Database List By Subject: Modern Languages & Literatures


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Num All Free
ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language)
ARTFL provides access to databases containing the full-text of a broad range of significant books, texts, bibliographies and other works supporting the study of French language and literature. The site contains searchable databases (ARTFL Main Database of French Texts, ARTFL: French Women Writers Database, and the ARTFL: Provenal Poetry Database) and supports many public access databases including the Dictionnaires d'autrefois, the Encyclopédie of Diderot and d'Alembert, and the Bibliothèque Bleue de Troyes. 
ARTFL French Dictionaries
The ARTFL Reference page contains links to its Dictionnaires d'autrefois , a newly-developed French-English, English-French modern dictionary and other reference works for linguistics study.
ARTFL Main Database of French Texts
The full-text of over 3500 French texts spanning the 12th through the 20th centuries.
ARTFL: Provencal Poetry Database
This French language database contains the full-text of Provençal poetry. The selected works span 1130 to 1300.
British Literary Manuscripts Online
Facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials. Searching is based on tags and descriptive text associated with each manuscript. Images of the complete manuscript can be viewed, manipulated and navigated on screen. Please note that the text of the manuscripts themselves is not searchable. Includes: "British Literary Manuscripts Online, Medieval and Renaissance" & "British Literary Manuscripts Online, c. 1660-1900"
e-Libro
Provides e-book collections in Spanish and Portuguese.
Erudit
Érudit is the largest disseminator of French-language resources in North America. Through its research platform, Érudit offers a centralized access to the majority of francophone publications in the social sciences and humanities from North America, including scholarly and cultural journals, books, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, as well as various research documents and data.

In all, more than 200,000 documents are made available from a single point of access.
Gale Literature: Book Review Index
Gale Literature: Book Review Index includes more than 5.6 million book reviews, allowing users to conduct research in numerous disciplines, including literature, history, education, psychology, and more. This unique product provides quick access to reviews of books, periodicals, books on tape and electronic media representing a wide range of popular, academic and professional interests.
HathiTrust
Note: Login at Hathi Trust site to download and build collections. From login tab, select University of Miami as the HathiTrust Partner Insititution and login with CaneID username/password.
UM users have full-text access to over 6.4 million public domain works within the HathiTrust.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance
Iter features 2 scholarly bibliographic databases, one featuring journal articles, and the other, books.

The Journals database contains over 225,000 records from more than 400 scholarly journal titles pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). The Books database is a bibliography of monographs, material published in monographs, and collected essays pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). More than 60,000 new records are added annually.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
The Guide is a reference to the intellectual traditions of literary theory, from Plato and Aristotle to the present, but with a concentration on modern literary criticism and theoretical research.
Life and Times of Jorge Luis Borges
World's largest collection of materials related to Borges' life and works. Includes full text of Borges' early contributions to serial publications.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
This service indexes and abstracts literature worldwide on linguistics and language behavior for researchers and practitioners in psychology, communication, education, language studies and related areas.
Mango Languages
A comprehensive suite of courses covering the most popular languages in the world.
MLA International Bibliography
The MLA Bibliography indexes some one million citations from over 4,000 journals and series published worldwide on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Oxford Duden German Dictionary
This is the premier, authoritative German-English, English German dictionary. This dictionary is provided as a selection in the Past Masters service.
Oxford Scholarship Online
Complete text of 2,557 monographs in the core areas of Biology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Mathematics, Music, Linguistics, Literature, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health and Epidemiology and Religion.
SUR Online
Important Spanish language literary magazine. Revista Sur, founded and directed by Victoria Ocampo, became one of the most important journals in the international literary community during its 60 years of publication, 1931-1992, in Buenos Aires. It enjoyed the collaboration with and the publications from very influential authors in the Spanish and Hispanic literary worlds, including Jorge Luis Borges, Jos Ortega y Gasset, Alfonso Reyes, Adolfo Bioy Casares, Pedro Henrquez Urea, Octavio Paz, Jules Supervielle, Silvina Ocampo, Ramn Gmez de la Serna, Eduardo Mallea, among others.
Teatro Espanol del Siglo de Oro (TESO - Chadwyck)
Note: Please note: this collection will no longer be available as of December 31st, 2020.
Contains the complete text of more than 800 plays by 16 dramatists of sixteenth and seventeenth century Spain including Lope de Vega, Calderon de la Barca, and Agustin Moreto.

Users can search using any word, phrase or title, or by restricting the terms to a single author, various authors, to a specific genre etc. The search fields are: keyword, title, speaker, playwright, genre. The service provides a Spanish language interface.
LinkedIn Learning
LinkedIn Learning

Tutorials just a click away. We offer access to LinkedIn Learning's 5,000 video tutorials covering business, creative, and technology topics.

Powered by SubjectsPlus