Database List By Subject: Multidisciplinary


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Num All Free
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
The 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection includes newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). The present digital collection, totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles.
19th Century British Library Newspapers
Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers offers full runs of national, regional and local 19th century British newspapers, taken directly from the holdings of the British Library. The content includes 48 titles, totaling approximately 2.2 million pages, selected to reflect the social and political developments of the times in which they were published.
19th Century U.S. Newspapers
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, including full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,500 journals, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed titles.
Alexander Street
Alexander Street provides an online platform for discipline-focused primary source collections, websites, and streaming media aimed at learning and research in a wide variety of fields. Currently accessible content includes over 900,000 albums, 2600 videos, and and nearly 47,000 text documents.
Alexander Street Video
Allows users to cross-search all of the videos published by Alexander Street Press. There are currently over 2600 videos available in a wide variety of fields ranging from world history to cooking.
Ambrose Video
Ambrose Video provides streaming educational content in a variety of disciplines. The University of Miami currently has access to over 30 videos in the BBC Shakespeare Play collection and the entire Long Search series, a discussion of the basic beliefs of the world's major religions.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection: Series 1-5
The American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals from the American Antiquarian Society, the premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. This collection exists as a series of five databases that include 6,500 titles featuring more than 10 million pages of content published between 1691 and 1876.
American Indian Correspondence: Presbyterian Historical Society Collection of Missionaries' Letters, 1833-1893
American Indian Correspondence: Presbyterian Historical Society Collection of Missionaries Letters, 1833-1893 is a collection of letters to and from the Board of Foreign Missions of the Presbyterian Church in the United States of America. Their letters describe native peoples and cultures, tribal factionalism, relations with the U.S. government and the many problems and achievements of their work.
American Indian Movement And Native American Radicalism
The American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism includes FBI documentation on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest, as well as valuable documentation on the 1973 Wounded Knee standoff. Informant reports and materials collected by the Extremist Intelligence Section of the FBI provide insight into the motives, actions, and leadership of AIM and the development of Native American radicalism.
American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
The American Memory project of the Library of Congress National Digital Library Program digitizes distinctive, historical Americana holdings at the Library of Congress, including photographs, full-text manuscripts and rare books, maps, recorded sound and moving pictures. To achieve its goal, this unique public-private program, also works in cooperation with members of the Digital Library Federation and other libraries and archives throughout the United States. For example, digital collections from the LC/Ameritech Digital Library Competition are included.
American Periodicals Series
American Periodicals Series includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the twentieth century, covering two centuries of Americana (1741-1900). Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies' Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
Americas Barometer
The Americas Barometer is a survey of democratic public opinion and behavior that covers the Americas. It is an effort by LAPOP to measure democratic values and behaviors in the Americas using national probability samples of voting-age adults.
Ancestry Library Edition
Ancestry Library Edition is the worlds largest online family history resource that can give you instant access to hundreds of years of history in billions of historical documents and millions of historical photos from all over the world.
Annual Reviews
The Annual Reviews service provides searchable, full text access to review articles covering biomedical/life sciences, physical sciences, social sciences, and economics.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender
A unique fully-searchable collection, Archives of Human Sexuality and Identity: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940, Part I brings together approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Rare and unique content from microfilm, newsletters, organizational papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and other types of primary sources sheds light on the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more. Part II provides coverage of the development, culture, and society of LGBTQ groups in the latter half of the twentieth century, providing new perspectives on a diverse community through materials such as oral history transcripts, diaries, and letters, as well as periodicals and manuscripts.
Archives Unbound
Topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that cover a broad range of subjects.
ARL Annual Salary Survey
The ARL Annual Salary Survey reports salaries for more than 12,000 professional positions in ARL member libraries on an annual basis. These data are used to determine whether salaries are competitive, equitable across institutions and personal characteristics, and keeping up with inflation. The survey also tracks minority representation in ARL US libraries and reports separate data for health sciences and law libraries.
ARL SPEC kits
SPEC surveys gather information from ARL member institutions on current research library practices and policies. SPEC Kits combine the survey results and documentation from ARL member institutions to guide libraries as they address the ever-changing challenges facing libraries. These guides help libraries learn about current practice in research libraries, implement new practices and technologies, manage change, and improve performance.
ARL Statistics
ARL Statistics is a series of annual publications that describe the collections, expenditures, staffing, and service activities for ARL member libraries. The ARL Statistics Collection includes the annual publications ARL Statistics, ARL Academic Health Sciences Library Statistics, and ARL Academic Law Library Statistics that were published from 2006 to the present.
ArticleFirst
ArticleFirst is a daily updated multidisciplinary index and abstracting service covering articles in academic periodicals.
Associated Press Images Collection
More than 12 million photographs dating back to 1826, more than 36,000 audio sound bites, and more than 340,000 professionally-produced graphics. Coverage spans over 185 years, with more than 3,500 photos added daily.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
The Biography and Genealogy Master Index consists of biographical materials on people from all time periods, geographic locations, and fields of endeavor. The entries contained within provide bibliographic references to books containing material on a person, including an indication of which books include a portrait.
Bloomsbury Cultural History
Bloomsbury Cultural History is an extraordinary, fully cross-searchable digital resource that engages with culture throughout the ages from antiquity to modernity. Thanks to its interdisciplinary nature and ever-expanding collections, this unique digital reference tool promises to be an essential resource on many courses from cultural studies and sociology to history and anthropology.
Brill Online Reference Works
A collection of reference texts focusing on the Humanities and Social Sciences, International Law and selected areas in the Sciences.
Britannica Online
Britannica Online includes the online version of the Encyclopedia Britannica, the 10th ed. of the Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, Britannica's Internet Guide, and The World Guide with maps, country information, and news
BrowZine
Note: To access BrowZine from your smartphone or tablet, download the BrowZine app from the appropriate app store.
Delivers subscribed academic journals to your desktop or laptop, smartphone or tablet.
Calder Medical Library Online Catalog
The online catalog of the Calder Medical Library, University of Miami.
Chemical & Engineering News
Weekly magazine published by the American Chemical Society that covers science and technology, business and industry, government and policy, education, and employment aspects of the chemistry field.
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Completely searchable and easy to use, The Chicago Manual of Style Online provides recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices for the digital age.
Christian Science Monitor
The Christian Science Monitor is an international daily newspaper published Monday through Friday. Founded in 1908 by Mary Baker Eddy.
The Chronicle of Higher Education
The Chronicle of Higher Education is the leader in higher education journalism, providing readers with real-time news, valuable insights, and the tools, opportunities, and knowledge to succeed in the world of higher education.
Coleccion Revolucion 1910-1921
This collection was collected and collated by members of the Committee on Historical Research of the Mexican Revolution, under the direction of Isidro Fabela in 1958, in preparation for the publication of historical documents on the Mexican Revolution. This collection reproduces documents from various archives, under the protection of the Archivo General de la Nacion.
Columbia Gazetteer of the World Online
This is a full-text database with detailed descriptions and statistics on thousands of countries, cities, mountains, rivers, and every other kind of political area or geographic feature. It allows the user to look up a single place or to produce lists of features based on statistical criteria  i.e., a list of longest rivers or cities over 1000 feet above sea level.
Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities
Indexes current and retrospective bibliographic data on social sciences and humanities conferences. Contains links to Web of Science source records so items may be included in word and citation searches.
Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales (CLACSO) Virtual Library Database
Contains the publications of 159 research organizations in Latin America and the Caribbean that form the membership of CLACSO.
COS Conference Papers Index
Conference Papers Index indexes papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings worldwide. Records include complete ordering information to obtain preprints, abstracts, proceedings and other publications derived from the conference, together with title and author information needed to track the specific papers. Information is derived from final programs, abstracts booklets and published proceedings, as well as from questionnaire responses.
Crisis in the Dominican Republic: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Files, February 1963-1966
The Dominican Republic has experienced many setbacks on the road to democracy. Dominican political history has been defined by traditions of personalism, militarism, and social and economic elitism which has undermined its efforts to establish liberal constitutional rule.

