Database List By Subject: International Studies


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Num All Free
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
Academic Video Online
AVON is a streaming video platform providing more than 68,000 titles spanning a wide range of subject areas, including anthropology, business, history, music, and more.
Access World News
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
America: History and Life
America: History and Life abstracts and indexes journals and dissertations on the history of the United States and Canada.
Biblioteca Digital Nacional de Cuba
Note: Debido a problemas tecnicos, el acceso a la misma lento y a veces erratico. Si no puede comunicarse enseguida, trate mas tarde. Due to technical issues, access may occasionally be slow, or cause erratic browser messages. If communication is not readily available, please try later.
La Biblioteca Digital Nacional de Cuba, producida por la Biblioteca Nacional Jose Marti esta tratando de preservar por este medio los valiosos fondos que existen en ella. The Digital National Library of Cuba produced by the Jose Marti National Library is trying to preserve its valuable materials.
Biblioteca Virtual de Prensa Historica, Spain
The Virtual Library of Historical Newspapers is one of the main digitization projects being carried out in Spain. The database includes almost 2000 headlines from 45 libraries, with 3,906,000 pages from 140 places where newspapers were printed.
British Library for Development Studies Database (BLDS)
The BLDS online catalog contains information on monographs and books acquired since 1987; journal articles have been selectively indexed since 1990.
Chatham House Online Archive: Publications and Archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs
Contains over 90 years of analysis and research on global trends and key events and issues. Subject-indexed briefing papers, special reports, pamphlets, conference papers and monographs. Users will also have access to the full text of Chatham Houses publications: International Affairs and the magazine The World Today. Additionally, the archive offers access to audio recordings of Chatham House lectures and their fully searchable transcripts on the thoughts and reasonings of key figures in international affairs.
CIA World Factbook
US government profiles of countries and territories around the world.
Columbia International Affairs Online
Columbia International Affairs Online contains the full-text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other theory and research resources in international affairs.
Complete World Development Report Online
Complete World Development Report Online includes every page of every World Development Report published by the World Bank since the first report was released in 1978.
Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities
Indexes current and retrospective bibliographic data on social sciences and humanities conferences. Contains links to Web of Science source records so items may be included in word and citation searches.
Country Studies
This collection contains the electronic versions of 80 books previously published in hard copy as part of the Country Studies Series by the Federal Research Division. Intended for a general audience, books in the series present a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of select countries throughout the world. Most books in the series deal with a single foreign country, but a few cover several countries or a geographic region. The series includes several books on countries that no longer exist in their original configuration—such as Czechoslovakia, East Germany, the Soviet Union, Sudan, and Yugoslavia. These books remain in the series because they continue to offer valuable historical information and perspective. In some cases, studies on successor states are also part of the series.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive
The CQ Researcher explores a single 'hot' issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. 44 reports are produced each year.
Current Digest of the Russian Press
Weekly digest that presents a selection of Russian-language press materials translated into English, intended for use in teaching and research.
Digital National Security Archive
Collection of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.
EconLit
EconLit, the American Economic Association's electronic database, is a source for references to economic literature dating back to 1969. EconLit provides links to full-text articles in all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, and urban economics.
Economist Intelligence Unit
The Economist Intelligence Unit is a leading provider of country intelligence. EIU produces global macroeconomic forecasts and political and economic analysis for nearly 200 individual countries.
ELDIS - Development & Environment Information
Eldis is a gateway to global development information on international development issues. It provides free and easy access to materials on developing countries including summaries and links to documents, library catalogues, international development newsfeeds, e-mail discussion lists and resource guides. The database includes over 40,000 summaries and provides free links to full-text research and policy documents from over 8,000 publishers.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch (ENW) is a comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages and more than 834,000 articles in Spanish, Ethnic NewsWatch provides in-depth coverage of a wide range of current and historical topics easily accessed using free text and fielded searching. Extensive indexing, including unique fields such as Article Type and Ethnic Group.
European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (EBSEES)
Contains nearly 85,500 bibliographic citations to scholarly articles, books, etc., relating to Eastern Europe. Covers the years 1991-2006.
Foreign Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States 1930-1944
Organized by country, Foreign Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States covers a wide range of viewpoints on political, social and economic issues including the foreign relations interactions between Central American and South American countries -- with coverage of the Caribbean, Cuba, Haiti and the Dominican Republic. Foreign Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States includes memoranda, cables, correspondence, reports and analyzes, and treaties.
Foreign Relations Between the U.S. and Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944
This digital collection contains historical documents relating to the foreign relations between the U.S. and Latin America and the Caribbean States within the years, 1930-1944. 

