Argentina

USearch



More Options





Tips for using USearch
There are many different kinds of materials described on this page. To see all that the library has to offer for a specific category, use the USearch box above.

Change EVERYTHING to LIBRARY CATALOG. Then type “MAPS”, “GUIDEBOOKS”, “FEATURE FILMS”, or “DOCUMENTARY” and the name of a country in the blank box and hit Enter.
More Information About Argentina


Another database that provides information about places is the Columbia Gazetteer of the World. It includes articles about Argentina and individual cities.

Argentina

Buenos Aires

 
Films About Your Country
Image result for documentaries

The Libraries also have a lot of documentaries about other countries. We try to collect titles that will describe what life is like for the citizens rather than just the tourists. These are also in our DVD collection.

A sample of what we have includes:

The 1985 film Niños desaparacidos and the 2007 follow-up Who Am I?

Mega World: Big Science, Big Tech, Big World

Open Sky

Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
 
Argentina
This page contains materials that are available to students and faculty who are involved with the Study Abroad program in Argentina.
Quick Facts


The information listed here as well as the flag and map images on this page were found in the Britannica Academic database. To see the full article, click here.

Official name: República Argentina (Argentine Republic)

Capital city: Buenos Aires


National language: Spanish

Major religion: Roman Catholic


 
Language Help
logo-f2c9fc00.png
  • Brush up on your language skills or learn a new language
  • 72 languages are available, including Latin American Spanish
  • Watch movies with subtitles
  • Practice on the go with the mobile app (available through the database for Apple and Android)

Log on here!
Suggested Readings
Here are a few titles that we recommend for reading. Many others are available in the USearch system.

Fictions by Jorge Luis Borges
     English     Spanish
Kiss of the Spider Woman by Manuel Puig
     English     Spanish
Money to Burn by Ricardo Piglia
     Spanish
The Argentina Reader by Gabriela Nouzeilles and Graciela Montaldo
Travel Guides
Image result for travel guides
  • Plan your free time!
  • Large collection in the Richter Library
  • These can be borrowed
Some of the titles we have are:

2016 Rough Guide to Argentina

2015 Fodor's Buenos Aires

2008 Cafés Notables de Buenos Aires

 
Your libraries are here to help!
Even when you are abroad, there are librarians available to help you and library materials that you can use.

Many of the materials here at the UM Libraries are available online from anywhere in the world.You may use the Usearch box on this page to search for books, articles, and other items. By going to the UM Libraries home page, you can also access our other databases.

Even though we're miles apart, we'd still like to help if we can. Feel free to use our Ask-A-Librarian service. Just remember to allow for any time difference.

Also, as a student at your university in Argentina, you can use their library as well. Be sure to check it out!
Argentina
Watch a Movie!
Image result for movies

One way to brush up on your language skills is by watching foreign language movies. We have a large selection available in our DVD collection.

Here are a few examples of what we have:

Nueve Reinas

El Secreto de Sus Ojos
Any DVD not on Reserve may be borrowed for 1 week. The DVD collection is located on the 1st floor of the Richter Library.
Newspapers
Image result for newspapers
Inform yourself on current topics!

Databases with newspapers from Argentina

Latin American Newsstand
including La Nación from Buenos Aires

Lexis Nexis Academic
Includes La Nación as well as other more specialized sources.
Maps
Image result for travel guides
Would you like to look at maps of where you're going? The Libraries have a large collection of paper maps.
  • Country and city maps
  • Maps on history, geology, industry, and other subjects
A sample of what we have for Argentina includes:

2005 map of Buenos Aires from International Travel Maps

2009 tourist map of Argentina from the Argentina Ministerio de Turismo Cultura y Deporte

2009 Glaciar Viedma mapa topográfico



 
Need more help?

Terri Robar