This collection includes State Department, U.S. Embassy, and Dominican republic governmental dispatches, instructions, and miscellaneous correspondence dealing with topics such as political affairs and government; public order and safety; military affairs; social matters (including history and culture); economic conditions (including immigration and emigration); industry and agriculture; communications and transportation; and navigation.
Cuartel General del Sur, 1910-1925
The collection contains correspondence addressed to Emiliano Zapata; combat reports; relations with troop commanders and officers; promotion and appointment requests; allegations of abuses committed by military personnel; applications for food, uniforms and ammunition; letters and telegrams on the transfer of prisoners.
Dialnet
Note: Individual users are required to register.
Spanish periodical index created by Universidad de Rioja. Covers the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Digital Scholar Lab
Note: Users are required to log in via Google or Microsoft account.
Gale's Digital Scholar Lab is a cloud-based research environment that allows users to apply language processing tools to raw text data (OCR) from Gale primary source content in a single research platform.
Dissertations & Theses @ University of Miami
This database gives access to the dissertations and theses produced by students at the University of Miami.
DMPTool
The DMPTool is a free service that helps researchers and institutions to create high-quality data management plans that meet funder requirements. DMPTool offers ready-to-use templates to create a data management plan for NSF, NIH, NEH, DOE, IMLS and others.
DOE OpenNet
The Department of Energy (DOE) OpenNet database provides easy, timely access to over 485,000 bibliographic references and 140,000 recently declassified documents, including information declassified in response to Freedom of Information Act requests.

