Database List By Subject: History

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Num All

more information Restricted Resource 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
The 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection includes newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817). The present digital collection, totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text available19th Century British Library Newspapers
Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers offers full runs of national, regional and local 19th century British newspapers, taken directly from the holdings of the British Library. The content includes 48 titles, totaling approximately 2.2 million pages, selected to reflect the social and political developments of the times in which they were published.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text available19th Century U.S. Newspapers
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, including full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text available19th Century UK Periodicals
19th Century UK Periodicals is a database using content from the British Library, the National Library of Scotland, the National Library of Australia, and many other sources, to make available digitized versions of key 19th Century UK Periodicals.
more information Resource contains imagesAd*Access
Ad*Access presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableAfrican American Newspapers, 1827-1998
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This collection features papers from more than 35 statesincluding many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.
more information Restricted Resource African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
African-American Newspapers: The 19th Century provides first-hand reports of the cultural life and history of African-Americans in the United States.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableAmerica's Historical Imprints
Contains monographs, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and ephemera. Available here: Civil War Broadsides and Ephemera; Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819.
more information Restricted Resource America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922
A collection of fully searchable historical American newspapers between 1690-1922
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableAmerica: History and Life
America: History and Life abstracts and indexes journals and dissertations on the history of the United States and Canada.
more information Restricted Resource American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
Covers journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union.
more information Resource contains imagesAmerican Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
The American Memory project digitizes distinctive, historical Americana holdings at the Library of Congress, including photographs, full-text manuscripts and rare books, maps, recorded sound and moving pictures. The Library of Congress National Digital Library Program digitizes distinctive, historical Americana holdings at the Library of Congress, including photographs, manuscripts, rare books, maps, recorded sound, and moving pictures. To achieve its goal, this unique public-private program, also works in cooperation with members of the Digital Library Federation and other libraries and archives throughout the United States. For example, digital collections from the LC/Ameritech Digital Library Competition are included.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableAmerican Slavery: A Composite Autobiography
Commonly known as the WPA Slave Narratives, American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography provides an authentic portrait of life, culture and survival for African Americans during the periods of slavery, Reconstruction and Depression-era America. Over 2,000 autobiographical narratives from former slaves in 17 states are included as part of this Federal Writer's Project (FWP) which was conducted under the auspices of the Work Projects Administration (WPA) and sponsored by the Library of Congress. Fully searchable by name, state, county and age, the collection and its index are enhanced through the offering of public discussion forums, links to virtual syllabi, teaching resources, and curriculum guides, plus a variety of related Web resources.
more information ArchiveGrid
Note: For assistance, please contact the Special Collections Division, 8th Floor, Otto G. Richter Library, 305-284-3247
ArchiveGrid is a tool for searching through historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world.
more information Restricted Resource Resource contains imagesAssociated Press Images Collection
More than 12 million photographs dating back to 1826, more than 36,000 audio sound bites, and more than 340,000 professionally-produced graphics.  Coverage spans over 185 years, with more than 3,500 photos added daily.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index
The ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index (CPLI) Online is a database that covers all aspects of the Catholic faith and lifestyle. It includes over 360,000 index citations of articles and reviews published in Roman Catholic periodicals, Papal documents, church promulgations, and books about the Catholic faith that are authored by Catholics and/or produced by Catholic publishers. Published by the Catholic Library Association, indexing for CPLI Online corresponds to the print version and covers content from over 200 periodicals. Coverage in the database dates back to 1981.
more information Restricted Resource Bibliography of British and Irish History
Provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableBibliotheca Teubneriana Latina
Bibliotheca Teubnerina Latina contains Latin texts from Antiquity and Late Antiquity, and from medieval and modern Latin. In addition, some one million new word forms have been added, mainly scholia and texts of grammarians, as well as the editions which have been published in print since 2005. Approximately 13 million word forms are now accessible electronically.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableBiography In Context
Biography in Context includes nearly a million biographical entries composed of 600,000+ biographies covering more than 525,000 individuals, 170+ reference titles, and 50,000 new or updated bios added annually in addition to daily updates.
more information Restricted Resource Black Economic Empowerment: The National Negro Business League
This collection comprises the National Negro Business League files in Part III of the Booker T. Washington Papers in the possession of the Library of Congress.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableBlack Studies Center
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more. It combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), The Chicago Defender, and the Black Literature Index.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableCaribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876
The Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 database is the largest collection of fully searchable 18th- and 19th-century Caribbean newspapers in this region. Created in partnership with the American Antiquarian Society, this collection showcases the evolution of the region across two centuries chronicled within more than 140 titles from 22 islands and will prove essential for research on colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and related topics
more information Some full text availableChronicling America (Library of Congress)
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
more information Restricted Resource Civil War in Words and Deeds
This collection comprises, in its entirety, the Primary Source Media microfilm collection entitled Travels in the Confederate States. In addition, a small number of selected titles were included from the microfilm collection entitled Travels in the New South I, 1865-1900.
more information Restricted Resource Civil War Service Reports of Union Army Generals
These records comprise Entry 160: Generals Service Reports, 1864-1887, RG94: Records of the Adjutant Generals Office, 1780s-1917.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableCivil War: Antebellum to Reconstruction, 1840-1877
This resource features more than 150 newspapers from all regions of the United Statesplus approximately 50,000 government documents and 4,000 broadsides and pieces of ephemera. The collection of primary materials provides local and national coverage of American culture, politics and society from 1840 through 1877.
more information Restricted Resource Crisis in the Dominican Republic: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Files, February 1963-1966
The Dominican Republic has experienced many setbacks on the road to democracy. Dominican political history has been defined by traditions of personalism, militarism, and social and economic elitism which has undermined its efforts to establish liberal constitutional rule.

