Database List By Subject: Nursing & Health Studies


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Num All Free
Access Medicine
Include's Harrison's Online and Goodman and Gilman's Pharmacology. McGraw-Hill's AccessMedicine.com is an innovative online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, and researchers with instant answers to clinical questions from the most trusted sources.  Updated daily and expanded continuously, Access Medicine is designed for direct access to the information necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, case management decisions, conducting research, medical education, or self-assessment and board review.
Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Now in its 5th edition and featuring completely reshot content and new clinical skills videos, Bates Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.
BioMed Central
Independent open access publisher committed to providing free full-text access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.
Calcium and Calcified Tissue Abstracts
Indexes current research in bone metabolism, tooth development, nerve transmission, muscle contraction, hormone secretion, and other topics related to the role of calicium in biology and medicine.
Chemoreception Abstracts
Indexes literature on the sensory and biological aspects of taste, smell, pheromones, perfumes, fragrances, soaps, cosmetics, essential oils, foods, flavorings, aromas, spices, etc.
CINAHL Plus
Primary index to the international literature of nursing and health.
ClinicalKey Flex
ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine that supports clinical decisions by making it easier to find and apply relevant knowledge.
ClinicalTrials.gov
Database of clinical trials sponsored by the National Institutes of Health, other Federal agencies and the pharmaceutical industry. Provides status of trials.
Cochrane Library
Collection of health databases providing independent evidence to inform clinical treatment decisions and other health related decisions.
Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science
Indexes current and retrospective bibliographic data on science conferences. Contains links to Web of Science source records so items may be included in word and citation searches. Data indexed: conference titles, sponsors, locations, dates  article titles, authors, author addresses  publisher names and addresses  series titles, book titles, ISSN and ISBN numbers.
DynaMed
DynaMed is the next-generation clinical reference tool physicians can rely on for fast, easy access to point-of-care decision support. Written by a team of specialized physicians and researchers, content is updated several times daily to include information on the latest evidence-based research, providing practice-changing answers to clinical questions with optimized speed.
Embase
Embase is a comprehensive biomedical literature database that provides over 30 million abstracts and indices from published, peer-reviewed literature, in-press publications and conferences covering the most important international biomedical literature from 1947 to the present day.

It includes full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data, supported by the Embase thesaurus Emtree, which facilitates precise searching so users may find the answers they need to their research questions.
Essential Nursing Collection (Journals@Ovid)
The Essential Nursing Collection is comprised of 49 sources, most are scholarly journals with clinical and theoretical content. Useful newsletters are included as well. Most articles are in full text.
Essential Science Indicators
Essential Science Indicators reveals emerging science trends as well as influential individuals, institutions, papers, journals, and countries in your field of research. This unique and comprehensive compilation of science performance statistics and science trends data is based on journal article publication counts and citation data from Web of Science.

Features & benefits include the ability to conduct on-going, quantitative analyses of research performance and trends in science; analyze research performance of individuals, companies, institutions, nations, and journals. Identify significant trends in the sciences and social sciences; rank top countries, journals, scientists, papers, and institutions by field of research; determine research output and impact in specific fields of research.
EthicShare
EthicShare is a research and collaboration Web site for scholars working in the field of ethics. Developed with an initial focus on bioethics, the EthicShare collection features scholarly articles, books, archival and digital objects, popular press literature, dissertations, and commission reports, as well as blogs and other sources.
Gale Health and Wellness
Gale Health and Wellness (formerly known as Health & Wellness Resource Center) offers access to thousands of full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and more. Perfect for researchers at all levels, this comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices, and more.
Gale In Context: College
Gale In Context: College is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a wide array of subjects. The solution merges Gale's authoritative and continuously updated reference content withfull-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine includes information created specifically for students, knowledgeable consumer health researchers, and health care professionals. Health and Medicine is the perfect resource for up-to-date information on a complete range of healthcare topics.
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health
Gale OneFile: Nursing and Allied Health includes full-text titles cited in CINAHL to support specialized care, treatment, and patient management. Nursing and Allied Health helps nursing professionals working in the field as well as students studying a nursing-focused curriculum.
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine covers the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.
HathiTrust
Note: Login at Hathi Trust site to download and build collections. From login tab, select University of Miami as the HathiTrust Partner Insititution and login with CaneID username/password.
UM users have full-text access to over 6.4 million public domain works within the HathiTrust.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Provides descriptions of tests, manuals, rating scales and other instruments used to assess health and behavior. The information can assist researchers and others in locating a variety of instruments used in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, education, and library and information science. The service contains primary and secondary material, such as checklists, interview schedules, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques.
Health Services/Technology Assessment Texts (The National Library of Medicine)
Full-text of biomedical and health care clinical practice guidelines, consumer health brochures, evidence reports, and other resources prepared by the National Institutes of Health.
Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest)
Healthcare Administration Database (ProQuest) is a comprehensive full-text database covering a wide range of health topics, including global public health, health administration, healthcare workers, hospitals, statistics, policy, finance and more.
Joanna Briggs Institute Evidence Based Practice (EBP) Database
The Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database allows you to search simultaneously, a wide range of summarized and appraised evidence, to inform your practice. This comprehensive range of resources includes over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.
Journals@Ovid Full Text
Journals@Ovid Full Text provides full-text access to 65 Nursing and 54 Psychology journals (PsycARTICLES).
Journals@Ovid LWW Total Access Collection
The LWW Total Access Collection is an expansive collection of over 250 medical and nursing journals published by Lippincott Williams & Wilkins (LWW) that is available exclusively through Ovid.
Lippincott Health Library
This database provides full-text access to selected textbooks across a range of medical education topics as well as related clinical skill simulations, case studies, and audio content.
MarketResearch.com Academic
MarketResearch.com Academic provides access to detailed market research from leading sources such as Kalorama Information, Packaged Facts, and Specialists in Business Information.