In addition to these documents, OpenNet references older document collections from several DOE sources. This database is updated regularly as more information becomes available.
e-Libro
Provides e-book collections in Spanish and Portuguese.
Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Note: Users are required to authenticate both on campus and off campus.
Provides access to a growing collection of academic titles across many disciplines. Users will be prompted to authenticate both on campus and off campus. Books may be viewed online using the EBook Central reader. Many titles are also available to download for reading offline. Windows and Mac users will use Adobe Digital Editions to view the downloaded titles (freely available at "http://www.adobe.com/products/digitaleditions/#download"). iPad users will use the Bluefire Reader app to view the downloaded titles.
Ebook Collection (EBSCOHost)
Provides access to over 20,000 academic titles across many disciplines. Books may be viewed online using the EBSCOhost Full Text reader. Many titles are also available to download for reading offline. Users will be prompted to create / log in to their own EBSCOhost account to access the download functionality. Windows and Mac users will use Adobe Digital Editions to view the downloaded titles (freely available at "http://www.adobe.com/products/digitaleditions/#download"). iPad users will use the Bluefire Reader app to view the downloaded titles.
EBSCOHost
The EBSCOHost service provides gateway access to a number of searchable databases including Academic Search Elite, Business Source Premier, SPORTDiscus, The Serials Directory, NTIS, and Professional Development Collection.
Elektronische Zeitschriftenbibliothek - Frei zugangliche E-Journals
The Electronic Journals Library is a service to facilitate the use of scholarly journals on the internet. It offers a fast, structured and unified interface to access full-text articles online.

The collection comprises of 87375 titles from all areas of research, of which 17503 are available online only. In addition, it contains 54582 journals which are accessible free of charge to anyone. Please note that titles are published in their native languages, so not all of them will be available in English.
Emiliano Zapata, 1901-1919
This collection comprises documentation related to the activities of Emiliano Zapata and the Liberation Army of the South. It consists mainly of correspondence exchanged between the headquarters and the camps and regional commands.

