed due to COVID-19 until further notice
- For immediate assistance, click here.  

Library Services - Update
For a full list of library services during the COVID-19 situation, click here.
Welcome
Welcome to the University of Miami Libraries Research Guide for ACC211.  This core course has a course project which requires one to obtain data on two companies within the same industry.  Using the extracted data from the company's financial statements, comparative and industry ratios, a company analysis will be developed and investment feasibility determined.

This guide recommends various library research databases that will provide the data needed to develop a company analysis. 
================
 

COMPANY CLASSIFICATIONS
Companies are classified as either publicprivate or a subsidiary of a larger company.

Public companies sell shares of the company (stocks) to the general public, and are required to submit financial information and annual reports to the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.  Searching for data on a public company is easier that seeking data on a private or subsidiary company.

Private companies do not sell publicly traded stocks and as a result, are not required to release information to the government or the general public  Searching for data on a private company is challenging and is typically limited to directory information and/or news articles.

Subsidiaries of public companies can be difficult to research because the parent company is not required to report on each of them.  Subsidiary information may or may not be found in the parent company's reports and/or within news articles.

Access

List of 100+ Business Databases
The University of Miami subscribes to over 700 online databases. From the list of 700, over 100 databases are dedicated to the subject discipline of business.  Click the link above to access all the business databases.

Remote Access
Remote access to the University of Miami's online database is possible from anywhere in the world as long as you have internet access.  Once you have selected a library research database, you will be prompted for your CaneID name and password.  This process is necessary to authenticate your enrollment status at UM.

NOTE:  If you have a firewall on your computer, please bring down the firewall.  All the library research databases contain encrypted data and this will not pass through a firewall

Current Company Financials - U.S. & International
These databases will provide important financial reports (such as 10-K and 10-Q), as well an overview of the company's financial status.

Mergent Online:  This database provides financial reports that include the balance sheets, income statements, retained earnings, and cash flow data.  Additionally, this database provides the annual 10K report. 

Thomson One Banker (Not accessible via a Macbook.  Use the IE browser on a PC.):  This service provides a company overview, financial reports, and financial/growth ratios.
Contact
If you have a research question, which this guide does not address please click here.
Business Library Hours & Library Services
Closed due to COVID-19 until further notice
- For immediate assistance, click here.  

Library Services - Update
For a full list of library services during the COVID-19 situation, click here.
Company Ratios
Mergent Online:  Enter a company name or ticker symbol in the homepage's search box.  At the next screen, click on the company name.  Once the company profile appears, select the tab labeled "Company Financials".  Under this section, select "Ratios".  This search will return profitability, liquidity, asset and debt management ratios. 

Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage:  Enter a company name or ticker symbol in the homepage's search box.  Once the company profile appears, select the "Ratios" link which is located under the "Financials/Valuation" section. 
 
Contact
If you have a research question, which this guide does not address please click here.
Business Library Hours & Library Services
Closed due to COVID-19 until further notice
- For immediate assistance, click here.  

Library Services - Update
For a full list of library services during the COVID-19 situation, click here.
Investment/Analyst's Opinion Reports
​- Business Insights Global:  Search this service to obtain a SWOT analysis report.  Enter a company name on the database's homepage and review the company profile.  Select "SWOT Reports" to review several analyst reports.

Morningstar Investment Research Center:  Conduct a company search by entering the company's ticker symbol on the homepage's search box.  Once the company profile appears, select "Analysis".

Value Line Research Center:  To view the analyst's opinion, enter the company name on the homepage's search box.  Once the company profile appears, scroll down the screen to the "Commentary" section.  Select "Read More" in order to print or read the full commentary.
Contact
If you have a research question, which this guide does not address please click here.
Business Library Hours & Library Services
Closed due to COVID-19 until further notice
- For immediate assistance, click here.  

Library Services - Update
For a full list of library services during the COVID-19 situation, click here.
Industry ratios (U.S.)
RMA EStatement Studies
Within this database, select a 6-digit industry code from the drop-down menu and select "View".  At the next screen, select "Annual Statement Studies" to view industry benchmark ratios.

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Select the "Markets" tab, then click on "Key Stats & Ratios" to view or download the industry statistics.
Contact
If you have a research question, which this guide does not address please click here.
Business Library Hours & Library Services
Closed due to COVID-19 until further notice
- For immediate assistance, click here.  

Library Services - Update
For a full list of library services during the COVID-19 situation, click here.
Company Comparatives
  • Hoover's Company Profile:  This database allows you to see a company's top competitors and compare profits and ratios.  Enter the company name in the homepage's search box.  Select the company's full-text PDF report.  Go to the section labeled "Competitor List".   Comparative company financials is located under the "Competitive Landscape" section.
     
  • Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage:  Search for a publicly traded company and compare it to others in the industry by selecting "Quick Comps" within the menu column.  This will provide company comparative financial data plus more.  (Note:  Additional company comparative data can be obtained by selecting the "Industry Survey" tab. Next, click on the drop-down menu and select a GICS industry category and press "Search".  Select the most recent industry report in PDF format.  Open the PDF report and go to the "Comparative Company Analysis" section to view the list of company competitors.)
  • Thomson One Banker (Not accessible via a Macbook.  Use the IE browser on a PC.):  This database allows one to compare a company to similar companies in the industry.  Make sure to select the "Peers" tab. 
Contact
If you have a research question, which this guide does not address please click here.
Business Library Hours & Library Services
Closed due to COVID-19 until further notice
- For immediate assistance, click here.  

Library Services - Update
For a full list of library services during the COVID-19 situation, click here.
Contact
If you are having difficulty extracting data on your company of choice, click here for assistance.

 
Business Library Hours & Library Services
Closed due to COVID-19 until further notice
- For immediate assistance, click here.  

Library Services - Update
For a full list of library services during the COVID-19 situation, click here.

Powered by SubjectsPlus