This collection includes State Department, U.S. Embassy, and Dominican republic governmental dispatches, instructions, and miscellaneous correspondence dealing with topics such as political affairs and government; public order and safety; military affairs; social matters (including history and culture); economic conditions (including immigration and emigration); industry and agriculture; communications and transportation; and navigation.
more information Restricted Resource Cuartel General del Sur, 1910-1925
The collection contains correspondence addressed to Emiliano Zapata; combat reports; relations with troop commanders and officers; promotion and appointment requests; allegations of abuses committed by military personnel; applications for food, uniforms and ammunition; letters and telegrams on the transfer of prisoners.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableCurrent Digest of the Russian Press
The Current Digest of the Russian Press is a weekly digest that presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, which are carefully translated into English. The translations are intended for use in teaching and research. They are therefore presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the publisher of the journal.
more information Restricted Resource Defining Gender
Defining Gender provides access to a vast body of original British source material that will enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.
more information Restricted Resource Dictionary of National Biography Online
The Oxford Dictionary of National Biography is the national record of men and women who have shaped British history and culture, worldwide, from the Romans to the 21st century. The Dictionary offers concise, up-to-date biographies written by named, specialist authors.
more information Restricted Resource Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts
The Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts is a uniquely exhaustive resource for historians, theologians, political scientists, and sociologists studying the religious and social upheavals of the 16th and 17th centuries. The database gives researchers immediate, web-based access to an extensive range of seminal works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras. In addition, it offers in-depth browsing and searching of a treasury of theological writings, biblical commentaries, confessional documents, sermons, letters, polemical treatises, and other works by hundreds of Protestant authors.
more information Restricted Resource Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation
The Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation includes hundreds of seminal but often hard-to-find works, including papal documents, synodal decrees, catechisms, confessors’ manuals, biblical commentaries, theological treatises, liturgical works, inquisitorial manuals, preaching guides, saints’ lives, and devotional literature. Offering extensive selections from authors as diverse as Robert Bellarmine, Antoine Arnauld, Johannes Cochlaeus, Michael Bajus, Thomas Stapleton, Cesare Baronio, Luis de Granada, and dozens more, the database represents the full range of ideas and opinions that sparked and sustained Catholic reform in the heady years before, during, and after the landmark decrees of the Council of Trent.

Most of the works in The Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation are period editions presented in their original languages of Latin, English, French, Italian, Spanish, and German. To maximize the research utility of the database, scholars have access not only to the fully-searchable text file, but also to a digital facsimile of each historically important edition chosen by the editors.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableDigital National Security Archive
Collection of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945.
more information Resource contains images Resource contains audioDocumenting the American South
A digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes ten thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.
more information Restricted Resource Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
Based on Charles Evans’ renowned “American Bibliography” and Roger Bristol’s supplement, Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 is the definitive resource for every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America. This digital collection contains virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America over a 160-year period.