Documents include requests for economic aid; guarantees to people for jobs and food; complaints of abuses; reports, promotions, and notifications to the troops and brigades, as well as information on pay. The documentation also includes acts or proceedings on revolutionary and civil trials; correspondence with municipal or State authorities in connection with problems of land, water, control of finance, trade, etc.; and, information concerning the revolutionary Convention sovereign.
Encyclopaedia Iranica
The Encyclopaedia Iranica is a multi-disciplinary reference work and research tool designed to record the facts of Iranian history and civilization. It focuses on the land, life, culture and history of all Iranian peoples and their interaction with other societies.
EndNote
Students, faculty and staff download from the University of Miami Technology Center.
Ethnographic Video Online
Ethnographic Video Online provides over 2000 hours of film, including documentaries, primary source footage, and select feature films for the visual study of human culture and behavior.
Europeanna.eu
Europeana.eu is about ideas and inspiration. It links you to 50 million digital items from Europe's museums and galleries, archives, libraries, and audio-visual collections. Europeana.eu includes images - paintings, drawings, maps, photos and pictures of museum objects; Texts - books, newspapers, letters, diaries and archival papers; Sounds - music and spoken word from cylinders, tapes, discs and radio broadcasts; Videos - films, newsreels and TV broadcasts.
Feature Films for Education
Feature Films for Education is a digital video streaming platform that offers hundreds of full-length feature films for educational purposes; focusing on both current and hard-to-find titles, the collection includes literary adaptions, blockbusters, classics, foreign films, and more. Recommend Chrome browser.
Feminism in Cuba: Nineteenth through Twentieth Century Archival Documents
This collection, compiled from Cuban sources, spans the period from Cuban independence to the end of the Batista regime. The collection sheds light on Cuban feminism, women in politics, literature by Cuban women and the legal status of Cuban women.
Final Accountability Rosters of Japanese-American Relocation Centers, 1944-1946
The rosters that form Final Accountability Rosters of Japanese-American Relocation Centers, 1944-1946 provide demographic information on the evacuees resident at the various relocation camps. They consist of alphabetical lists of evacuees resident at the relocation centers during the period of their existence.
FirstSearch Web
OCLC FirstSearch service provides access to a broad collection of databases covering many disciplines and interests. With more than 60 databases, FirstSearch contains in-depth abstracting and indexing to over 35,000 popular magazines, scholarly journals, encyclopedias, phone books, business directories and financial reports. Some are familiar databases from the leading information providers, others are OCLC exclusive offerings.
Florida Electronic Library
Note: Requires login with a Florida Public Access library card barcode number.
The Florida Electronic Library is a gateway to select Internet resources licensed by the State of Florida for Florida Public Library patrons. Available resources include electronic magazines, newspapers, almanacs, encyclopedias, and books, providing information on topics such as current events, education, business, technology, and health issues. The Florida Electronic Library offers information for all age groups, including homework help for students and resources for teachers.
Food Studies Online
Food Studies Online is the first database offering in one place the most relevant and valuable materials in this new and exciting area. It will include works about how food shapes and defines people's lives through the eyes of philosophers, historians, scientists, sociologists, artists, anthropologists, activists, physicists, psychologists, chefs, and many other important researchers.
Foundation Directory Online
The Foundation Directory Online is comprised of two searchable databases: a) Foundation Database; b) Grants Database. The foundations database contains a directory of over 76,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities. The grants database is a collection of over 350,000 grants rewarded by foundations located in the United States.
Gale Academic OneFile
Gale Academic OneFile connects learners to the information they’re looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. This premier periodical resource provides millions of articles from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources with extensive coverage in key subject areas, such as biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental science, history, marketing, political science, and psychology. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.
Gale Artemis: Primary Sources
An integrated research environment that allows users to search across all Gale primary source collections.

The following collections are currently available within Gale Artemis: Primary Sources:

Gale General OneFile
Gale General OneFile provides access to an unprecedented number of general reference magazines and key serials in a single resource. This database is useful to users conducting general reference queries, business searches, and current event research. The addition of a browse-by-subject feature allows users to easily view content of interest on the most popular and most-searched topics within several distinct categories, including news and current events, health, and computers and technology.
Gale Health and Wellness
Gale Health and Wellness (formerly known as Health & Wellness Resource Center) offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more.
Gale In Context: Biography
Gale In Context: Biography is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. Biography merges Gale's authoritative reference content with periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.
Gale In Context: College
Gale In Context: College is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content withfull-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies focuses on the physical and social aspects of environmental issues. Topic, organization, state and province portals form research centers around issues covering earth systems, global change, land and water use, populations, legislation, and more. Portal overviews provide essential information, supplemented by academic journals, news, case studies, conferences, statistics, and rich multimedia.
Gale In Context: Global Issues
Gale In Context: Global Issues offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal.
Gale In Context: Middle School
Gale In Context: Middle School combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the solution features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Gale In Context: Science
Gale In Context: Science is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Gale In Context: World History
Gale In Context: World History is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History. World History merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine includes information created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals. Health and Medicine is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on a complete range of healthcare topics.
Gale OneFile: Popular Magazines
Gale OneFile: Popular Magazines includes the most searched magazines focusing on current events, sports, science and health issues.
Gale OneFile: Vocations and Careers
Gale OneFile: Vocations and Careers aids users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. Vocations and Careers offers hundreds of current and applicable periodicals ranging from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These eBooks are available 24/7 with no checkout. Titles can be browsed, searched and downloaded anytime from any Internet-connected device.
General Reference Center Gold
General Reference Center Gold provides access to an integrated set of general interest sources: magazines, newspaper articles, childrens magazines, almanacs, encyclopedias, dictionaries, reference books and more. Content includes more than 5,700 titles, of which, more than 4,400 are available in full-text, making it easy for researchers to locate answers for their general-interest research queries.
Global Newsstream (ProQuest)
Global Newsstream covers national and leading regional newspapers including The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post. International coverage includes The Guardian, The Globe and Mail, Jerusalem Post, and El Pais.
Google Book Search
Search the full text of Books and find the perfect book for your purposes and discover new ones that interest you.
Google Scholar @ UM
Search Google Scholar with direct links to University of Miami Library Resources. Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. 