During the 1930s, U.S. relations with Latin America and the Caribbean Growing war clouds in Europe and Asia predicated the need for securing resources and allies in the Western Hemisphere. Giving up unpopular military intervention, the U.S. shifted to other methods to maintain its influence in Latin America: Pan-Americanism, support for strong local leaders, the training of national guards, economic and cultural penetration, Export-Import Bank loans, financial supervision, and political persuasion.
Gale General OneFile
Gale General OneFile provides access to an unprecedented number of general reference magazines and key serials in a single resource. This database is useful to users conducting general reference queries, business searches, and current event research. The addition of a browse-by-subject feature allows users to easily view content of interest on the most popular and most-searched topics within several distinct categories, including news and current events, health, and computers and technology.
Gale In Context: Global Issues
Gale In Context: Global Issues offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Gale OneFile: Informe Académico
Meet the research needs of Spanish-speaking users with a wide range of full-text Spanish and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America. Gale OneFile: Informe Académico provides quality reference material on an interface configured for Spanish speakers, allowing researchers to analyze topics and conduct research in Spanish.
Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence
Gale OneFile: Military and Intelligence contains scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of past and present military affairs. Updated daily, content supports key subject areas, such as governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
Gale OneFile: News
This innovative full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. Gale OneFile: News provides access to major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. News also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts, and transcripts.
Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism
Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism contains millions of articles to help researchers gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. This definitive collection is intended for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science.

Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
Global Newsstream covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, and El Pais.
Handbook of Latin America Studies
The multidisciplinary Handbook, edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, is a bibliography of writings in the social sciences and humanities on Latin America selected and annotated by scholars.

Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose between 2,000-3,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. The Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities (e.g., humanities are covered in 1990, social sciences in 1991).Over 60% of records contain evaluative annotations. The online version contains preliminary editions of  volumes 57-60 that have not yet been published in print.
HathiTrust
Note: Login at Hathi Trust site to download and build collections. From login tab, select University of Miami as the HathiTrust Partner Insititution and login with CaneID username/password.
UM users have full-text access to over 6.4 million public domain works within the HathiTrust.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index
The HAPI database indexes information about Latin America and Hispanic Americans in the United States.
Index Islamicus
The Index Islamicus database is an international bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world. Produced by Brill Academic Publishers, it covers their history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures. The database includes material published by Western orientalists, social scientists and Muslims writing in European languages. The file contains indexing for over 3,400 titles with coverage dating back to 1906.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
ICPSR is the world's largest archive of research and instructional data in the social sciences. Data collections available for secondary analysis include national opinion polls, attitude surveys, census and economic data.

The University of Miami is one of over 500 member colleges and universities, and UM faculty and students can download data and documentation for their own research and instructional purposes.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) Publications
Searchable index of IMF working papers, the World Economic Outlook, annual reports, the IMF Survey, Research Bulletin, country reports, and other publications. Most are available in PDF format for online reading or printing.
Journal Citation Reports
Journal Citation Reports (JCR) is a multidisciplinary database that presents statistical data useful for determining the relative importance of journals within 224 predefined subject categories.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles.
LADB (Latin America Digital Beat)
Note: As of 2018, LADB is archival only and no longer producing new content.
LADB at the University of New Mexico offers access to a variety of resources for Latin American researchers.

Resources include: an online searchable archive of over 24,000 news articles on politics, economics, human rights, the environment, drugs, guerillas, military and other stories; --- back issues of Latin American economic journals in Spanish;  --- access to three weekly electronic news bulletins about Mexico (SourceMex), Central America and the Caribbean including Cuba (NotiCen) and South America (NotiSur). The back issues of the journals make up the database.
Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers
Consisting of 13 publications and nearly 180,000 pages, the Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers collection allows for a comprehensive look into Chinese life, culture, and politics during the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the establishment of the first post-imperial government, the civil war between nationalist and communist forces, and the beginning of the People's Republic.
Latin American Network Information Center
LANIC facilitates access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America. LANIC's editorially reviewed directories contain over 12,000 unique URLs, one of the largest guides for Latin American content on the Internet.
Latin American Newsstream (ProQuest)
A selection of full-text Latin-American newspapers and newswires covering international and Latin-American regional topics. Includes over 35 Latin American newspaper in Spanish and Portuguese, with some additional content in English. Leading newspapers include: Mural (Mexico), El Norte and Reforma (Mexico), O Globo and Folha de Sao Paulo (Brazil), La Nacin (Argentina), El Pais (Uruguay), El Nuevo Dia (Puerto Rico).
Latin Americanist Research Resources Pilot Project
The Latin Americanist Research Resources Project database indexes articles in over 400 social science and humanities journals published in south and central America. The full-text of articles is available via interlibrary loan. The service also includes a Digital Collection of Mexican and Argentine Presidential Messages.
Latin Trade
The one-stop source for market intelligence on Latin America's business and technology.
Military & Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals and other content. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for over 300 journals/periodicals, 245 pamphlets, and indexing and abstracting for over 400 titles.