Topics covered include agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other subject imaginable. Including more than 36,000 printed works and 2.3 million pages, Series I also offers new imprints not available in microform editions.
more information Restricted Resource Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 provides a comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century. Based on the noted “American Bibliography, 1801-1819” by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker, this collection contains more than four million pages from over 36,000 items—including 1,000 catalogued new items unavailable in previous microform editions.

Through Early American Imprints, Series II, students and scholars can extensively research westward expansion, the development of American arts (literature, music, painting, etc.), the progression of American political thought and much more. In addition to books, broadsides and pamphlets, the collection includes published reports and the works of many European authors reprinted for the American public. Additionally, a large number of state papers and early government materials—including presidential letters and congressional, state and territorial resolutions—chronicle the political and geographic growth of the developing American nation.
more information Restricted Resource Early English Books Online
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473–1700.

From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this incomparable collection contains more than 130,000 titles and more than 17 million scanned pages as listed in 4 collections - Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. EEBO covers more than 30 languages from Algonquin to Welsh, and variant editions and multiple copies.
more information Restricted Resource Early English Books Online Text Creation Partnership
The primary goal of the Text Creation Partnership (TCP) is to create standardized, accurate XML/SGML encoded electronic text editions of early printed books. The partnership transcribes and encodes the page images of books from ProQuest’s Early English Books Online, Gale Cengage’s Eighteenth Century Collections Online, and Readex’s Evans Early American Imprints.

This work, and the resulting text files, are jointly funded and owned by more than 150 libraries worldwide. Ultimately, all of the TCP’s work will be placed into the public domain for anyone to use. The texts can be searched through web interfaces provided by the libraries at the University of Michigan and University of Oxford. In addition, partner libraries and their users are welcome to locally store, host, manipulate, analyze and otherwise work with the encoded text files, just as if they had been created locally.
more information Restricted Resource Emiliano Zapata, 1901-1919
This collection comprises documentation related to the activities of Emiliano Zapata and the Liberation Army of the South. It consists mainly of correspondence exchanged between the headquarters and the camps and regional commands.

Documents include requests for economic aid; guarantees to people for jobs and food; complaints of abuses; reports, promotions, and notifications to the troops and brigades, as well as information on pay. The documentation also includes acts or proceedings on revolutionary and civil trials; correspondence with municipal or State authorities in connection with problems of land, water, control of finance, trade, etc.; and, information concerning the revolutionary Convention sovereign.
more information Restricted Resource Encyclopedia of Western Colonialism Since 1450
Online version of the 3 volume print Encyclopedia. The set traces many facets of colonial growth and imperialism, including Europe's overseas expansion into the Americas, Asia, Africa and the Pacific, beginning in the 15th century; the collapse of empires; race relations in decolonized regions.

In addition, a number of articles address the ideology and theories behind colonialism and imperialism, as well as the major and controversial issues at the core of the debate on colonialism and its consequences, such as Apartheid in South Africa, the Maji Mahi Revolt, and the Minas Gerais Conspiracy.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableEuropean Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750
European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750 database covers European works that relate to the Americas. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750.
more information Restricted Resource Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
Source materials for the major social movements and key figures in early twentieth century black history.
more information Restricted Resource Fight for Racial Justice and the Civil Rights Congress
The records in this collection represent the files of the national office of the Civil Rights Congress, based in New York City, including several hundred case files; publications produced and received by the Congress; files of the Literature Department; Executive Director William Pattersons correspondence files; correspondence and other materials from Civil Rights Congress chapters around the country, including case files of the New York chapter; and files of the New York headquarters of the Communist Party of the United States of America, created during the trial of twelve Communist leaders, 1948-1949, including two black members, Benjamin J. Davis and Henry Winston, consisting of correspondence, transcripts, legal briefs, and printed material.
more information Some full text availableFlorida Digital Newspaper Library
The Florida Digital Newspaper Library (FDNL) exists to provide access to the news and history of Florida. Over 700,000 pages of historic and current Florida newspapers in the FDNL are openly and freely available with zoomable page images and full text.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableForeign Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States 1930-1944
Organized by country, Foreign Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States covers a wide range of viewpoints on political, social and economic issues including the foreign relations interactions between Central American and South American countries -- with coverage of the Caribbean, Cuba, Haiti and the Dominican Republic. Foreign Relations between Latin America and the Caribbean States includes memoranda, cables, correspondence, reports and analyzes, and treaties.
more information Restricted Resource Foreign Relations Between the U.S. and Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944
This digital collection contains historical documents relating to the foreign relations between the U.S. and Latin America and the Caribbean States within the years, 1930-1944. 

