Germany

USearch



More Options





Tips for using USearch
There are many different kinds of materials described on this page. To see all that the library has to offer for a specific category, use the USearch box above.

Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type “MAPS”, “GUIDEBOOKS”, “FEATURE FILMS”, or “DOCUMENTARY” and the name of a country in the blank box and hit Enter.
Germany
More Information About Germany and Its Cities


Another database that provides information about places is the Columbia Gazetteer of the World. It includes articles about Argentina and individual cities.

Germany

Berlin

 
Films About Your Country
Image result for documentaries

The Libraries also have a lot of documentaries about other countries. These are also in our DVD collection.

To see a list of films on your country of choice, use the Usearch box in the right-hand column. Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type DOCUMENTARY GERMANY in the blank box and hit Enter.

Once you get your results, look down the left-hand column. Under Location, choose DVD-Non-fiction.

A sample of what we have includes:



Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
 
Germany
This page contains materials that are available to students and faculty who are involved with the Study Abroad program in Germany.
Quick Facts


The information listed here as well as the flag and map images on this page were found in the Britannica Academic database. To see the full article, click here.

Official name: Bundesrepublik Deutschland (Federal Republic of Germany)

Capital city: Berlin


National language: German

Major religion: Protestant Christian


 
Language Help
logo-f2c9fc00.png
  • Brush up on your language skills or learn a new language
  • 72 languages are available, including German
  • Watch movies with subtitles
  • Practice on the go with the mobile app (available through the database for Apple and Android)

Log on here!
Suggested Readings
Here are a few titles that we recommend for reading. Many others are available in the USearch system.

Night by Elie Wiesel
Floating in My Mother's Palm by Ursula Hegi
 
Travel Guides
Image result for travel guides
  • Plan your free time!
  • Large collection in the Richter Library
  • These can be borrowed
Some of the titles we have are:



 
Your libraries are here to help!
Even when you are abroad, there are librarians available to help you and library materials that you can use.

Many of the materials here at the UM Libraries are available online from anywhere in the world.You may use the Usearch box on this page to search for books, articles, and other items. By going to the UM Libraries home page, you can also access our other databases.

Even though we're miles apart, we'd still like to help if we can. Feel free to use our Ask-A-Librarian service. Just remember to allow for any time difference.

Also, as a student at your university in Germany, you can use their library as well. Be sure to check it out!
Germany
Watch a Movie!
Image result for movies

One way to brush up on your language skills is by watching foreign language movies. Movies are also a good way to learn about a country. We have a large selection available in our DVD collection.

Here are a few examples of what we have:

Das Leben der Anderen

Good Bye Lenin!
 
Nirgendwo in Afrika

Die fetten Jahre sind vorbei! = The edukators Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
Newspapers
Image result for newspapers
Inform yourself on current topics!

Databases with newspapers from Germany

 
Maps
Image result for travel guides
Would you like to look at maps of where you're going? The Libraries have a large collection of paper maps.
  • Country and city maps
  • Maps on history, geology, industry, and other subjects
A sample of what we have for Germany includes:





 
Need more help?

Terri Robar