If you are within the UM campus or, if from Scholar Preferences you select the University of Miami Libraries, your Google Scholar results will include direct links to items available at UM.  If this information is in a subscription database, you will be prompted to log in with your CaneID username and password.
Harper's Digital Archive
Full archival access to the oldest general-interest monthly in America
HathiTrust
Note: Login at Hathi Trust site to download and build collections. From login tab, select University of Miami as the HathiTrust Partner Insititution and login with CaneID username/password.
UM users have full-text access to over 6.4 million public domain works within the HathiTrust.
HeinOnline Treaties and Agreements Library
The world's most-comprehensive online collection of image-based U.S. treaties and other international agreements. Contains more than 18,000 records of treaties and agreements to which the United States has been a party.
Hispana
Hispana is an advanced resource for accessing digital information on the internet by interconnecting digital information databases produced in Spain by all type of institutions.
Homeland Security Digital Library
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation’s premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. Resources in the Homeland Security Digital Library cover a wide range of homeland security topics and are carefully selected and evaluated by a team of librarians and content specialists.

Sources include, but are not limited to: Federal, state and local governments; International governments and institutions; Nonprofit organizations and private sector entities; Think tanks, research centers, colleges and universities.
ILLiad Interlibrary Loan Service
Using the ILLiad Interlibrary Loan service, University of Miami library faculty, students, and staff may borrow books, dissertations, journal articles and other materials not found at UM from other libraries.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive (1842-2003)
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive includes access to the entire run of the ILN from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003. Each page has been digitally reproduced in full color and every article and caption is full-text searchable with hit-term highlighting and links to corresponding illustrations. Facsimilies of articles and illustrations can be viewed, printed and saved either individually or in the context of the page in which they appear.
Independent Voices
Independent Voices is a four-year project to digitize over 1 million pages from the magazines, journals and newspapers of the alternative press archives of participating libraries.
Indian Trade in the Southeastern Spanish Borderlands: Papers of Panton, Leslie and Company
Comprising the papers of the Panton, Leslie & Co., a trading firm, this collection is the most complete ethnographic collection available for the study of the American Indians of the Southeast. More than 8,000 legal, political and diplomatic documents recording the company’s operations for over half a century have been selected and organized for this collection.
INFORMS PubsOnLine
INFORMS PubsOnLine provides full access to INFORMS online journals (full text and graphics of published papers). Subscribers may print and download article content for their personal use only.

Papers published online before print are now available to all INFORMS subscribers through Articles in Advance. INFORMS PubsOnLine subscribers receive access to: full-text, document delivery, PDFs, tables of contents, abstracts, full text searching, eAlerts, Articles in Advance, forward linking to CrossRef and the official DOI link registration agency for scholarly publications.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) Publications
Searchable index of IMF working papers, the World Economic Outlook, annual reports, the IMF Survey, Research Bulletin, country reports, and other publications. Most are available in PDF format for online reading or printing.
Kanopy
Kanopy is a video streaming service that provides students and educators access to a large database of over 30,000 films--including award-winning documentaries, training films, indie and foreign films, must-see classics, and blockbuster movies.
Law Library Microform Consortium Digital
Law Library Microform Consortium (LLMC) is a non-profit cooperative serving the needs of legal researchers and historians.  Over a ten year period, LLMC plans to digitize over 200,000 volumes of U.S. and international law literature.

The LLMC digital collection will provide current as well as retrospective coverage of active titles. The first installment covers many of the earliest decisions of U.S. Federal agencies and departments, such as Administrative Decision under the Immigration Laws, volumes 1-19.

It is the hope that the entire Federal Collection will be online by the end of 2004, including executive materials (official departmental materials, public papers of the Presidents), judicial materials (official Federal Court decisions), and legislative materials (statutes at large, U.S. Treaties).
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts,(LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings.
Life and Times of Jorge Luis Borges
World's largest collection of materials related to Borges' life and works. Includes full text of Borges' early contributions to serial publications.
LinkedIn Learning
Note: Users must create a free, individual account in order to access content.
Offers over 42,000 how-to videos on a wide-range of software applications, from Microsoft Word and Adobe Photoshop to Final Cut Studio.
Los Angeles Times

Comprehensive coverage back to 1985 is available for one of the leading sources of national and international news. The complete text of recent articles is provided in the ASCII format.