Studies contain charts, tables, and graphs and are between 200 and 400 pages in length. Full studies are available on MarketResearch.com Academic with twelve (12) months of being made available to corporate clients. MarketLooks reports are also available and provide easy-to-read summaries of full-length reports. The reports are available within the same month of publication.
MEDLINE (EBSCO)
Comprehensive index to the international literature of biomedicine including clinical practice, psychosocial issues, health care administration, medical research, nursing, and more.
MEDLINE (OVID)
Comprehensive index to the international literature of biomedicine including clinical practice, psychosocial issues, health care administration, medical research, nursing, and more.
MEDLINE (ProQuest)
Comprehensive index to the international literature of biomedicine including clinical practice, psychosocial issues, health care administration, medical research, nursing, and more.
MEDLINE (Web of Knowledge)
Comprehensive index to the international literature of biomedicine including clinical practice, psychosocial issues, health care administration, medical research, nursing, and more.

In addition to medical research and practice, subject coverage includes allied health, the biological and physical sciences, psychology, sociology, the humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population and reproductive biology. It includes more than 9.5 million records. More than 4,300 journals worldwide are indexed. About 52% of current cited articles are published in the U.S.; nearly 86% are published in English; about 76% have English abstracts written by authors of the articles. Abstracts are included for about 67% of the records.
MedlinePlus
Extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 750 diseases and conditions.
Micromedex
Micromedex Solutions provide hospitals and healthcare providers with a single source of clinical information from need-to-know drug, pediatric, disease, lab, and toxicology information to comprehensive resources for patient and consumer education.

Hospitals can use Micromedex evidence and real-time clinical surveillance to proactively find and administer preventative care to high-risk patients to help prevent or mitigate Avoidable Drug Events, Hospital-Acquired Infections, and more.
National Center for Health Statistics
The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is a part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NCHS is the Federal Government's principal vital and health statistics agency. The service provides information based on collection systems such as vital statistics, health care, hospital, and health insurance data.
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
Research literature covering all aspects of the alcohol abuse and alcoholism.
Natural Medicines
Natural Medicines provides unbiased, evidence-based information and ratings on over 90,000 dietary supplements, natural medicines, and integrative therapies.

Formally known as Natural Standard.
NIH RePORTER
NIH RePORTER contains substantive descriptions of biomedical research funded by the Food & Drug Administration & the National Institutes of Health, Department of Health and Human Services.

Most of the research falls within the broad category of extramural projects, grants, contracts, and cooperative agreements conducted primarily by universities, hospitals, and other research institutions. Information includes an abstract of project, principal investigators, award type & activity, sponsor, & grant amount.
Oncogenes and Growth Factors Abstracts
Abstracting journal of both experimental and clinical literature focusing on mechanisms of oncogenes and cancerous cell growth factors. This index is a subfile of the Biological & Medical Sciences Database
OVID Gateway
Provides access to a variety of databases indexing the literature of art, biomedicine, music and philosophy. Services currently include Biological Abstracts, CINAHL, Journal@OVID fulltext, Medline and CANCERLIT.
Oxford Clinical Psychology
Oxford Clinical Psychology provides full-text access to over 300 titles in Oxford's global clinical psychology publishing program in an integrated online service. Covering a broad range of specialty areas, disorders, and treatment modalities, Oxford Clinical Psychology enables users to search and browse high-quality research and practice information.
PapersFirst
PapersFirst is a multidisciplinary index to papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia.
Proceedings First
Proceedings First is a multidisciplinary index of published meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses, and symposia worldwide.