During the 1930s, U.S. relations with Latin America and the Caribbean Growing war clouds in Europe and Asia predicated the need for securing resources and allies in the Western Hemisphere. Giving up unpopular military intervention, the U.S. shifted to other methods to maintain its influence in Latin America: Pan-Americanism, support for strong local leaders, the training of national guards, economic and cultural penetration, Export-Import Bank loans, financial supervision, and political persuasion.
more information Restricted Resource Gale NewsVault
Gale NewsVault delivers the definitive cross-searching experience for exploring Gales range of historical newspaper and periodical collections.

The following collections are currently available within Gale NewsVault: 19th Century UK Periodicals Parts I & II; 19th Century US Newspapers; British Newspapers, 1600-1950; Daily Mail Historical Archive; Financial Times Historical Archive; Liberty Magazine Historical Archive; Punch Historical Archive, 1841-1992; The Economist Historical Archive; The Illustrated London News Historical Archive; The Independent Digital Archive, 1986-2012; The Listener Historical Archive; The Picture Post Historical Archive; The Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2000; Sunday Times Digital Archive; Times Digital Archive; TLS Historical Archive.
more information German Historical Institute Publications
Provides online access to the publications of the German Historical Institute (GHI) in Washington, DC such as the GHI Bulletin, GHI Book Series, Reference Guides and more.

The GHI is an internationally recognized center for advanced study. It serves as a transatlantic bridge connecting American and European scholars and seeks to make their research accessible to decision-makers in the public and private sectors as well as to a general audience.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableHarpWeek (Harper's Weekly: Civil War Era, Reconstruction and Gilded Age I & II Database)
This database contains full-text issues of Harper's Weekly published during the U.S. Civil War, Reconstruction, the Gilded Age. Harpweek includes and can be searched by illustration, photographs, maps, and advertisements. 1857-1912

Harper's Weekly shaped public opinion. Its coverage reflected the essence of popular culture and the political realities of the day. The magazine reveals the political concerns and biases, cultural customs and prejudices, and moral ideals and assumptions of the broad American middle class during the Civil War Era, Reconstruction and the Gilded Age.
more information HathiTrust
Note: Login at Hathi Trust site to download and build collections. From login tab, select University of Miami as the HathiTrust Partner Insititution and login with CaneID username/password.
UM users have full-text access to over 2.4 million public domain works within the HathiTrust.
more information Restricted Resource Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 is a compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. The collection features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including many long scattered and forgotten titles published in the 19th century.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableHistorical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present excluding the United States and Canada.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableHistorizar el pasado vivo en America Latina
Includes studies of political violence and social memory about the recent histories of Argentina, Chile, Peru and other countries. It constitutes a unique collection in Spanish scholarship and includes short summaries and other features in English. Se trata de estudios sobre violencia politica y memoria social de la historia reciente de Argentina, Chile, Peru y otros. Su contenido resulta un caudal unico de investigacion acerca de estos temas en lengua espanola.
more information Restricted Resource Illustrated London News Historical Archive (1842-2003)
The Illustrated London News Historical Archive includes access to the entire run of the ILN from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003. Each page has been digitally reproduced in full color and every article and caption is full-text searchable with hit-term highlighting and links to corresponding illustrations. Facsimilies of articles and illustrations can be viewed, printed and saved either individually or in the context of the page in which they appear.
more information Restricted Resource International Directory of Medievalists
The International Directory of Medievalists (IDM) contains the names and addresses of medievalists from over 70 countries with their fields of study. It was compiled by means of international collaboration in the context of the work undertaken by the Federation Internationale des Instituts d'Etudes Medievales (F.I.D.E.M.) under the auspices of UNESCO.
more information Restricted Resource International Medieval Bibliography
Includes International Medieval Bibliography, Bibliographie de Civilisation Mdivale, and International Directory of Medievalists
more information Internet Library of Early Journals (18th -19th Centuries)
The ILEJ is a searchable full-text collection of 120,000 digital pages of runs of six important British journals from the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Search and browse capabilities provided.