Full text is presented in PDF format (some in color) and the Adobe Acrobat Reader is required.
New York Times via ProQuest (1980-Current)
Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Nikkei Asia
Nikkei Asia provides news coverage and insights on Asia's most influential companies as well as thorough coverage of the region's politics, economy, markets, and trends.
OECD (Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development) iLibrary
OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD, IEA, NEA, OECD Development Centre, PISA, and ITF.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of International Studies
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of International Studies, a collaboration between Oxford University Press and the International Studies Association, promises to be the most compreshensive reference work of its kind in the fields of international relations and international studies, combining updated and previously existing articles from the ISA's International Studies Encyclopedia along with new ones to create a continuously updated source of information. 
Political Risk Yearbook
Political Risk Yearbook forecasts the risk of doing business in 100 countries. Each includes comments and analysis on recent events, profiles of key political players, and wide-ranging forecast scenarios, as well as basic historical and political background and data on the government, political entities, the environment, and the economy, including key sectors.
Polling The Nations
The ultimate resource for polling information is Polling the Nations with more than 400,000 questions including the work of 700 polling organizations. Each question in international, state, local and special polls is listed under one of 4,500 topics.

Polling the Nations is the most comprehensive collection of public opinion, with information from not only in the United States but also more than 90 countries around the world. The database includes the full text of the questions and responses covering a broad range of issues. Polling the Nations began in 1981 as a database of American Public Opinion Index. Over the years the database expanded to include surveys from more than 90 other countries in Europe, Canada, Mexico, Africa, and Asia in an electronic format. Polling the Nations has collected more than 500,000 questions from an amazing array of sources. There are 5000 topics in the Polling the Nations database. No other source even approaches this number. The subjects cover myriad issues such as gun control, abortion, government, women, race relations, the economy and children. In addition to these recurring themes, episodic events such as the Clinton impeachment, the 2000 vote count in Florida and the September 11 attacks are added in a timely fashion.
POPLINE
A population/demography studies database of primarily English language research in journals, monographs, technical reports, and unpublished works.
ProQuest Congressional
Provides indexing and selected full-text access to current and historical legislative information from the United States Congress including hearings, bills, laws, reports and other publications.
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
Revistas UNAM
Full-text of selected journals published by the National Autonomous University of Mexico.
Risk Abstracts
Experts define risk as a combination of the magnitude and probability of adverse effects. Risk Abstracts indexes the interdisciplinary journal literature centered on the identification and alleviation of risk in today's world.

Published in association with the Institute for Risk Research at the University of Waterloo, Risk Abstracts encompasses risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment and management of risk. The journal includes occasional articles on topics of significant interest. The broad, multidisciplinary coverage of risk-related concerns ranges from public and environmental health to social issues and psychological aspects.This database is a subfile of the Environmental Science and Pollution Management Database.
Social Sciences Citation Index
Social Sciences Citation Index provides international, cover-to-cover indexing of the most cited journals in social sciences. The databases is searched via the Web of Knowledge Citation Databases service. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Wilson Social Sciences Full Text indexes a wide range of social sciences journals.Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in January 1994; full-text coverage begins in January 1995.
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts research literature published worldwide in journals and other serial publications.

Social Planning/Policy Development (SOPODA) is included as a subfile, providing additional literature on policy issues addressing violence, abuse, housing, the environment and other social issues.
Testaments to the Holocaust (DFG Nationallizenzen)
Searchable personal accounts of life in Nazi Germany, photographs, propaganda materials, publications, and serials in a flexible format. For research into the domestic policies of Nazi Germany, Jewish life in Germany from 1933 to after the war.
UM Libraries Digital Collections
This site features a growing collection of digital objects developed to preserve and support digital scholarship and the research, teaching, and learning mission of the University. Digital Collections feature materials from the collections at University of Miami Libraries, Calder Medical Library, University of Miami Archives and from distinctive collections developed in collaboration with non-library partners.
United Nations Treaty Collection
United Nations Treaty Collection contains the text of international agreements registered with the United Nations since 1946 and information on the status of the registered treaties.
The Wall Street Journal Online
Published since 1889, the Wall Street Journal covers U.S. and world news, as well as politics, arts, culture, and more. The online version includes streaming news, interactive options, video features, blogs, and more traditional content.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts indexes journal articles in political science and related areas(international relations, law, public administration, and public policy).
Ynet
Ynet is Israel's most comprehensive and authoritative source of information for Hebrew content on the Web. Ynet publishes real-time news, commentary articles, and opinion pieces about Israel and the Middle East 24 hours a day.

Ynet offers an extensive index and a variety of subject channels covering news breaks, sports, finance, food, entertainment, computer technology, travel, and short stories. Text is presented in Hebrew.
LinkedIn Learning
LinkedIn Learning

Tutorials just a click away. We offer access to LinkedIn Learning's 5,000 video tutorials covering business, creative, and technology topics.

Powered by SubjectsPlus