|ACM Digital Library
Full-text access to a variety of journals and conference proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery. Note: The Richter Library subscription does not include full text access to the ACM Proceeding and SIG newsletter articles.
|AES Electronic Library
Contains all of the Audio Engineering Society papers from the journal, conventions, and conferences, providing access to over 16,000 fully searchable PDF files documenting the progression of audio research from 1953 to the present day.,
Includes AES Publications Convention Preprints Timely technical papers, reproduced directly from the manuscripts of presentations given at recent AES conventions. Anthologies Renowned series of collected papers of archival quality reprinted from the AES Journal including: loudspeakers, disk recording, microphones, sound reinforcement, and time delay spectrometry. Collected papers from the highly regarded AES international conferences, each devoted to a specific topic. AES Standards, Drafts, and Information Documents Internationally approved documents developed under the auspices of the AES Standards Committee and its working groups. Directory of Educational Programs A comprehensive international guide to educational programs in audio.
The Annual Reviews service provides searchable, full text access to review articles published in 29 series covering the biomedical, physical and social sciences.
|ASCE Research Library
Full-text access to a variety of journals published by the American Society of Civil Engineers
ASTM Compass is a collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
|Chemical & Engineering News
Weekly magazine published by the American Chemical Society that covers science and technology, business and industry, government and policy, education, and employment aspects of the chemistry field.
The world's largest bibliographic database in the field of engineering.
|Computer and Information Systems Abstracts (Full archive)
Computer and Information Systems Abstracts indexes theory and practical applications information on software, artificial intelligence, automation, and related areas.
|Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science
Indexes current and retrospective bibliographic data on science conferences. Contains links to Web of Science source records so items may be included in word and citation searches. Data indexed: conference titles, sponsors, locations, dates article titles, authors, author addresses publisher names and addresses series titles, book titles, ISSN and ISBN numbers.
|CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
The online version of the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. Contains the periodic table, basic constants and units and geophysical data.
|DOE SciTech Connect Database
SciTech Connect is a portal to free, publicly-available Department of Energy (DOE)-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia, software, and data information. Launched in 2013, SciTech Connect consolidates two previous DOE search engines, Information Bridge and Energy Citations Database, creating a single search interface for all R&D information.
With over 2.75 million citations, including citations to 1.4 million journal articles, 471,000 of which have digital object identifiers (DOIs) linking to full-text articles on publishers' websites, SciTech Connect holds over 410,000 full-text DOE sponsored Scientific and Technical Information (STI) reports. Most full-text reports are post-1991, although nearly 135,000 of the reports were published prior to 1991.
|Electronics and Communications Abstracts (Full archive)
Electronic and Communications Abstracts indexes world literature on circuits, components and materials, photonics, control and systems, telecommunications, equipment and instrumentation, power systems and electrical engineering.
This database provides international coverage as well as coverage of numerous non-serial publications. Sources covered include over 3,000 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, books, and press releases. Updated once a month with approximately 25,000 new records added every year.
|Engineering Village 2
Engineering Village is a comprehensive engineering platform that contains journals, conference proceedings, dissertations, trade magazines, technical reports, and engineering information ideal for supporting the varying engineering research initiatives that academic institutions, corporations and government agencies face every day.
Engineering Village offers access to 12 engineering literature and patent databases that provide coverage from a wide range of trusted engineering sources. The databases included are: Learn: Compendex Conference Coverage; Ei Compendex & EI Backfile; Inspec & Inspec Backfile; GEOBASE; GeoRef; EncompassLIT; EnCommpassPAT; Patents: USPTO & EPO; National Technical Information Service (NTIS); PaperChem; Chemical Business NewsBase(CBNB), Chimica.
|Environmental Engineering Abstracts
Environmental Engineering Abstracts covers the world literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production.
|General Science Collection
General Science Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments. Key subjects covered by the database include biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
Note: Login at Hathi Trust site to download and build collections. From login tab, select University of Miami as the HathiTrust Partner Insititution and login with CaneID username/password.
UM users have full-text access to over 2.4 million public domain works within the HathiTrust.
|IEEE / IET Electronic Library (IEL)
Full-text access to journals, conference proceedings and active standards published by IEEE and IET
|IET Digital Library
The IET Digital Library is a global repository of science, engineering and technology focused content produced by the world’s leading international scientific organisation and thought leader – the IET. Online access to the IET Digital Library unlocks a body of work of more than 150,000 technical papers and around 6,000 eBook chapters from 1994 onwards for all IET journals, magazines, conference publications and seminar digests.
|INSPEC Archive 1898-1968
INSPEC Archive indexes literature on physics, engineering, communications, and computing for the years 1898-1968.
|International Nuclear Information System Database (INIS)
The INIS Database contains over 3 million bibliographic records and almost 200,000 full-text nonconventional documents, consisting of scientific and technical reports and other non copyrighted information. International Nuclear Information System Database includes scientific and technical literature on a range of subjects from nuclear engineering, safeguards and non-proliferation to applications in agriculture, health and industry.