The three 18th-century journals are: Gentleman's Magazine, The Annual Register, and Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society. The three 19th-century journals are: Notes and Queries, The Builder, and Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine.
more information Restricted Resource Iraq 1914-1974: The Middle East Online Series 2 Digital Archive
Resource of primary source materials covering the political history of the Middle East in the 20th Century.

Based on British Government and other files in the UK national archives, the series makes a contribution to research and teaching of Middle East Studies, the workings of diplomacy, of conflict resolution and peace-keeping.

Offers a broad range of original source material from the Foreign Office, Colonial Office, War Office and Cabinet Papers covering the period from the Anglo-Indian landing in Basra in 1914 through the British Mandate in Iraq of 1920-32 to the rise of Saddam Hussein in 1974.

Policy statements and other working documents are set out in context, the minor documents and marginalia revealing the workings of the mandate administration, diplomacy, treaties, oil and arms dealing. Also includes photographs and colour maps, as well as contemporary film.
more information Restricted Resource Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance
Iter features 2 scholarly bibliographic databases, one featuring journal articles, and the other, books.

The Journals database contains over 225,000 records from more than 400 scholarly journal titles pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). The Books database is a bibliography of monographs, material published in monographs, and collected essays pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). More than 60,000 new records are added annually.
more information Restricted Resource James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi
This collection contains FBI documentation on Merediths battle to enroll at The University of Mississippi in 1962 and white political and social backlash, including his correspondence with the NAACP and positive and negative letters he received from around the world during his ordeal.
more information Restricted Resource Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life
One of the darker chapters in American history and one of the lesser discussed events of World War II was the forced internment, during the war, of an important segment of the American population-persons of Japanese descent. This collection, consisting of 25 individual titles, documents life in the internment camps.
more information Restricted Resource JSTOR
JSTOR provides digital versions of the backfiles of major scholarly journals. Primarily an archival collection, JSTOR does not provide access to the most recent 3-5 years of content for most titles.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableLatin American Newspapers Series 1
The Latin American Newspapers Series 1 provides more than 35 fully searchable newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela, and elsewhere. Latin American Newspapers offers unprecedented coverage of the people, issues, and events that shaped this vital region between 1805 and 1922.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableLatin American Newspapers Series 2
The newest module, Latin American Newspapers Series 2 deepens coverage of important countries such as Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, and Mexico; and extend the reach of World Newspaper Archive into countries not represented in Latin American Newspapers Series I such as Bolivia, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica and Belize.
more information Restricted Resource Literary Encyclopedia
The Literary Encyclopedia is a collection of specially commissioned articles written by scholars in their fields. It addresses literary works, writers, cultural movements and historical events around the world.
more information Restricted Resource Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers' Project
This collection comprises, in its entirety, the Primary Source Media microfilm collection Archives of the Federal Writers Project: Printed and Mimeographed Publications in the Surviving Federal Writers Project Files, 1933-1943.
more information Restricted Resource Mafia in Florida and Cuba: FBI Surveillance of Meyer Lansky and Santo Trafficante, Jr.
This collection comprises materials on Santo Trafficante, Jr., Meyer Lansky, and Lucky Luciano, including FBI surveillance and informant reports and correspondence from a variety of offices including, Miami, Tampa, Jacksonville, New York City, New Orleans, Atlanta, New Haven, New York City, Philadelphia, and Chicago; Justice Department memoranda, correspondence, and analyses; Newsclippings and articles; Domestic Intelligence Section reports; Transcriptions of wiretaps, typewriter tapes, and coded messages; Memoranda of conversations.
more information Making of America Journals (Cornell)
Making of America (MOA) sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection currently contains approximately 6,600 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
more information Making of America Journals (Michigan)
Making of America (MOA) sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection currently contains approximately 6,600 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.
more information Restricted Resource Making of the Modern World
Instant access to the theories, practices, and consequences of economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century.