Each issue is indexed thoroughly for access to not only top news stories, but also detailed information on the arts, sports, business, and popular culture.


Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926
The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages provides researchers access to critical legal history.
Making of Modern Law: U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978, features a fully searchable database of approximately 11 million pages, consisting of a century and a half of Supreme Court history in a comprehensive full-text collection.
Manuscript Collections Relating to Slavery
Includes 12,000 pages of source materials documenting the history of slavery in the United States, the Atlantic slave trade and the abolitionist movement.
Mendeley
Note: For full access, register using your University of Miami email address.
Mendeley is a reference and pdf manager with collaboration tools and an online social network that allows you to discover and share research. It has both online and desktop components.
Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary
The latest version of this leading dictionary is available for searching at the online Encyclopedia Britannica Web site.
Miami Herald (1911-Current)
Full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community.
MLA Directory of Periodicals
The MLA Directory of Periodicals, produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), provides detailed information on thousands of journals and book series in the fields of literature, language, linguistics, film, rhetoric and composition, and folklore. Entries cover publication details, contact information, submission requirements and editorial policies, subscription terms, electronic availability and advertising, and useful statistics such as circulation, average number of articles submitted and published, time from submission to decision, and time from decision to publication. All periodicals and book series indexed in the MLA International Bibliography are listed in the directory.
National Academy Press Digital Library
The National Academy Press is a searchable multidisciplinary digital library of full-text book length research studies and policy reports by leading experts in their fields. Hundreds of titles are available in PDF or HTML format. Readers are able to search the full-text of one or all publications; search all titles; browse by subject category.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
Contains full-text theses and dissertations from colleges and universities around the world. The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations.
New York Times Digital Edition
Note: New users must create an individual account using their University of Miami email address.  Existing users must re-register annually to maintain access.  Account holders may then log in on any device at NYTimes.com.
Digital edition of The New York Times.
NewsBank Full Text Newspapers
Provides full-text information and perspectives from over 1400 U.S. and over 1200 international sources. Each source has its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis®—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century, with content being sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.
O'Reilly for Higher Education
With more than 35,000 e-books and 30,000 hours of video, O'Reilly for Higher Education is a dynamic learning platform designed to keep users at the forefront of business and technology.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook, produced by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, is a nationally recognized source of career information.

Revised every two years, the Handbook describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, the training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations. Special sections include The Career Guide to Industries and Job Opportunities in the Armed Forces. The site also includes links to other occupation related web sites and information provided by the U.S. government.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson)
The Wilson Omnifile Mega search via the WilsonWeb gateway allows researchers to cross-search the complete contents of 6 H.W. Wilson databases: Education Full-Text Full-Text; General Science Full-Text Full-Text; Humanities Full-Text Full-Text; Readers' Guide Abstracts Full-Text; Social Sciences Full-Text Full-Text; Wilson Business Abstracts Full-Text; and subsets of these databases: Applied Science & Technology; Art Retrospective; Biological & Agricultural; Index to Legal Periodicals; Library & Information Science
OpenEdition Journals
A platform of open access journals for the humanities and social sciences.
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Note: Please note: access to this database is restricted to a single concurrent user.
First point of reference for anyone interested in the lives of the peoples of the British Isles and their connections overseas, from the earliest times into the 21st century.
Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference Online contains about 100 general and subject dictionaries, and language reference works published by Oxford University Press. The collection is fully-indexed and cross-searchable.