Individual papers are indexed in the companion database: PapersFirst.
PsycINFO
Abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, in behavioral science and mental health. Citations and summaries date back to early 1800s; journal coverage from 1887 to present. From the American Psychological Association.
PubMed - US National Library of Medicine, NIH
Provides access to citations for biomedical articles from Medline and life science journals. Citations may include links to full-text articles.
R2 Digital Library
The R2 Digital Library is an online platform that offers full text access to health science ebooks. Featuring a comprehensive collection of medical, nursing and allied health ebooks, the database offers more than 3,000 health science ebooks from nearly 50 leading publishers.
Researcherid.com
ResearcherID is a global, multi-disciplinary scholarly research community. By assigning a unique identifier to each author who participates, ResearcherID provides an index to accurate author identification and increases recognition of work and collaboration among researchers. Search the registry to find collaborators, review publication lists and explore how research is used around the world.
SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is an online tool for research designed to guide users through every step of the research process. It includes more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, while the Methods Map is meant to help find the best research technique, with answers that range from a quick answer found in a dictionary to case studies, teaching datasets, and full-text titles.
SAGE Research Methods Cases 1
SAGE Research Methods Cases 1 is a collection of case studies written by the researches themselves that show the realities of doing research; they explain how the methods use were chosen, how problems in research were overcome, and what might have been done differently with hindsight. All of the cases are peer-reviewed and include tools for further learning and investigation that allow  them to be used both as a teaching tool and as inspiration for other research projects.
SCOPUS
Covering the life, physical, health, and social sciences, Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources.

Scopus covers:  Over 15,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 international publishers, including coverage of:  500 Open Access journals, 700 Conference Proceedings, 600 Trade Publications, 125 Book Series. More than 60% of titles are from countries other than the US Abstracts go back to 1966. References go back to 1996. 80% of content is indexed with controlled vocabularies. 100% coverage of Medline, including unique Medline journals. 28 million abstract records. 245 million references added to all abstracts. Scopus also covers 250 million quality web sources, including 13 million patents. Web sources are searched via Scirus, and include author homepages, university sites and resources such as the preprint servers CogPrints and ArXiv.org, and OAI compliant resources.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Wilson Social Sciences Full Text indexes a wide range of social sciences journals.Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in January 1994; full-text coverage begins in January 1995.
Social Services Abstracts
Bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas including social welfare, social policy and community development.
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts indexes and abstracts research literature published worldwide in journals and other serial publications.

Social Planning/Policy Development (SOPODA) is included as a subfile, providing additional literature on policy issues addressing violence, abuse, housing, the environment and other social issues.
Thieme E-Book Library
The Thieme E-Book Library is an online collection of illustrated full-color downloadable textbooks from Thiemes Color Atlases and Flexibook series. Each electronic book retains the educational utility of the print version, including full-color illustrations and instructive text plus a search function to help users easily locate topics across the entire collection. The collection covers every course in the medical school curriculum to help students, researchers and clinicians master critical subjects in medicine and the life sciences.
University of Miami Research Profiles
University of Miami Research Profiles (formerly SciVal Experts) is a tool that allows researchers to pinpoint UM biomedical faculty by their area of proficiency.
UpToDate
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource combining broad coverage of adult primary care, subspecialty internal medicine, ob/gyn, general surgery and pediatrics. Contains over 77,000 pages of original, peer-reviewed text that are written, reviewed and continuously updated by over 5,100 physicians to ensure that the content remains current. The expert faculty synthesizes the most recent medical information in order to provide users with specific, practical, evidence-based recommendations for diagnosis and treatment that have been proven to improve patient care and quality.
Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library Databases
Established to support the learning and science of nursing and support nurses' efforts to improve health. Provides access to a variety of nursing resources including the STTI (Sigma Theta Tau International) Research Library.
Virology and AIDS Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts international literature of virology in humans, animals, and plants with topics ranging from replication cycles to oncology.
VisualDx
VisualDx aids in the identification of dermatologic, infectious, genetic, metabolic, nutritional and occupational diseases, benign and malignant growths, drug-induced conditions, and other injuries. Engineered for use at the point of care, the VisualDx system allows physicians to search by diagnosis, build a patient-specific differential, or look up drug-induced adverse reactions by medication. The database covers more than 1,300 pediatric and adult conditions represented by nearly 30,000 images.
LinkedIn Learning
LinkedIn Learning

Tutorials just a click away. We offer access to LinkedIn Learning's 5,000 video tutorials covering business, creative, and technology topics.

Powered by SubjectsPlus