The Making of the Modern World offers researchers new ways of understanding the emergence of modern economics and other social sciences. It's the most comprehensive collection in existence for researching the literature of economics from this period. This unrivalled online library offers instant access to the theories, practices, and consequences of economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century. It combines the strengths of two pre-eminent collections: the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London Library and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School, along with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University and from the libraries of Yale University.
more information Restricted Resource Meriam Report on Indian Administration and the Survey of Conditions of the Indians in the U.S.
This collection comprises two sets of documents that helped the response to 40 years of failed Native American policies. The first is the full text of the report entitled The Problem of Indian Administration, better known as the Meriam Report. The second comprises the 41-part report to the U.S. Senate Committee on Indian Affairs detailing the conditions of life and the effects of policies and programs enacted by the Bureau of Indian Affairs on Native Americans. Both of these collections provide unique documentary insights into many major tribes: Sioux, Navaho, Quapaw, Chickasaw, Apache, Pueblo, Ute, Cherokee, Cheyenne, Arapaho, Kickapoo, Klamath, and many others.
more information Restricted Resource Mountain People: Life and Culture in Appalachia
This collection comprises in its entirety, the Primary Source media microfilm collection entitled First Three Centuries of Appalachian Travel. In addition, a small very number of selected titles were included from the microfilm collections entitled Travels in the Old South I, II, & III: 1607-1860; Travels in the New South I & II, 1865-1950; and, Kentucky Culture: A Basic Library of Kentuckiana.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableNation Archive Premium Edition
The Nation Archive Premium Edition contains indexing, abstracting, and full text for the complete archive of The Nation, beginning with its first issue in 1865 all the way to the present. The Nation is Americas oldest weekly magazine, and one if its premier journals of opinion since its inception in 1865.
more information Restricted Resource New York Times (1980-Current)
Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary.
more information Restricted Resource Nicaragua: Political Instability and U.S. Intervention, 1910-1933
The United States kept a contingent force in Nicaragua almost continually from 1912 until 1933. Although reduced to 100 in 1913, the contingent served as a reminder of the willingness of the United States to use force and its desire to keep conservative governments in power. This collection provides documentation on the almost continual political instability in Nicaragua.
more information Restricted Resource Resource contains imagesNineteenth Century Collections Online
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century, with content being sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.
more information Restricted Resource Nineteenth Century Masterfile
Nineteenth Century Masterfile (formerly Poole's Plus) indexes 19th and early 20th century periodicals.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableOverland Journeys: Travels In The West, 1800-1880
This collection provides a unique window on Western History, comprised of selections from the microfilm collections Travels in the West and Southwest and the Plains & Rockies.
Restricted Resource Oxford African American Studies Center

more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableOxford Classical Dictionary, Third Edition
The Oxford Classical Dictionary (OCD) is the definitive reference works on the Greco-Roman world covering subject areas in literature, art, philosophy, law, mythology, science, or broad cultural and historical trends.

The Third Edition's entries (edited by Simon Hornblower and Antony Spawforth) range from long articles to brief identifications on virtually any topic of interesting, including athletics, botany, Roman law, religious rites, or slavery. 

The OCD profiles every major figure of Green and Rome, including Homer, Virgil, Plato, Aristotle, Julius Caesar, and lesser known figures that are only found in this resource. The Third Edition includes over 800 new entries including expanded coverage about women in the ancient world, sexuality, the Far East, Jews, and early Christians.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availablePennsylvania Gazette
Published in Philadelphia from 1728 through 1800, The Pennsylvania Gazette is considered The New York Times of the 18th century. It provides the reader with a first hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic, and offers important social, political and cultural perspectives of each of the periods.

Thousands of articles, editorials, letters, news items and advertisements cover the Western Hemisphere, from the Canadian Maritime Provinces, through the West Indies and North and South America, giving a detailed glimpse of issues and lifestyles of the times.