The collection includes quotations, proverbs, place-names and other general reference works. Among the English language reference works are thesauri and a wide variety of dictionaries (e.g. grammar, abbreviations, idioms, eponyms, euphemisms). Foreign language dictionaries include German, Italian,and Spanish. Specialized subject dictionaries are available in a wide range of disciplines.
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of International Studies
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of International Studies, a collaboration between Oxford University Press and the International Studies Association, promises to be the most compreshensive reference work of its kind in the fields of international relations and international studies, combining updated and previously existing articles from the ISA's International Studies Encyclopedia along with new ones to create a continuously updated source of information. 
Oxford Scholarship Online
Complete text of 2,557 monographs in the core areas of Biology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Mathematics, Music, Linguistics, Literature, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health and Epidemiology and Religion.
PapersFirst
PapersFirst is a multidisciplinary index to papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia.
Peeters Online Bibliographies
Launched in 1997, this database covers all fields of philosophy in nearly 30 languages and is designed as a complement to other bibliographical tools, focusing on the history of philosophy and continental philosophy. It is updated four times a year and includes references to books, edited volumes, journal articles, contributions, and reviews.
Pivot
Note: Off-campus users: please sign up for a new account at https://pivot.proquest.com/register using your miami.edu email address.
Pivot is a database of currently available grants, prizes, awards and other funding opportunities for researchers and scholars.
Primary Search
Full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.
Project Gutenberg Online Catalog
A catalog of over 57,000 free eBooks that can be read online or downloaded in both EPUB and Kindle formats.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (PQDTGlobal)
The world's most comprehensive collection of full-text dissertations and theses. Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertations and theses from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full-text coverage for older graduate works. It also includes PQDT UK & Ireland content.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Jerusalem Post (1932-2008)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
ProQuest Research Library
ProQuest Research Library provides in-depth coverage of the top 150 core academic subject, including 5,060 titles -over 3,600 in full text- from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
Red AL y C (Network of Latin American, Caribbean, and Portuguese Journals)
A database put together by faculty members at the National Autonomous University of Mexico of full text articles from 123 Latin American and Caribbean journals in the social sciences and humanities.
RefWorks - Legacy
Note: To access, users must create/log into an individual account.
Refworks is a web based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases.
RefWorks - New
Note: To access, users must create/log into an individual account.
Refworks is a web based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases.
Researcherid.com
ResearcherID is a global, multi-disciplinary scholarly research community. By assigning a unique identifier to each author who participates, ResearcherID provides an index to accurate author identification and increases recognition of work and collaboration among researchers. Search the registry to find collaborators, review publication lists and explore how research is used around the world.
SAGE Publications
Provides online access to the full text of individual SAGE journals. SAGE Publications publishes over 460 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology and Medicine.
SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is an online tool for research designed to guide users through every step of the research process. It includes more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, while the Methods Map is meant to help find the best research technique, with answers that range from a quick answer found in a dictionary to case studies, teaching datasets, and full-text titles.
SAGE Research Methods Cases 1
SAGE Research Methods Cases 1 is a collection of case studies written by the researches themselves that show the realities of doing research; they explain how the methods use were chosen, how problems in research were overcome, and what might have been done differently with hindsight. All of the cases are peer-reviewed and include tools for further learning and investigation that allow  them to be used both as a teaching tool and as inspiration for other research projects.
SAGE Research Methods Datasets 1
SAGE Research Methods Datasets 1 is a collection of teaching datasets and instructional guides that are indexed by method and data type and optimized to be used for practicing analysis and analytical decisions as a way to improve as a researcher.
Scholarship@Miami
The Scholarly Repository features selected research and scholarly works prepared by faculty, students, and staff at the University of Miami.
Scientific American Archive Online
Full text of Scientific American from 1993-present
SCOPUS
Covering the life, physical, health, and social sciences, Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources.

Scopus covers:  Over 15,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 international publishers, including coverage of:  500 Open Access journals, 700 Conference Proceedings, 600 Trade Publications, 125 Book Series. More than 60% of titles are from countries other than the US Abstracts go back to 1966. References go back to 1996. 80% of content is indexed with controlled vocabularies. 100% coverage of Medline, including unique Medline journals. 28 million abstract records. 245 million references added to all abstracts. Scopus also covers 250 million quality web sources, including 13 million patents. Web sources are searched via Scirus, and include author homepages, university sites and resources such as the preprint servers CogPrints and ArXiv.org, and OAI compliant resources.
Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive Part I contains more than 7,000 books and pamphlets, 80 newspaper and periodical titles, and a dozen major manuscript collections.
Social Explorer
Social Explorer provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. The easy-to-use web interface lets users create maps and reports to illustrate, analyze, and understand demography and social change. In addition to its comprehensive data resources, Social Explorer offers features and tools to meet the needs of demography experts and novices alike.
Social Networks and Archival Context

SNAC takes on the task of separating the description of persons, families, and organizations—including their socio-historical contexts—from the description of the historical resources that are the primary evidence of their lives and work. A key objective is to provide researchers with convenient, integrated access to historical collections held by multiple private and public archives and libraries around the world while also setting the stage for a cooperative program for maintaining information about the people documented in the collections.