An online reference shelf including handbooks, dictionaries and datasets covering the full range of engineering disciplines; also includes biochemical, biology and chemistry reference resources
Note: To access website, click on "Guest"
Encyclopedic database of over 4,500 advanced, innovative and sustainable materials. With comprehensive descriptions, usage properties, sustainability and manufacturer and distributor information, it represents an innovation resource for all design disciplines.
Comprehensive index to the international literature of biomedicine including clinical practice, psychosocial issues, health care administration, medical research, nursing, and more.
|Momentum Press Digital Libary
Momentum Press offers the Professional Reference Collection (books for researchers and practitioners) and Digital Libraries, collections of curriculum-oriented learning resources built for use in the classroom as an alternative to expensive textbooks.
|National Information Service for Earthquake Engineering (NISEE)
This web portal provides access to NISEE online textual and image resources.
|National Renewable Energy Laboratory Database
Provides high-quality renewable energy resource data for U.S. and international locations.
NTIS is an index of tech reports from US and international government agencies.
|OJPS Online Journal Publishing Service
The OJPS service provides the full-text of selected research journals in physics, engineering and mathematics. You may search the full-text the current issues, or all issues of an individual journal.
Pollution Abstracts indexes scientific research and policy literature covering all areas of pollution and its effects on people and animals.
This database is a subfile of the Environmental Science and Pollution Management Database.
|Proquest Science Journals
ProQuest Science Journals is a resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. With coverage dating back to 1986, ProQuest Science Journals features over 1030 titles, with more than 760 available in full text.
Supports downloading and storing full-text documents from PubMed, Ovid SP, Scopus, Google, Elsevier, and Wiley. Helps organize, search, and export articles and citations to RefWorks or EndNote.
Experts define risk as a combination of the magnitude and probability of adverse effects. Risk Abstracts indexes the interdisciplinary journal literature centered on the identification and alleviation of risk in today's world.
Published in association with the Institute for Risk Research at the University of Waterloo, Risk Abstracts encompasses risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment and management of risk. The journal includes occasional articles on topics of significant interest. The broad, multidisciplinary coverage of risk-related concerns ranges from public and environmental health to social issues and psychological aspects.This database is a subfile of the Environmental Science and Pollution Management Database.
|Safari Tech Books Online
Provides electronic access to IT resources published by several leading publishers: O'Reilly & Associate, The Pearson Technology Group, QUE, Microsoft Press, SAMS, Adobe Press, and Addison Wesley. The ebooks are searchable on their own and may also be searched across the board. The ebooks are in complete full text and include all images/graphics, charts, full table of contents, and indexes.
Note: The Richter Library has created a custom library consisting of 100 titles. To browse the title selections, click on the Bookshelf option in the toolbar. The Richter Library's custom title list includes subject areas such as: C++, Dynamic HTML, JAVA, Web authoring tools (e.g., Dreamweaver), XML, PERL, SQL, Visual Basic, Web Servers, Linux, Web Administration.
|Science Citation Index Expanded
Science Citation Index Expanded is accessed through the Web of Knowledge Citation Databases services.
Covering the life, physical, health, and social sciences, Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of research literature and web sources.
Scopus covers: Over 15,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 4,000 international publishers, including coverage of: 500 Open Access journals, 700 Conference Proceedings, 600 Trade Publications, 125 Book Series. More than 60% of titles are from countries other than the US Abstracts go back to 1966. References go back to 1996. 80% of content is indexed with controlled vocabularies. 100% coverage of Medline, including unique Medline journals. 28 million abstract records. 245 million references added to all abstracts. Scopus also covers 250 million quality web sources, including 13 million patents. Web sources are searched via Scirus, and include author homepages, university sites and resources such as the preprint servers CogPrints and ArXiv.org, and OAI compliant resources.
|Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts
This service indexes journals and conference proceedings worldwide covering the theory, production, and application of solid state materials and devices - as well as the new high- and low-temperature superconductivity technology.
|Springer LINK Forum for Science
Digital library of 495 full-text engineering, economics, and science journals, and selected book series.
Note to Users: SpringerLink has a new feature that allows users the ability to create alerts. Enter keywords and each time the keyword appears in a Springer publication, an email notification is sent into your email.
Synthesis is an information service for the research, development and educational communities in engineering and computer science. The basic component of the library is a 50 to 100 page electronic book that synthesizes a research or development topic, authored by a contributor to the field. Synthesis is organized by series, each managed by a consulting editor. The series editor oversees lecture topic and author selection as well as peer review to assure quality.
|USPTO Web Patent Databases
The US Patent and Trademark Office (PTO) provides Web access to (1) the full-text of US patents (1976 to present); (2) a bibliographic patent database, and (3) the full-text of selected AIDS patents (US, Japan, Europe).
|Web of Science Citation Indexes
Web of Science, published by Thomson Reuters, is a multi-disciplinary database that provides integrated access to over 8,000 key research journals indexed in: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index.
There are two main ways to search the database: --- select General Search to search for articles by subject term, author name, journal title, or author affiliation --- select Cited Reference Search to search for articles that cite an author or article that you specify. Web of Knowledge features citation searching, email alerts, links to the full text of many items.