Also included is the full-text of such important writings such as: the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, Letters from a Farmer, Thomas Paynes Common Sense, The Federalist Papers, etc. These include: Folio I - (1728 - 1750) Benjamin Franklins Newspaper, Folio II - (1751 - 1765) The French & Indian War, Folio III - (1766 - 1783) The American Revolution, Folio IV - (1784 - 1800) The New Republic
more information Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection, University of Texas
The Perry-Castaeda Library Map Collection, University of Texas Web site provides a well-organized collection of historical and current maps worldwide. All maps available on this server are in the public domain, and may be freely downloaded and copied.
more information Restricted Resource Personal Justice Denied: Public Hearings of the Commission on Wartime Relocation and Internment, 1981
This digital collection consists of testimony and documents from more than 750 witnesses: Japanese Americans and Aleuts who had lived through the events of WWII, former government officials who ran the internment program, public figures, internees, organizations such as the Japanese American Citizens League, interested citizens, historians, and other professionals.
more information Restricted Resource Price Control in the Courts: The U.S. Emergency Court of Appeals, 1941-1961
This collection provides a look into the creation and activities of the temporary Emergency Court of Appeals, staffed by judges from the district and appellate courts, with exclusive jurisdiction to determine the validity of price control regulations.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableProQuest Civil War Era
Complete runs of regional newspapers, as well as pamphlets covering a wide range of topics. Set of primary sources, with documents original articles and page images from Manifest Destiny through the end of the Civil War.
more information Restricted Resource ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Baltimore Afro-American, The (1893-1988)
The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
more information Restricted Resource ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
more information Restricted Resource ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Jerusalem Post (1932-2008)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
more information Restricted Resource ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
ProQuest Historical Newspapers New York Amsterdam News: 1922-1993 offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
more information Restricted Resource ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times, The (1851-2013)
Cover-to-cover, digitally scanned full page access to backfiles of the New York Times Newspaper 1851 - 2013.
more information Restricted Resource ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)
The Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001) offers full page and article images with searchable full text. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
more information Restricted Resource ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal, The (1889-1999)
Cover-to-cover, digitally scanned full page access to the Wall Street Journal 1889 - 1999.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableReadex AllSearch
A streamlined platform for searching across Readex collections including America's Historical Imprints and America's Historical Newspapers.
more information Restricted Resource Republic of New Afrika: Independence, Reparations, and Citizenship
This collection provides documentation collected by the FBI through intelligence activities, informants, surveillance, and cooperation with local police departments. These documents chronicle the activities of Republic of New Afrika national and local leaders, power struggles within the organization, its growing militancy, and its affiliations with other Black militant organizations.
more information Restricted Resource Revolution in Honduras and American Business: The Quintessential "Banana Republic"
This collection sheds detail to both the political and financial machinations of the fruit companies, but also the graft and corruption of the national government, the American banking communitys loans, the U.S. governments response and the various aborted popular/revolutionary uprisings.
more information Restricted Resource Revolution in Mexico, the 1917 Constitution, and Its Aftermath: Records Of The US State Department
This collection of U.S. State Department records consists of political and military documents relating to the Mexican Revolution and its aftermath -1910-1924. These unique and insightful records provide an unprecedented look at the Mexican Revolution, which began in 1910 and continued sporadically until the new Constitution was adopted in 1917, through to and including the election of Calles.
more information Restricted Resource Sabin Americana Digital Archive (1500-1926)
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's.

Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
more information Restricted Resource Sanborn Maps (United States)
Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provides digital access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps of more than 12,000 American towns and cities. The resource is useful for urban specialists, social historians, architects, geographers, genealogists, local historians, planners, environmentalists and anyone who wants to learn about the history, growth, and development of American cities, towns, and neighborhoods.