SNAC allows archivists, librarians, and scholars to jointly maintain information about the people documented in archival collections. It will also improve the economy and quality of archival processing and description, and address the challenge of discovering, locating, and using distributed historical records.


Spanish Women's Magazines Digital Collection
Spanish Women's Magazines Digital Collection reflects the history of Spain through periodicals and newspapers dating from the 18th-20th centuries. The collection includes historical stories, poems, good advice for both men and women about the proper behavior of ladies at any age, beautiful colored and engraved images with the latest news of Paris fashion, music sheets of polkas and other music specifically composed for the magazines, and patterns for needlework.
State Papers Online: Early Modern Government in Britain and Europe, 1509-1782
Part I: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Domestic; Part II: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Foreign, Scotland, Borders, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council; Part III: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Domestic; Part IV: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Foreign, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council; Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part I: State Papers Domestic, Military, Naval and Registers of the Privy Council.
Sun Sentinel
Full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community.
Sunday Times Digital Archive 1822-2006
The Sunday Times Digital Archive is one of Gale's historical newspapers that enables users to search, retrieve and share The Sunday Times archive articles easily online. In close to 600,000 pages, The Sunday Times Digital Archive is a gateway to the greatest crimes, careers and culture of the last 180 years.
Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000
The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000 has over 1 million pages of content and includes the Sunday edition from its inception in 1961. The archive offers a fundamental insight into domestic and international affairs and culture over a timespan of almost 150 years.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive
The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive including book reviews, film reviews, play reviews and more.
UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory
Ulrich's provides authoritative information on more than 125,000 academic journals, consumer magazines, conference proceedings, newspapers and other serials worldwide.

Quick search feature provides access to periodical description by ISSN number, subject, keyword, exact and partial title words. The Advanced Search allows results to be sorted and the  expands search options to publisher, publisher city, language, LC classification number, status (e.g. active, forthcoming), special features (e.g. book reviews), and other indexes. Search may be limited by price, publisher name, refereed, serial type and more. Ulrich's Update compiles data on new launches, title changes, title mergers, and cessations, on a monthly basis.
University of Miami Electronic Theses and Dissertations
Provides a searchable, full text repository of UM theses and dissertations in PDF format. The Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) program is a joint effort between the Graduate School and the University of Miami Libraries. The University of Miami ETD site provides a publicly available, searchable, full text repository of UM theses and dissertations in PDF format.
Victorian Popular Culture
Resource for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. The resource is divided into four self contained sections: Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment; and Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments & the Advent of Cinema.
The Wall Street Journal Online
Published since 1889, the Wall Street Journal covers U.S. and world news, as well as politics, arts, culture, and more. The online version includes streaming news, interactive options, video features, blogs, and more traditional content.
Web of Knowledge
Web of Knowledge is a gateway providing cross product searching & integrated access to these services: Web of Science, Journal Citation Reports, Current Contents Connect, Web of Science Proceedings and Highly Cited.
Web of Science Citation Indexes
Web of Science, published by Thomson Reuters, is a multi-disciplinary database that provides integrated access to over 8,000 key research journals indexed in: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.

There are two main ways to search the database: --- select General Search to search for articles by subject term, author name, journal title, or author affiliation --- select Cited Reference Search to search for articles that cite an author or article that you specify. Web of Knowledge features citation searching, email alerts, links to the full text of many items.
World Cinema Collection
With over 1000 films from around the world including the best of the silent era, groundbreaking international directors, masterpieces from the mid-20th century, and more contemporary works, this collection provides insight into the history of cinema as well as the cultures and issues of countries worldwide.
World Scholar: Latin America And The Caribbean
World Scholar: Latin America & the Caribbean breaks new ground in the publishing world by bringing together in a single place a rich collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news-feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video; and much more. World Scholar covers topics such as politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science, and technology. The topics are presented on a country and continent level, offering deep contextualization of the subjects under discussion.
WorldCat.org
WorldCat.org lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and around the world. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos and other digital content, such as downloadable audiobooks.
yourDictionary.com
This is a global language portal that provides access to over 1800 dictionaries in 230 languages. The site includes general language, speciality, and multi-lingual dictionaries, grammars and more.
LinkedIn Learning
LinkedIn Learning

Tutorials just a click away. We offer access to LinkedIn Learning's 5,000 video tutorials covering business, creative, and technology topics.

Powered by SubjectsPlus