The Sanborn Maps are large-scale plans containing data that can be used to estimate the potential risk for urban structures. This includes information such as the outline of each building, the size, shape and construction materials, heights, and function of structures, location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. Seven or eight different editions represent some areas.
more information Restricted Resource Sanborn Maps Geo Edition
Geocoded Sanborn Maps (1867-1970) provides digital access to over 12,000 large-scale maps of U.S. cities and towns, searchable by address and GPS coordinates.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableSlavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive Part I contains more than 7,000 books and pamphlets, 80 newspaper and periodical titles, and a dozen major manuscript collections.
more information Restricted Resource Social Sciences Citation Index
Social Sciences Citation Index provides international, cover-to-cover indexing of the most cited journals in social sciences. The databases is searched via the Web of Knowledge Citation Databases service. It indexes more than 1,725 journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 3,300 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableSocial Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Wilson Social Sciences Full Text indexes a wide range of social sciences journals.Abstracting coverage begins with periodicals published in January 1994; full-text coverage begins in January 1995.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableSouth Asian Newspapers
Contains 19th and 20th century newspapers from South Asia. Featuring titles from India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.
more information Restricted Resource Southern Literary Messenger: Literature of the Old South
This collection comprises, in its entirety, the Primary Source Media microfilm collection entitled Southern Literary Messenger.
more information Restricted Resource Southern Negro Youth Congress and the Communist Party: Papers of James and Esther Cooper
Contains: Papers of James and Esther Cooper; correspondences; speeches and writings; internal documents and printed ephemera pertaining to the Southern Negro Youth Congress and to Freedomways; legal and other materials pertaining to the Smith Act indictments of Jackson and other communists; Communist Party internal documents; and memorabilia and other biographical materials.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableState Papers Online: Early Modern Government in Britain and Europe, 1509-1782
Part I: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Domestic; Part II: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Foreign, Scotland, Borders, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council; Part III: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Domestic; Part IV: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Foreign, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council; Eighteenth Century, 1714-1782, Part I: State Papers Domestic, Military, Naval and Registers of the Privy Council.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableTime Magazine Archive
The Time Magazine Archive presents the complete digital version of more than 77 years of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March, 1923 through December, 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Published weekly by Time Inc., the magazine has focused on conveying to a broad audience a wide range of topics, including national and international current events, politics, sports, health, technology, and entertainment. Capturing the relevant news each week, Time Magazine has become an important resource for researchers studying just about any aspect of 20th-century history and life.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableTimes Digital Archive 1785 Onwards
The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. Digital Archive spanning 1785-2007. Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableTimes Literary Supplement Historical Archive
The Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive including book reviews, film reviews, play reviews and more.
more information Some full text availableTrans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database comprises nearly 35,000 individual slaving expeditions between 1514 and 1866. Records of the voyages have been found in archives and libraries throughout the Atlantic world. They provide information about vessels, enslaved peoples, slave traders and owners, and trading routes. A variable (Source) cites the records for each voyage in the database. Other variables enable users to search for information about a particular voyage or group of voyages. The website provides full interactive capability to analyze the data and report results in the form of statistical tables, graphs, maps, or on a timeline.
more information Restricted Resource U.S. History in Context
U.S. History in Context has organized a broad collection of facts, primary documents and scholarly analysis on the history of the United States. Resources have been selected based on relevance to the undergraduate curriculum.
more information Restricted Resource U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection
The U.S. Serial Set is an ongoing collection of United States Government publications compiled under the directive of Congress. The contents include Congressional reports and documents and executive and departmental reports.
more information Resource contains imagesUM Libraries Digital Collections
This site features a growing collection of digital objects developed to preserve and support digital scholarship and the research, teaching, and learning mission of the University. Digital Collections feature materials from the collections at University of Miami Libraries, Calder Medical Library, University of Miami Archives and from distinctive collections developed in collaboration with non-library partners.
Restricted Resource Universal Database of Russian Social Sciences and Humanities Journals

more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableVictorian Popular Culture
Resource for the study of popular entertainment in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. The resource is divided into four self contained sections: Spiritualism, Sensation and Magic; Circuses, Sideshows and Freaks; Music Hall, Theatre and Popular Entertainment; and Moving Pictures, Optical Entertainments & the Advent of Cinema.
more information Restricted Resource War Department and Indian Affairs, 1800-1824
Consists of the letters received by and letters sent to the War Department, including correspondence from Indian superintendents and agents, factors of trading posts, Territorial and State governors, military commanders, Indians, missionaries, treaty and other commissioners, Treasury Department officials, and persons having commercial dealings with the War Department, and other public and private individuals. In addition, attachments include vouchers, receipts, requisitions, abstracts and financial statements, certificates of deposit, depositions, contracts, newspapers, copies of speeches to Indians, proceedings of conferences with Indians in Washington, licenses of traders, passports for travel in the Indian country, appointments, and instructions to commissioners, superintendents, agents, and other officials.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableWar of 1812: Diplomacy on the High Seas
During the War of 1812 Congress authorized the Secretary of State to issue commissions of letters of marque and reprisal to private armed vessels permitting them to "cruise against the enemies of the United States."

This collection is comprised of the following files: letters received concerning letters of marque, 1812-1814; letters received regarding enemy aliens, 1812-1814; Marshal's returns of enemy aliens and prisoners of war, 1812-1815; requests for permission to sail from the United States, 1812-1814; passenger lists of vessels; correspondence regarding passports, 1812-1814; agreements for the exchange of prisoners of war, 1812-1813; miscellaneous letters received concerning the release of prisoners, 1812-1815; reports of William Lambert, secret agent, 1813 and miscellaneous intercepted correspondance, 1789-1814.
more information Restricted Resource We Were Prepared for the Possibility of Death: Freedom Riders in the South, 1961
Contains images of The Freedom Rides, and the violent reactions they provoked.
more information Restricted Resource Women Writers Online
Women Writers Online is a full-text collection of early womens writing in English, published by the Women Writers Project at Northeastern University. It includes full transcriptions of texts published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on materials that are rare or inaccessible.